Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.8 (10)
 Add a review

Hagen Aqua Clear 20 Hang-On-Back Power Filter 100 GPH

 
AquaClear Powerfilters 20 100 by Aquaclear. Superior filtering capabilities through dual biological and mechanical filtration


Price: $12 to $25 at 3 stores
Searched Hagen Aqua Clear 20 Hang-On-Back Power Filter 100 in Reviews
 

 

Great Filters featured

Installation and Operation The Aqua Clear 20 along with all Aqua Clear filters are extremely easy to install and operate. I have found this product very easy to use and maintain. Maintenance isn't too difficult and I changed media about once a month. The foam insert can clog up pretty quickly limiting flow. Sometimes the motor will also get clogged up and will need to be taken apart to be cleaned. Over the long run the metal rod that is holding the impeller in place will become loose or crack off(only after extreme use). If it is loose it will cause the impeller to rotate oddly making the filter loud and annoying. If the balance piece breaks off or falls off replace it as soon as possible. Mine cracked off while taking it off the tank for maintenance and it was titled backwards enough to leak water out the back of it making a mess on the floor. I actually adapted mine into a mini fuge using the low flow and it has worked fairly well.


Performance vs. Expectations This filter worked excellently and kept my aquariums nice and clean. I have used this on a 29 gallon and two on a 55 gallon tank and they were both crystal clear.


Value for money These filters were fairly cheap and at first I didn't think they would work well because of that. However, I was pleasantly surprised and thought they worked extremely well for the price.


Liked about it A great filter for the price.
Tons of great filter media to put in it that is also cheap.
Kept my tanks nice and clear.
Easy to put together and operate.
Adjustable Flow


Didn't like The rod holding my impeller broke off on two of these models after about 1-2years of extreme use.
The piece that holds the filter up against the tank broke off and caused a leak so I just wedged a folded up piece of paper or an old cartridge from a gameboy game behind it to hold it straight.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Guchte22
Feb 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $25
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Aquaclear 20 - Clever Design featured

Installation and Operation The Aquaclear 20 is a simple installation that can be setup in less than 20 minutes. The unit is minimalist in its design and easily the most cleverly designed hang filter this author has ever seen.


Performance vs. Expectations The Aquaclear 20 performs quite well with its three stage filtration system, which incorporates mechanical, chemical and biological filtration. This filter also offers a clever feature which allows the user to adjust the flow of the water through the filter, which comes in handy when feeding your fish. It is also quite useful for smaller aquariums so that the fish and plants are no overwhelmed by the power of this filter. However, with the "water fall" type of system the Aquaclear uses, it does not overwhelm my Aqueon 5.5 gallon tank the way my old Supreme Aquamaster PME did. Now if only the Aquaclear lasts as long as the PME which has a reputation for bullet proof reliabilty many PME's are still going strong after 25 years of service) I would have to say that the Aquaclear may be the best affordable aquarium filter on the market.


Value for money In this author's opinion, the Aquaclear 20 repesents excellent value for the money depending on where you purchase it. I have seen it advertised for as much as $35, however the mid $20 range seems to be the more common price range for this filter.


Customer Support No need for support thus far.


Liked about it Design, three stage filtration, price


Didn't like I have found nothing to criticize about this filter: between its ability to keep my aquarium's water crystal clear, as well as its ease of use, Aquaclear has built the small aquarium owner the perfect hang filter.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Jimmyblues
Nov 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $25
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Best HOB Filter Out There!

Installation and Operation This requires barely any installation. The instructions are fine. It is very easy to operate. The only maintenance required is to change out the filter media.


Performance vs. Expectations It performs great. The only problem I've had is that it doesn't always start up right away.


Value for money It is well worth the money. Not expensive at all.


Customer Support Never had to deal with customer service.


Liked about it I love how simple it is. It is efficient and you don't have to mess with any of that bio-wheel stuff or junk like that that only complicates the filter.


Didn't like It doesn't start up right away. Sometimes, it takes up to 30 seconds to start up.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By wii64brawl
Mar 28, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $25
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

For the price, a great filter

Installation and Operation I actually used this filter on my first tank and all my small fresh- and salt- water tanks since. This filter requires little maintenance; i change the three stages of filter media about once a month or so, and it keeps my freshwater ten gallon perfectly clear.The adjustable flow option is very nice when feeding fish.


Performance vs. Expectations The adjustable flow option is very nice when feeding fish.The filter combines biological, mechanical, and chemical filtration, and does its job. At first, because of the price tag, I though it wouldn't be all that great, but lo and behold, it is a very nice filter and I would strongly recommend it for any small aquarium. I haven't had an Aquaclear model on any large tank, so I couldn't tell you how it performs on those.


Value for money For around 20 bucks this is a great buy.Filter media is about ten buck a pop, which is $5 more than I'd like to pay, but for the filtration, I think its worth it.


Customer Support I have not had to contact the company.


Liked about it -runs quiet
-keeps the water clean
-adjustable flow strength
-cheap


Didn't like -impeller rod broke on me after a year on heavy use.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By gatorguy
Aug 05, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $25
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Good Filter

Installation and Operation Very simple to put together and install. It pretty much comes ready out of the box. It comes with a bag of carbon, some look alike bioballs for bacteria to grow, and a filter media pad. Just put all that in and your ready to go! I use mine basically as a refugium where I can run whatever I need to, just in case of something happening. I don't need the bacteria bag as my live rock handles that job. It's got a nice open space where you can do what you would like to do to it. Also comes with a leveler that way if it's not level you can use this to make it level that way it won't overflow onto your floor etc.


Performance vs. Expectations This item met all my expectations and standards for a good running filter.


Value for money Very good for what it's worth.


Customer Support Never had to deal with them


Liked about it Very simple
Quiet


Didn't like Can be hard to get a suction for water flow.


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By jamesbooth66
Apr 07, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $25
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great small filter

General Small, easy flow adjustment, easy to change filter meida and clean, great flow, and very affordable.


Liked about it I have this on my 5.5g saltwater tank, it has a done an EXCELLENT job so far. i would recommend this to anyone with a small tank.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By swnoobie
Jul 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $25
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great little filter

General I used this filter for a few months before I got my skimmer. Great little filter. I didn't run carbon in it, only used the foam blocks for filtering and cleaned those out every other day. Works great though and has good steady flow.


Liked about it - Compact
- Easy to take apart and clean
- Runs great


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $25
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

lil filter

General These filter can be used form everything make lil hang on refugiums with


Liked about it Great design 3 stage filtration easy to clean use set up
cost is great


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By clowninaround
Jun 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $25
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

AC20

General I would buy one again. I have one as the filtration on a 20 gallon tank and it works awesome.


Liked about it Simple, compact design. Easy to adjust the water flow through it. Easy to clean/


Didn't like The filters that come in them. I dispose of them and run them without them.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By OneDummHikk
Apr 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $25
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

basic filter

General A good solid HOB filter. I still use it in my QT tank. It is the oldest still functioning piece of equipment I have.


Liked about it Simple and durable. I have one from a tank 10 years ago. The carbon and sponge can be replaced by other media.


Didn't like Limited surface area for biological filtration.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jenglish
Mar 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $25
Compare Prices
at 3 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec349