Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (12)
 Add a review

New Life Spectrum Marine Fish Formula Sinking Pellet Food 150g

 
Get a full spectrum of benefits for your marine aquarium fish with this special formula. Made from the finest natural ingredients, these excellent fish foods maintain their shape even after hours in the water, cutting down...


Price: $7 to $19 at 2 stores
Searched New Life Spectrum Marine Fish Formula Sinking PellFood 150g in Reviews
 

 

Not bad featured

Comments This is a small grain sinking pellet labeled for all marine fish. It was a little more expensive than comparably labeled products, but I had heard good things about the brand being very nutritious, so figured I'd give it a shot. Though it was a little more expensive, I found that the odor gets my livestock much more excited to eat than other pellets I have used. Even inverts I would only see at night come out now to eat when I use these pellets. These are the fastest sinking pellets I have ever seen. For me this was actually not so good because I have a shallow tank and the fish don't get much change to eat them out of the water column before they hit the substrate and become crab/snail food, but they are sinking pellets, and if that's what you are looking for, I have never seen such sink-ability!


Liked about it I really like how excited everything in my tank gets when I drop the first few pellets in. The size makes them easy to eat, and my crabs and shrimp simply go bonkers trying to find all the pellets that make it to the rockwork and substrate. I also found that my omnivores like it so much they have taken to only eating about half the algae they used too (kinda wish they'd go back to eating more algae, but it speaks well to how much they like the food :D).


Didn't like I only really have one complaint about the product, and that is that it dissolves a little faster than I would like. What makes it to the substrate, if not found and eaten in 3-4 minutes, will basically be powder by the time something tried to eat it.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gobbly
Apr 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $19
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Fish Love This Food and It is Good for Them featured

Comments Excellent value as it can serve as the one food for fish (except those with specialized diets like the mandarin) feeding carnivores, herbivores, and omnivores. The small (1mm) pellets sink to keep them out of the water column and provide later grazing opportunities and it is color-enhancing. I've seen this one food used on a stable 90 gallon tank with fish and soft corals. Ideal for use in an automatic food dispenser. It has less crude protein (37% compared to 43% of a competitive marine flake) but offers protein from favored sources of krill, herring, and squid meal. It has less fat (6% compared to competitor's 11%) and more fiber (4% compared to competitor's 2%). What is special is the "fruit extract" (spinach, read & green cabbage, pean, broccoli, red pepper, zucchini, tomatoes, kiwi, apricot, pear, mango, apple, papaya, and pear) which proviced vitamin A (8000 IUY/Kg), vitamin D (2500 IU/Kg) and vitamin E (200 IU/Kg). The food is easily digested and has no added hormones.


Liked about it Excellent "one" food for DT: most fish love it. Small size, sinking pellets work well in an automatic feeder. Stores easily and doesn't have any binding materials (like some frozen foods) that will raise phosphates in DT.


Didn't like I really like this food but if pushed to complain...New Life Spectrum isn't carried by all LFS and it isn't the only food for a tank that requires "pods" and/or phytoplankton.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fielding12
Apr 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $19
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Fish Love it. featured

Comments I bought this food specifically for my Goby and he loves it, but little did I know that all my other fish would love it too. Which is great, because the more variety the better I think. Even fish that won't normally eat anything but frozen food go after these pellets. And I have some fish that never leave the top half of the tank that will actually pick these right off the sand bed. They all really like it, Clown fish, Gobies, Tangs, Six Line Wrasse's, and my Purple Pseudochromis all love it. Not to mention what ever does get missed is quickly found by the clean up crew.


Liked about it A jar this size has lasted me a very long time, and the food is just as fresh as the day I bought it. Plus the pellet size is even good for fish with the smallest mouths. My Six Line Wrasse doesn't even have a problem, and he has a pretty small mouth.


Didn't like I like the fact that they sink, but maybe they could make them sink a bit slower somehow. Since many different fish like the food so much, it would give them a little more time before they were down on the sand bed, which would then give my Goby a little more time to feed by himself.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Sep 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $19
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Good size

Comments All of my fish eat and seem to enjoy the food. they are relatively small and ideal for small fish, they sink quickly so all the levels of the tank get fed not just the fastest fish.


Liked about it I like the fact that they are small. I have fairly small fish and they are able to eat these pellets no problem. Also like the fact that you can watch how many pellets each fish gets, so you can make sure you are not overfeeding. Easy to store unlike some frozen foods.


Didn't like Some sink to fast and fish cannot get to it, but no other complaints it has been my fishes main source of food for a long time.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By warzek_13
Feb 02, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $19
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

great food, fish seem to love it

Comments I've used this food for years, and it's worked well. Most all fish seem to love it, even my larger fish go after the smaller size pellets. I highly recommend it. I havent noticed any elevated nutrient levels as a result of the use of this product/


Liked about it Good nutritional content, sinks quickly, fish love it. This particular size (the 150g) is a bit small, but if you have a smaller tank or don't use it often it should do fine for a number of months.


Didn't like No real negatives, this is a good product, though I'd recommend using it with other foods. It does sink quickly, so if that's a concern you may choose another product.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By crvz
May 13, 2010
 
Last updated: May 19, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $19
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great sinking pellets

Comments This is the first and only pellet we have fed our tank and don't plan on switching any time soon. These are small sinking pellets that our fish go crazy over! The pellets do have a strong odor that the fish like, but your hands will smell all day if you don't wash them after feeding. Some people have a problem with the pellets sinking too fast, but that isn't the case in our tank. We have a 210 gallon and our fish seem to have plenty of time to eat before the pellets reach the sand. If you find that too many pellets reach the sand before your fish eat them I would suggest offering fewer pellets at first and once the fish have eaten them, add more. This will lessen the amount of wasted food.


Liked about it Fish love them!
Great price!
Odor attracts fish and some of our inverts too!
Size of the pellets is easy for many sizes of fish to eat.
Is the only food you will need for your tank (unless you have Mandarins or other picky eaters!)


Didn't like Can't be found at all of our local stores.
Odor left on hands.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By andbob25
May 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $19
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Work Very Well

Comments this food is awesome. i feed it twice a day to my Mocha Clown and he just gobbles it up! it was a little pricey but completely worth the money


Liked about it -sinks quickly, but not too quickly
-nutritious
-good value


Didn't like -a little pricey, but worth it


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By Plugger999
Apr 18, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $19
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

My larger fish liked it.

Comments This is a quality fish food, especially when supplemented with frozen foods. I had primarily fed my clowns this food for a year.


Liked about it Price was comparable to other fish foods. It did not have a bad ordor and it also seemed palatable to the fish.


Didn't like Half of the pellets sank and half floated, it was hard for me to spot feed my fish with the food. Some of the pellets were too large for me to use a baster with and too large for my small oscellaris clown's mouth.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By jschulzpt
Oct 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $19
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Fishes favorite Dry Food

Comments I normally feed homemade raw frozen food to my fish. This is a nice change for them, they seem to love it as much as the fresh food.


Liked about it Cost is a plus
Different size pellets to choose from
No need to thaw and rinse like my frozen food, fast way to feed


Didn't like Wish they would sink slower.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By salty198
Oct 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $19
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great Food

Comments I try to alternate between frozen and pellet every few days. I also have a few pellet varieties. This is one of them. Everyone in the tank loves it. Tangs, Gobies, Clowns even my Cleaner Shrimp. I will give it to my Chiclids on occasion. They love it too. This food will always be in my "rotation".


Liked about it Small pellets good for the smallest fish
Sinks so all fish get a chance to get some



Didn't like My only complaint would be that it sinks a little quick


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
Sep 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $19
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

My pick for dry food

Comments Very good food for everyone in your tank


Liked about it Easy
Always handy
Everyone eats it


Didn't like none


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Seaweed88
Aug 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $19
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Awesome Food

General The NLS formulas are the only prepared foods I offer to my fish. My fish have responded with excellent color, and growth from being on this food.


Liked about it Well rounded ingredients. Easy to feed. Does not sink immediately upon being introduced to the tank.


Didn't like nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ILuvMyGoldBarb
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $19
Compare Prices
at 2 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec373