Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.6 (9)
 Add a review

Kent Marine PhytoPlex Phytoplankton 16 oz.

 
PhytoPlex Phytoplankton 16 oz by Kent. Provides the necessary proteins, carbohydrates, and lipids for live hard and soft corals, tubeworms, clams, and other invertebrates


Price: $10 to $16 at 2 stores
Searched Kent Marine PhytoPlex Phytoplankton 16 oz. in Reviews
 

 

A decent product if found fresh, but seldom useful

Comments This is a decent phytoplankton if you can find it fresh, but the issue I've found is that it often sits on a shelf for months. For a food that is grown from live phytoplankton species, you don't want this to spoil, but I've not seen it come with best-by dates. Also, it's seldom that you'll need to dose phytoplankton, so make sure you know why you're using it.


Liked about it It's a good product containing good strains of phyto if you have the need for it. Unfortunately, most people don't have a need.


Didn't like The biggest dislike for this product is that it advertises benefits to corals generically (including SPS and soft corals), whereas coral does not consume phytoplankton. Coral consumes zooplankton. By this false advertising, they may be marketing this to someone who has no need for it. Also, if used extensively, this will certainly increase nutrient levels in your tank fueling algae and other nuisance issues.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By crvz
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $16
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

An algae bloom in a bottle.

Comments When I was just starting I tried this product and all I ended up with was horrible algae blooms. at the time my skimmer was not the greatest and was not able to remove this fast enough. honestly I saw no benefit to the corals and like I said before only fueled algae in my tank. I use this per in instruction for almost a month before I stopped and my then it was just too late. I was getting cyano everywhere and hair algae. It took my about 2 months to get everything cleaned up from the mess.


Liked about it There really was nothing I liked about this product all it did was cause mt trouble.


Didn't like It is algae in a bottle and maybe if you use much less than the dosage on the label you might be ok but for me I saw no benefit of this product


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By ckusnierek
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $16
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

This product keeps my feather duster alive

Comments This isn't a very expensive product, especially considering how long it lasts. I keep mine a small refrigerator I have in my study as the bottle states it will last longer that way. I have a very healthy feather duster which I feed with this product. There is only one small caution I would give someone wanting to use this product and that is the recommended dosage is probably too much for your tank, it's really concentrated and adding too much can cause your water to become unstable. However, that's really a sign of how packed with nutrients this is.


Liked about it 1. Actually shows results in the health of those animals that consume it
2. Affordable price
3. Lasts for a very long time
4. Easy to use no spill bottle


Didn't like 1. Following the dosage on the bottle put too many nutrients in my tank. I use half of what it calls for and still have healthy animals. Each tank will be different, just know you may need to experiment with dosage.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
May 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $16
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great coral food but use sparingly

Comments We use this mainly to target feed our corals. at first we added the Phyto straight to the tank and just let the flow distribute it around, but we don't add it straight to the tank any more. Now we decided to mix it in with other foods before adding it and now we also spot feed each coral. We find that this works much better and we don't feel we need to add as much of it since we can guarantee that each coral is getting a little bit of it. You will be warned by everyone that has used it to don't over feed it because it will cause an algae break out. Even when we used the recommended amount listed on the bottle we had algae growth (mainly on the glass). our corals do like it though so we still use it, just a lot less.


Liked about it Easy to use
corals love it
bottle has lasted a while (about 5 months and not empty yet)
Not too expensive


Didn't like If you use too much or too often you will get algae break outs.
high moisture content and bad smell


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By andbob25
May 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $16
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Kent Marine PhytoPlex

Comments Provides necessary nutrition for hard & soft corals, tube worms, clams. I like to target feed. This also helps to keep water quality stable. Don't overfeed.


Liked about it easy and convenient


Didn't like high moisture content


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By rugman7
Feb 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $16
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Only use if you have a need

Comments It is a good product if you cant find fresh. The price wasn't bad either.Must be refrigerated after opening.


Liked about it I target feed my tube-worms with it. Seems to work great.


Didn't like shelf-life.... needs expiration date on bottle.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By richieg0324
Nov 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $16
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Food

Comments This product works best if you target feed


Liked about it It had good directions on how to use


Didn't like The smell


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By collin
Jul 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $16
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Good

Comments This product is good for feeding your corals


Liked about it -feeds corals
-not hard to use
-not to expensive


Didn't like There is nothing I don't like.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By 10 gallon reefer
Jul 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $16
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Why so much moisture!?

General This product works great! I prefer live phyto, but this seems to do the same thing. Im not too crazy about the moisture content being as high as it is, but it does work. Maybe a more concentrated batch would make me feel it is worth $15+. If your looking for easy phyto, this is for you.


Liked about it Corals and inverts response
Rotifiers growth


Didn't like Moisture content is over 80%


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By fihsboy
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $16
Compare Prices
at 2 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec378