Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (14)
 Add a review

Two Little Fishies Phosban Reactor 150 Featured

 
PhosBan Reactor 150 by Two Little Fishies. PhosBan Reactor 150 from Two Little Fishies: Maximize chemical filtration utilizing the up-flow principle


Price: $29 to $45 at 3 stores
Searched Two Little Fishies Phosban Reactor 150 in Reviews
 

 

Good investment featured

Installation and Operation The Two little fishes Phosban reactor is easy to install. I didn't even need to read the instructions thanks to the people over at the LFS that showed me how to connect it, and load it with media. After loading the media, and connecting it to an old power head I had kicking around, I hung it on the side of my sump, tossed the power head in the sump, connected the inlet and return hoses, powered it up, and set the water flow with the supplied regulator valve.


Performance vs. Expectations After only a few days of operation I noticed a dramatic drop in the measurable phosphates in the water. I also noticed that mo corals and anemonies were opening up like i have never seen them before, and even the corals that I thought were doing OK started growing and multiplying. I also noticed that my other water chemestry has become considerably more stable after the addition of the phosphate reactor.


Value for money A little pricey considering that it is just a plastic tube with a few plastic discs with holes in them, and a cpouple of tubes, but considering that it does do as advertised, and when you consider that loosing a single coral due to high phosphates could cost you alot more, it is a good investment,


Customer Support None needed


Liked about it It was easy to set up.
Phosphates start to drop immedietely.
Media only needs to be changed every few months.


Didn't like Should come with small power head and tubing as a kit option, as some people will be scared away once they see the price plus an additional pump. Had I not had a spare power head, I may have overlooked it too.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By reefer911
Jun 11, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $29 to $45
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Easy to install, requires a little addition if you don't have a sump featured

Installation and Operation I actually feel the instructions that come with the Phosban reactor are a little poor and watched a few videos on the Internet to give me a better idea of what a working one should look like. Also, the reactor does not come with the hoses you need, and though it does explain you need a 1/2 tube, when you get to the hardware store to buy it you will find they give you the outer and inner measurements of the tube and I wasn't sure which the instructions meant. Fortunately I had brought one of the fittings with me and was able to just try it out. The 1/2 inch is the inside measurement by the way, something I figured was the case before hand, but the instructions could have cleared it up 100% for me.

I don't have a sump on my tank so the reactor needed to hang on the back. Two Little Fishes, the company that makes the reactor, also sells a kit to facilitate mounting it this way, but it's an extra $6. For just $3 I got the parts at Home Depot to make two such kits, one for each reactor I purchased. There are no instructions for exactly how to do this, so again I looked to the Internet.

Operation of the reactor is quite easy and in this the instructions are clear. Though the initial start up is a little bit of a pain as you have to get a bucket and let the first gallon or so through the reactor go into the bucket to make sure it's clear.

One important note: the reactor is designed for low flow, if you use a high powered pump on it you run the risk of leaks or pulverizing the media. Even though there is a valve to slow the flow I found that using the properly rated pump from the start saves many issues down the road.


Performance vs. Expectations I tried using Phosban in a media bag because I didn't want to spend the money on a reactor. I had very limited success doing it this way. The reason for this is that it is difficult in a bag to get the proper flow of water over and through the media and without that flow it simply isn't going to work.

Inside a reactor, with the slow tumbling of the media, the water comes in constant contact with it and the absorption of phosphates is many times greater than the Phosban in a media bag.

I really did see a difference in the clarity of my water, the health of my corals, and a reduction in algae. I also no longer had the occasional outbreak of cyanobacteria that would pop up when I would overfeed the tank (something I love to do).

I think this reactor is very much worth the money, in fact, I would say without it you are wasting your money even buying Phosban, at least that was my experience.


Value for money I still think that the cost of this product is a bit high, it was $59.99. When you see the parts it is made out of you will be tempted to just make one yourself, but I like nicely machined and well fitting equipment so I got it. In the long run, you do get your money's worth because it does the job well and is designed for Phosban by the people who make Phosban.


Customer Support I did not need to use customer support on this product. I did visit their web site and found it to be of no help. I turned to the Internet (forums like TRT and YouTube videos) to answer my questions.


Liked about it 1. Actually does what it is designed to do.
2. Fits behind the tank in a relatively small space.
3. With this you get the most out of your Phosban.


Didn't like 1. Does not come with a pump or hose.
2. If you want to use this as a hang on the back product you will need to buy a kit or parts to do it right. You can do it ugly right out of the box, but if you want it to be sleek then you need the parts.
3. Initial start up is rather a pain.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By tcamos
Aug 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $29 to $45
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great reactor for price. featured

Installation and Operation Very easy to install and operate. Pretty much plug it in, toss in the gfo, carbon, etc. stick in sump and good to go. I too clean mine monthly. I haven't had to adjust the flow, although it does allow you to do so.


Performance vs. Expectations I had a similar experience as the previous post. I tried running gfo in just a media bag, and got nothing. This reactor made a huge difference in the performance of the phosphate product.


Value for money It is certainly worth the money. You can't always find good products for a saltwater tank at a cheap price, but this is one of those exceptions. The reactor has certainly done more than I expected in terms of helping keep my tank clean. I don't often listen to lfs employees (ha!) but when I was first starting out this was highly recommend by the owner of an lfs I frequent, glad I took his advice.


Customer Support n/a


Liked about it Easy to install, easy to use and it's cheap. The valve for adjusting flow is a bit cheap, but as stated I've never had to adjust mine. You can find the media to use with the reactor at any lfs that carries saltwater. I do like the fact that you can run different medias through the reactor. The reactor isn't very big so it was easy to fit it into the sump. I've had mine for almost a year and have not had any problems.


Didn't like Not much to say here.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By Sherilw
Jul 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $29 to $45
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Works well, but installation was a challenge featured

Installation and Operation This product is advertised as hang on back so I was quite surprised when I pulled this piece of equipment out of the box and it did not hang on the back of my 90 gallon glass aquarium. Fortunately the directions that were included with the product were quite detailed which was very helpful. There were diagrams of optional installations which made setting it up easy after the shock of the item not being plug and play. Because the reactor was easy to put together - maintenance should be a breeze.


Performance vs. Expectations The product does perform as advertised because the phosphate levels in my tank dropped dramatically.


Value for money The product was very reasonable priced and has performed to my expectations.


Customer Support I have not had to call the company for support.


Liked about it I like the fact that the instructions included were very detailed which made installation easier. I liked that the piece of equipment was very reasonably priced and that it quickly did the job it was intended to do.


Didn't like I did not like the fact that the product was advertised as hang on back, but did not hang on the back of my tank. I did not like that because the reactor did not hang on the back of my tank, I was forced to design the way the water would exit and tank and enter the reactor and in turn the way the water would exit the reactor and go back in to my tank.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By aprilstory
Jul 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $29 to $45
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great reactor for the money. featured

Installation and Operation I found this really easy to install and operate. I have it hanging on my sump. And I either run GFO or GAC in it. All you have to do is adjust the flow with the provided ball valve. I clean mine once a month, no matter what. So I only put in a months worth of media, I'm sure you could go longer but I feel that the sponges would get clogged if you waited much longer and that would impede performance.


Performance vs. Expectations It definitely does all it claims and I think is even more versatile. You can run almost any media that should be fluidized in it. Not only that but after a few months of running GFO my tank lost a large percent of nuisance algae that I had. I tried just running media in a bag, but it didn't have anywhere near the affect of running it in the reactor.


Value for money This is a great value for the money. Some reactors are expensive, and while they may have some better qualities, this reactor is more than adequate in most situations. The other reactors in this price range are not quite as well put together as this one.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it Its easy to install and has a nice compact size. Its also easy to fill and change out the media when the time comes. Its just a few threads, not a bunch of bolts to take off. It only takes a few minutes, which is always a plus.


Didn't like The only thing I wish was better was that you have to make sure the lid is on just right or it can leak a little. Its not to bad, but you do have to be careful when you screw the lid back on to make sure the gasket is seated properly.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Sep 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $29 to $45
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

great media reactor featured

Installation and Operation A great little reactor with a number of uses, I've used it with carbon and phosphate media. This reactor comes with a valve for controlling flow and uses simply hose bibs for configuring pumps. I'd highly recommend this for almost any media.


Performance vs. Expectations For as simple as this item, it works pretty well. It assembles easily and has a good method of ensuring flow moves in one direction. I have used this for carbon and it works very well. There's also a lip on it that will allow you to hang it on the side of the tank, though I've personally never had to use it in such a fashion and can't say anything to how water tight it is.


Value for money At around $30 (when I bought it), this is a great little reactor. Finding something similar for anywhere near the price is hard. A lot of media reactors by other manufacturers sometimes retail for hundreds of dollars, so this is a great value.


Liked about it The best part of this is that it's cheap and easy to use. It comes with everything needed to get it running except a little bit of hose. It's durable, well made, easy to assemble; really no complaints, and I've used them for years without issue.


Didn't like For the price, there's nothing wrong with this unit. It fits it's function perfectly.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By crvz
May 05, 2009
 
Last updated: May 19, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $29 to $45
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Nice reactors for the money

Installation and Operation Instructions are a little lacking but the install is still easy. put down-tube in case, put in bottom sponge filter, put in media, install down-tube cap, top sponge and then screw on case top... now just attach your pump with 1/2" hose and that's it. Maintenance is really dependent on the tank, If there is algae or debris the bottom sponge will clog needing cleaning about once a month in my experience.


Performance vs. Expectations performs well, does not leak and will readily accept different medias. Bottom sponge may clog to easily but can be remedied by removing that sponge( do not remove to sponge). I used a maxijet 1200 with very good results


Value for money unlike some others I do not believe this product is overpriced. You get a water tight solid functioning reactor for the fraction of the cost of some other brands. It would be nice if the unit came with hoses otherwise good value.


Customer Support Have had no reason to contact


Liked about it quick disconnect fittings work well
accepts multiple types of media
no leaking
easy to use
works well


Didn't like sponges may clog easily
should include optional screen kit
need hoses


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jbsetts
Jul 12, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $29 to $45
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Good Reactor

Installation and Operation Very good and easy to follow instructions. It only took me a few minutes to have this reactor up, filled, and running.


Performance vs. Expectations I had been fighting a phosphate problem in my tank for a while, and they inturn where causing me an algae problem. I had tried pads in my power filter but it just couldn't get rid of it all. After getting this reactor a setting it up I am glad to say that my phophates anre near zero, .03! Performed past my expectations.


Value for money The reactor was a reasonable price when comparing it to others of it's kind. It was actually one of the least expensive pieces of equipment that I own for my tank.


Customer Support Did not have to seek customer support.


Liked about it I liked the ease of which it was to set up and the amount of reactant is holds. I also liked way the water travels bottom to top and not the other way around.


Didn't like I wish it would have come with its own powerhead.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By joschend0325
Jan 25, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $29 to $45
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Worth the money

Installation and Operation Is a basic instalation a youn pg child could do it.. I didn't even read the instructions... The filter set up on it I don't care for because in order to clean the bottom one you have to pull everything out..


Performance vs. Expectations I don't run phosban in mine I use it to run other products... It performs very well. You can easily upgrade the pump or control vale for more flow..


Value for money Considering what's out there the price is more than fair.. It performs as well as 90% of what's on the market.. Most run around 75-100$ I chose this one due to the price.. Well worth the money


Customer Support Never had an issue with the product so I have never contacted the company..


Liked about it The size is perfect for most/my applications, you don't need a big pump to run it,easy plug and play application


Didn't like The bottom filter is annoying when it gets clogged up.. You have to remove every thing that's inside if it in order to clean it.. They should put a screw on bottom like the top or make the plastic holes smaller


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By saltlifefan4278
Oct 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $29 to $45
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great great investment every tank should have one

Installation and Operation Installation is easy, the instructions are very wordy and could be reduced to a few sentences.


Performance vs. Expectations Performance is spectacular. I run GFO, carbon, and denitrate all in the same reactor with great results. Much cheaper than buying 3 reactors or more expensive models to get the same results


Value for money Value is great considering one of these on a small tank is all you will ever need. THe quality of the device is great. I would suggest adding a few more hose clamps than they provide just for safety.
I added 4 to mine


Customer Support No contact


Liked about it I like the simpleness of the device. And the access to the media is very easy to get to as well


Didn't like I don't like the cheap rubber 90 degree attachments. So i replaced them with 45 degree pvc so I can have the reactor more accessible and a more solid build


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By p3nguin
Jul 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $29 to $45
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

TLF reactor

General Overall this is a great product. As I mentioned, it would be great if TLF came out with a larger unit. This seems to work well for moderately sized tanks. For my 300-gallon system I run two of them for po4 reduction media and a third one for carbon.


Liked about it Easy to set up and aside from tubing and the pump comes with everything you need to get it up and running. The flexible and movable fittings on the top make installation a snap.


Didn't like It would be nice if TLF came out with a larger reactor. You also need to be sure not to over tighten the screw on top so that the o-ring doesn't become pinched and slip out of its retainer.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Hop
Apr 19, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $29 to $45
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great

Installation and Operation Easy to install. Make sure you have enough tubing of the appropriate diameter.


Performance vs. Expectations If you wash your media correctly before adding it to the reactor and you have your flow rate low, then this reactor will work fine. If you do not wash or if you pump is too strong, then the media can break apart into a fine dust!


Liked about it It is clear, unlike some homemade PVC ones.
Easy to dissemble.


Didn't like I never like the ball valves that ship with these small reactors, they seem a bit cheap.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By hawaii4485
Aug 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $29 to $45
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Two Little Fishies Phosban reactor.

General I have 2 of these in series on my sps tank. One running Phosban the other with activated carbon. Very easy to setup and get running. They are a great way to run media remotely or in sump.


Liked about it Upflow design, well build and fairly cheap. Also it can run any granulated type of media.


Didn't like So far nothing.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Paramecium
Jun 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $29 to $45
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

A Great multi use reactor!

General This is a vreat media reactor.
It can be used for PO4 remover/carbon or just about anyother granulated media...

Very simple to install and get up and running.


Liked about it It's inexpensive
comes with valve
extremely versitle


Didn't like It does not come with a pump


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $29 to $45
Compare Prices
at 3 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec352