Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.9 (11)
 Add a review

Tunze Osmolator Universal 3155

 
Water level regulation with static sensor In 1983 already, TUNZE Aquarientechnik introduced the first water level regulator (Osmolator) to aquarism. TUNZE Aquarientechnik has developed a new generation of osmotic...


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Tunze Osmolator Universal 3155 in Reviews
 

 

Expectations Met featured

Installation and Operation The whole product was up and running in less than a half of an hour. Instructions were a bit confusing as they are in three different languages side by side. Most who understand the concept will not have much problem putting together and getting it going.


Performance vs. Expectations The product worked great from the start. It uses an optical low level sensor, so the level range is much smaller than my last ATO. My skimmer needs to be kept at a very specific depth to operate properly. This unit has kept the level very consistent and has helped my skimmer produce a very dry skimmate.


Value for money It is a little on the expensive side. I needed a model that would give me good performance and help my skimmer. Not sure how long the pump is good for, but if it needs to be replaced every year the value may not quite be there.


Customer Support The product came out of the box doing what it was sold to do. I have not needed any support from the manufacture.


Liked about it The low level sensor is the key for me. I have a few slugs and snails that like to travel down to the sump. Every so often they would trigger he ATO and fill the sump to the high level shut off.


Didn't like The price was a bit high and I did not like the instructions. They can use the same amount of paper to print a three section instructions. Having one section with three languages made it a bit confusing. Overall I could not find much wrong with the unit.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By OHBA
Mar 28, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great Product! featured

Installation and Operation It was very easy to install. A child could do this easily. The instructions weren't the best, but it still wasn't too hard to install. The only thing you need to do is make sure the ATO reservoir is full and wipe off the sensors every once in a while.


Performance vs. Expectations Everything I read about this product said it was amazing, and it is!


Value for money This is the one thing that makes people shy away from this. This could easily have been sold for 150$. I got this as a gift, so price was of no concern to me. But I doubt I would have paid that much on my own. It is only that expensive because of the name.


Customer Support I posted on another site in the Tunze sponsor forum with a question, and a representative answered me within 36 hours.


Liked about it 1. The included pump can be run dry.
2. It has two different types of sensors, which takes away the possibility of the same thing causing failure for both sensors.
3. You can use the potentiometer to adjust the flow rate of the pump.
4. It fills up over the "sensor line." This allows for less cycles in a day.


Didn't like The only bad thing is that the potentiometer is very touchy. And also the price, obviously.


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By wii64brawl
Mar 28, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Glad I did it right the first time featured

Installation and Operation The instructions were a bit tough to understand, but it wasn't very difficult to figure out. Maintenance is a breeze. I use it on my 55g DT, 20g sump with a 7 gallon reservoir. Maintenance is filling the reservoir once a week and making sure the sensor and float are clear of obstructions.


Performance vs. Expectations I was recommended the Tunze, did a little searching, and have been happy ever since it's been running.


Value for money The $200 price tag is a little rough but it's worth every penny. My Sg stays at 1.026 and the confidence I have in the system is one less thing to worry about.


Liked about it The Tunze has been very accurate, as I already mentioned, my Sg is constant. I like the magnet, that thing is strong, much better than suction cups...I don't like suction cups. The audible alarm is a nice perk too. If the pump keeps pumping the float will set off an audible alarm.


Didn't like The only two negative things I could say about the Tunze ATO is the price is heavy and the instructions could have been better. That being said, I do recommend this product.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By dirtycontour
Aug 28, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

You get what you pay for featured

Installation and Operation Installation does take some effort to get it just right. I found getting some help on line was better than the instructions it came with.


Performance vs. Expectations My first auto top off system was one I made myself. I was proud of my accomplishment but it was not very pretty and it also lacked redundancy. That's where the Tunze excels, it has triple redundancy built into the system as well as a timer that keeps it from running constantly. What that means is you won't end up with the pump burning out when the reservoir runs dry, it will shut down for you. It also won't overflow your tank as it has a sensor to know if it is getting too full that will shut the pump down. There are also some add-ons you can buy to make it even better. I did a lot of research on auto top off systems before getting this one and simply could not find one that was better or did more to keep your system stable and avoid the potential disasters that can happen when using an auto top off system.


Value for money Generally a conversation about the Tunze Osmolator generally includes someone confused at the name and someone confused at the price. "It costs how much?" is commonly spoken but is often followed by, "oh...it does a lot". Yes, the price tag hurts, $200+ is a lot to pay for something that has one essential function. However, especially when dealing with smaller tanks a consistent level of water is important. As water evaporates the salinity in your tank rises which can be harmful to livestock, especially invertebrates and some corals. Even fish can be affected at a certain point. The Auto top off system makes sure that doesn't happen.

Also, for those who are tired of lifting water jugs or perhaps have bad backs and it hurts to lift them, an auto top off saves plenty of heavy lifting. Fill the reservoir once in a while instead of every day it saves so much effort.


Customer Support Tunze is well known for their quality customer service. I contacted them via their web site for a little help with the install and they cleared it right up.


Liked about it 1. Built in redundancy for safety
2. Highest quality optical sensor
3. Everything you need included


Didn't like 1. A little hard to install
2. Cost


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Jun 27, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Well worth the money

Installation and Operation The instructions were a little confusing on how to attach the unit to the type of holding tank you use but once i figured that out installation was easy. once set up zero maintenance i just keep my ato tank filled and the Tunze does the rest.


Performance vs. Expectations Performed better then expected, once i set it up i thought there would be some trouble with keeping the proper level in my sump but it worked great, turns off and on at the exact level every time, i never have to worry about this ato working.


Value for money The price is well worth the piece of mind you will get with this product


Liked about it Everything, once set up this ATO worked great
liked the high level alarm, liked that it kept my sump at the same level every time
low or no maintenance


Didn't like nothing i didn't like about this unit but i would liked to of had a low level sensor for the ATO tank so that the pump would not run dry.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By chrisd
Dec 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Best top-off system out there, hands down

Installation and Operation The Tunze Osmolator is easily the best top-off system out there. It is not the easiest to install, and the instructions are somewhat confusing. However, it is relatively simple to figure out after a few minutes and some online picture hunting. And once it is set up, it requires minimal maintenance and is BY FAR the most precise about replacing water frequently and precisely.


Performance vs. Expectations Performs better than any other ATO out there.


Value for money It seems expensive at first, but it is well worth it and is built to last. Also, the pump is replaceable for about $20 if it ever should fail with old age.


Customer Support Best customer support out there.


Liked about it Versatile for multiple installation possibilities.
Uses an optical sensor to detect water level--no float switches to fail.
Replaces a mere ounces of water at a time and frequently as needed, so the water level is rock solid at all times. (Needed since I have no baffles in my sump where my skimmer sits.)


Didn't like Price is a little steep, but this is an investment for the life of your reef-keeping hobby. :)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By schneijt
Aug 01, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Another Flawless Tunze product

Installation and Operation Simple and easy instillation.
Tunze instruction are not always the easiest to follow but they did a pretty good job on this one. I have never liked their mounts for pumps and they use the same mount for the level sensor with this product.

Simply mount the sensor at the level you want to maintain your sumps water line.
drop the pump and a top off tank of water and plug it in.

This is another flawless product from Tunze.
Not quite but almost plug and play.


Performance vs. Expectations This unit performs just as expected. It's Tunze and they are know for having great quality.
although after about one year the pump stopped working. This may have been caused by letting my top off tank go dry on many occasions.


Value for money It's not cheap but you always get what you pay for and with Tunze you know you are getting quality!


Liked about it Simple and easy to install
It's Tunze whats more to says! Great quality and excellent service!
Very quite. There is a little hum from the pump but that's about it.


Didn't like Has the chance to back siphon if reservoir is lower than sump.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
Mar 31, 2009
 
Last updated: May 26, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Easy to set up, does what you paid for

Installation and Operation No maintenance other than refilling your top off with water from RODI


Performance vs. Expectations Performs perfectly. Works out of the box with little setup or tweaking.


Value for money A purchase that will last the lifetime of the hobby


Customer Support None


Liked about it I like the LED indicator lights that let you know the current status as well as the second method of failure protection. Leaves me stressfree at work


Didn't like I don;t like how the pump wires actually need to be spliced together. Seems like they could have done this for me


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By p3nguin
Jul 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Tunze 3155

General I ran a pump on a timer for years and recently invested in this unit. Its amazing the peace of mind it brings. Would/will definitely buy one of these again if need be.


Liked about it Easy to install, accurate sensor, double sensor to detect too much water with an alarm to notify you.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By firsthesitation
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

The Best ATO!

General I have run this for approximately a year and I love it. It has worked very well for my application. I am not using the pump as I built a relay and am using an actuated valve to supply my system with fresh RODI water. This has worked flawlessly and I have never had an overflow. Great Product!!!


Liked about it Accurate, No Electricity in the Aquarium


Didn't like Nothing yet!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dcmartinpc
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Awesome auto topoff unit

General Tunze makes excellent equipment. It tends to be a little more expensive, but the expense is well worth the quality.


Liked about it Easy to setup and 100% reliable. Uses a very sensitive sensor to detect water levels and maintains them fairly accurately.


Didn't like Nothing, had it for four years and it's still going strong.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By drdude05
Jun 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec447