Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
5.0 (7)
 Add a review

JBJ Automatic Top Off ATO System Water Level Controller

 
ATO Controller by . Automatically refill your sump or aquarium without lifting heavy buckets or spilling water


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched JBJ Automatic Top Off ATO System Water Level Contrer in Reviews
 

 

Great piece of equipment! featured

Installation and Operation ATO is very simple to setup and in stall in 3 different scnerios. The instructions are strait forward and easy to follow. ATO is simple to operate simple place float sensors at desired level put pump in RO reservor and forget it.


Performance vs. Expectations Keeps my water level at an exact level all the time. Also has a built in timer for safety that can be adjusted from 3 to 14 minutes of run time. Also the newer models have and on off switch for the pump buzzer. The head unit also has a light for when the floats have been tripped and when the pumps running. Also comes with several float switch mounting options including adjustable hangers and suction cups.


Value for money A very cheap alternative to other more expensive models. Performs well and has redundent safety. Good looking unit, its small and easy to install and is cheap insurance for your tank.


Customer Support Havnt had to deal with them yet.


Liked about it 1. Love the price of this unit under a $100.00
2. Easy to install and use.
3. Built in safety redundency
4. Not having to lug buckets of water.


Didn't like The float switch wires could be longer in order to direct them a little more cleanly. Didn't come with a pump but its also cheaper than other more expensive models. I'm using a maxijet 900 on mine and it works great!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By MedicMike
Jan 17, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

A solid and affordable alternative to more costly models featured

Installation and Operation The included instruction book is very clear and gives several options for installation with diagrams. The hardest part of installation is coming up with a way to get the hose into the tank. That's one thing this doesn't come with is something to put on the end to easily get the water into the tank. Since you are not supposed to submerse the end of the tube (to prevent dangerous back siphoning) I had to rig up a way to hook it on the tank. I took some hard tubing and made a hook out of it and that did the trick.


Performance vs. Expectations This unit works very well. It doesn't have the triple redundancy that the Tunze unit has, but then again it's $150 less. It also doesn't come with a pump. The Maxi-jet 1200 works just perfect though and doesn't add too much to the cost.

As will all float-based top-off systems you need to clean off the floats from time-to-time as coralline and tube worms will gather on the surface and can sometimes make the float switch stick in one position or the other.

There is an alarm that sounds whenever the system is filling the tank. You can disable this by cutting the wires inside (this voids your warranty of course) or you can put the whole thing on a timer so it only runs for part of the day, that way it fills once a day instead of continuously all day long. Up to you, I let if fill all day long as that keeps my skimmer working better.


Value for money This is an affordable system that works well for the money. Some aquarists will complain that they had a problem with it. However, I've found they generally used an older model. The company has fixed the bugs and now has a solid product on the market.


Customer Support I have not had to use customer support for this product.


Liked about it 1. Affordable.
2. Two float switches.
3. LED lights to indicate operational state.
4. Compact and easy to fit just about anywhere you need to.


Didn't like 1. Didn't come with anything to attach it to the tank itself. I had to create my own end for it. There are mounts for the switches, and the unit itself, I'm just talking about the end of the hose where the water actually exits. I think there should be some hook or something for that end. Minor issue but worth mentioning.
2. Alarm sounds when unit is actively topping-off the tank. If you don't have the main unit in a cabinet this noise can be annoying.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Jul 22, 2010
 
Last updated: August 02, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great, simple top off

Installation and Operation Minimal maintenance required. I check the floats once a month to make sure they stay clean and clear of obstructions.


Performance vs. Expectations Works as advertised. The only thing I wish is that I made my reservoir bigger. I incorporated it into my sump design and gave it 4 gallons. I go through that in close to 3 days in evaporation. Next time I'll make a 10 gal reservoir. This of course has nothing to do with the product itself. It works PERFECTLY.


Value for money Well worth the money and a must for any aquarium.


Liked about it Well Designed
* Quiet
* Allows for multiple setups
* Just works


Didn't like NOTHING, well I lied. I use the floats where one is in my sump and the other in my top off tank for low level (to prevent burning out the aqua-lifter pump. The sump float is a low level float and triggers the top off until level comes back up. I would have wished for a third float for high level. One day my drain got clogged and drained slower then fill. The top off stayed on as the sump kept being in low level. I had just filled reservoir so it dumped all 4 gallons of RO/DI in tank. Overflowed display and diluted my parameters. This though was my fault...can't blame the system.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By marc2912
Aug 27, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

JBJ ATO System

Installation and Operation Easy to install. Just determine your water level and clip together easy linkable bracket. There are two modes and two sensors (floats)for several options. LED lights on front of unit tells you when it is in operation along with audible alarm. Make sure you install the controller in a moisture free area for it is not waterproof.


Performance vs. Expectations Performs as expected. Saves time monitoring water levels. Recommended to check floats from time to time to make sure there is no buildup. Wouldn't want one to get stuck.


Liked about it Everything. It's a no hassle unit.


Didn't like I would like to see product come with longer linkable brackets for deeper reservoirs. Suction cups aren't safe enough.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Feb 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

ATO

General With the exception of a few issues in the beginning, this has been a dependable unit. I believe the problems I had in the beginning were due to my set up of it. I had the wrong switch on the wrong option for the way I had it set up and this allowed my water to drop to a very low level.


Liked about it Easy to set up and has multiple options.


Didn't like Had some issues in the beginning and didn't know it had an audible alarm until I opened the unit up and found the switch. Haven't had issues since so it may have been my fault.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By motorslave
May 13, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Awesome!! Product

Installation and Operation Easy as pie to set up... simple instructions. Takes some time to get the levels perfectly depending on your evaporation.


Performance vs. Expectations Performs awesome saves me time and money.... no more manually filling my tank... my water quality is more stable


Liked about it I have tried DIY ATO's and another more expensive one. This one has yet let me down in the few months that I have had it. Perfect operating product. Alarm is great too.


Didn't like I liked everything about this.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By salty198
Sep 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

ATO - the only way to go!

General The only way to go!


Liked about it This setup is the best. I have 2 of them. Both in use over 2 years. I think they work well and would highly recommend the setup.


Didn't like One time, one of my level sensors stuck due to some buildup. I was lucky that my water supply tank was not full. A little acid bath and all the 'yuk' came off and it's as good as new. I have added checking how the float slides to my routine. Not a big deal.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By danjen10
Jul 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec445