Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.9 (12)
 Add a review

San Francisco Bay Brand Mysis Shrimp Nano-Tank Food 50g 1.75oz

 
Frozen Mysis Shrimp 36 ct 1.75 oz Mini Cubes by San Francisco Bay. San Francisco Bay Brand Frozen Mysis Shrimp: Small saltwater shrimp excellent for finicky fresh and saltwater tropical fish


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched San Francisco Bay Brand Mysis Shrimp Nano-Tank Foo0g 1.75oz in Reviews
 

 

A very good and affordable way to feed your fish a treat featured

Comments This is one of those products that every aquarist will probably buy at one time or the other. Not only do fish absolutely love these but many corals will eat them too. My candy canes collect as many as they can get.

They come in a blister pack and with just a push the frozen cube pops out to be thawed. Depending on how much time I have I thaw in one of two ways. If I have plenty of time I put the cube in a plastic cup and put a little tank water in the cup and just let it thaw on it's own. With other products I really always rinse them but with the mysis I've not experienced a lot of left over crap in the liquid. If I am in a bit of a hurry I put the cube in my brine shrimp net (very fine netting) and run warm water over it.

One of the things I really like about these frozen mysis is the size of the cubes, they aren't huge. I was tired of the large cubed ones because I either wasted some or over-fed. I also like the fact that there seems to be very little extra liquid in the cubes and when they melt the shrimp separate into individuals instead of clumps.

One thing I don't like is the cardboard the cubes slide into because it seems to shield them from the cold. I now remove and toss the cardboard and the shrimp seem to stay frozen. I was having trouble with them thawing out. The one drawback with this is that I can no longer read what type of frozen thing it is, and since I have 4 or 5 different things that are packaged the same at any given time this can be annoying.


Liked about it 1. Affordable.
2. Small cube size.
3. Product breaks apart easily into individual shrimp.


Didn't like 1. Cardboard sleeve is annoying.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Good food featured

Comments Loaded with mysis shrimp in convenient cubes. Each cube is individually sealed, allowing this product to stay good in the freezer for a very long time. This is especially nice for smaller systems where you aren't using a whole cube at a time, and a single package can last 6+ months. The price was good as well. I started out feeding mysis shrimp exclusively to my fish, and it is still their favorite food. These seem to be high quality enriched as well, for several months when this was all I was feeding my fish had wonderful colors. They also seem to get eaten whole much more readily than other processed foods do.


Liked about it My most favorite part of this product is how much my fish love it. I have tried many different types of food now, and it is clear that mysis are their favorite. What differentiated this brand from others for me was that it was competitively priced, and I really like the individually sealed cubes compared to the large single wrapped sheet. For smaller tanks like mine I know that every shrimp I drop in is fresh and tasty, not freezer-burned and stale.


Didn't like Really my only complaint is having to rinse the shrimp to remove the moisture they are frozen in. Bear in mind that rinsing frozen food is standard, and I am not aware of a brand which doesn't require it, however if I had to find one thing I would change about this product it would be freezing them dry so no rinsing was required.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gobbly
Apr 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great fish food!

Comments This product is great and very cheap. One package lasts me almost a month for only about 5 bucks. The mysis are whole when thawed, not mashed into tiny pieces.


Liked about it 1. Bigger cubes so more food. I usually feed hikari, whose cubes are smaller and some of my fish seemed to not get enough to eat. The san fransisco bay brands cubes are bigger, and I can tell my cardinalfish gets more to eat which is good since it is a picky fish to begin with.
2. Cheap
3. All my fish love it, and my corals.
4. Usually very clean, however I always rinse out frozen foods before I feed.


Didn't like 1. The cubes are a little hard to pop out of the container than the hikari brands
2. Because the cubes are bigger I need to watch for overfeeding. However all of it gets eaten usually so it is not a huge concern.



Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By cutietwo
Jan 11, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Fish love it!

Comments This food is by far my fishes favortie item on the menu. They cant get enough of this food. The thing you have to watch for is overfeeding, if the fish arent eating fast enough be sure to give less next time because if there is too much extra uneaten food it can cause a nitrate spike. I can find this stuff at my lfs for about 3-4 dollars which is really cheap since it lasts so long. A little goes a long way!


Liked about it FIsh love it, cheap, easy to use.


Didn't like Have to watch how much goes in the tank because it can cause nitrate spikes.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fishoutofwater25
Oct 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Good food but do not use too much

Comments I do like this brand of Mysis it does seem a little clean than some other but with all mysis it can dirty up your tank very quickly. I always thaw mysis then rinse in clean water to remove any oils and other junk from them. I will also at times add some Selcon to the mysis to enrich it a little more.

I primary use this to feed LPS coral. Usual when I first get the coral or is it appears to be ill.


Liked about it Since I do not use much at a time I really do love the smaller cube sizes.
It's cheap and available at most chain pet stores.
It seems a little cleaner than other misys


Didn't like with all mysis this stuff can really dirty up your and and cause your skimmer to go flat for some time.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By ckusnierek
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Crowd-pleasing mysis shrimp food

Comments The high quality food is worth the cost. Frozen mysis shrimp is pre-cubed and stored in the freezer. It is easy to serve. Remove that part of a cube that you want, thaw it in RODI or tank water and then pour off the thawing water and serve diluted in tank water. I like to use a turkey baster to direct the food to those livestock that I am ensuring are fed. Most non-herbivorous fish, invertebrates, and some coral like to eat it.


Liked about it Many livestock and finicky eaters eagerly feed upon mysis shrimp. It can be directed with a pipette (or baster) toward finicky eaters. It is easy to control the portion so that most get fed and little is left over. (Contrast that with chopping bait shrimp which leaves some livestock unfed or tiny bits in the tank to remove.) It keeps frozen in the freezer until it is needed.


Didn't like Mysis shrimp cannot be fed automatically; it does take more preparation than flakes or pellets, more comparable to a preparation like soaking seaweed in garlic. The package should be stored in an airtight container (i.e., zip lock bag) in the freezer to keep mysis shrimp orders out of the other freezer foods. (Shrimp-scented ice cream, anyone?) Rinsing of thawing water needed to remove preservatives.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fielding12
Mar 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great Suppliment

Comments I would say that mysis is a very important prospect of most marine fish. I would gladly pay more for the price than my supplier asks!


Liked about it Great for getting finiky fish to eat!
All of my fish eat it
Even corals love it


Didn't like I really wished they didn't add phosphates to preserve it. But just rinse it with ro/di and its good to go!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fish Dude32
Dec 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

One of the best way to feed your fish.

Comments These mysis shrimp are probably what make fish crazy about eating. I feed these shrimp every 2 days and my fish are crazy for it. Also, another plus is that its packaged in small cubes, which mean that they can be individually taken out with out the need of breaking them. They also are storable in a refrigerator. This makes them easy to access;


Liked about it The mysis shrimp were very affordable. My fish love to eat it. Also, the cubes are easily broken.


Didn't like These shrimp can cause nitrate spikes if they aren't taken out.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Silentdea
Mar 20, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Even for picky eaters

General Besides washing with a brine shrimp net to clean off and then right into my tank my fish go into a frenzy that no flake food has every produced.


Liked about it My fish just love it


Didn't like nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By zero186
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Grest fish food...

General All the fish love it and I see corals catch it and feed as well. Even my Mandarin Goby eats it too!! (as long as it float by like it's swimming...lol)


Liked about it I like the frozen foods best.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By reefer.madness
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Reliable Food Source

General When all else fails and you have picky eaters, just toss in half a cube and your little fellas will go nuts. Every fish I have will eat the Mysis. If I have noticed a fish not eating, I throw some of this in and sure enough everyone eats. This is a reliable food source, I would say second only to Cyclops.


Liked about it Easy to dispense


Didn't like cubes should be half size


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Invader
May 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

great food

General My fish loved this stuff. I will deff. be buying more


Liked about it fast thawing, didnt cloud water


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By chatterboxbaby82
Apr 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec377