Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.5 (47)
 Add a review

Star Polyps Featured

 
Star Polyps are also referred to as Starburst Polyps. They are usually white or brown with a white dot in the center of each polyp, although some Star Polyps have green tentacles. These polyps encrust rock, glass and...


Price: $5 to $78 at 17 stores
Searched Star Polyps in Reviews
 

 

Green Stars Polyps are Awesome!!! featured

Comments I bought a very small frag from a LFS in Phoenix, AZ about 5 months ago. It was on a tiny rock about the size of a golf ball. The rock was only partially covered in the GSP. I found a nice spot on one of my large rocks of y 14 gallon Biocube and it has been happy there ever since. These guys strive under good water conditions, moderate flow, and good lighting. My GSPs have completely covered the small rock in only about 2-3 months and is now attaching its attractive purple base layer to my large rock. They have grown rapidly enough to notice a difference however I have not had any problems with overgrowth yet. I can't wait for these to take over the large rock and look even more like a field of grass. The best part about this wonderful coral is that you can pick up a very small frag fro only a couple dollars and watch it become an amazing part of your reef tank.


Liked about it -Very inexpensive
-Grows fast
-Easy to care for
-Bright colors that wave in the current like a field of grass


Didn't like -not much to dislike really
-some people have issues with overgrowth but that can be easily contained


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Jayman3777
Feb 01, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Affordable, easy to keep coral that has many attractive features featured

Comments Green star polyps are a beautiful coral that grow by spreading an encrusting mat which will grow over rocks, glass, and other corals. Fortunately this is probably the easiest coral to fragment so as it grows it will be easy to trim back and share with a friend.

What I really like about these corals is how they resemble a field of grass in your tank, swaying in the current, and how bright green they can get. They also come in a blond, and brown color morph, but the green will always be my favorite.

Green star polyps don't usually cost very much at all. There is a neon green color morph that you will sometimes find, and that is more expensive, but the standard green is also very bright, and under the right lighting conditions can rival the more expensive frags for sale.

I wouldn't exactly call green star polyps a beginner's coral, more like a beginner who hasn't just begun. Have a little experience with other corals, such as mushrooms and button polyps before moving on. For the most part they are an easy coral to keep but are known to be a temperamental when it comes to water quality. So in order to be sure of long term survival, wait three months or so before introducing them to your tank.

There are only a few important things to know about green star polyps.
1. Keep your water quality good.
2. Have plenty of light.
3. Give them room to grow and spread, because they will.
4. Learn how to trim them back in order to keep them under control.


Liked about it 1. Affordable.
2. Nice green color.
3. Swaying movement in current is pleasant.
4. Grows quickly.
5. Easy to fragment and share with friends.


Didn't like 1. Can be temperamental when it comes to lighting and water quality.
2. Will overgrown areas of the tank.
3. While prone to overgrowth this does not mean they are always the winner in coral chemical warfare, they often loose. So their encroachment may be to their detriment.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Jul 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Easy to care for beginner coral.. featured

Comments I added a small frag of this coral to fill in a spot in my reef tank. Like others have said, they grow rather quickly. They are a very attractive coral and in my opinion very maintenance free. I have had them in both the upper and lower parts of my tank with 150W MH lights and they seemed to like both areas. I think they do best in moderate flow rates and if flow is to high they will retract. They really look good when the MH lights kick off and the blue lights are the only thing on. Very impressed with this coral. Just take care of your water parameters and they seem to do fine. I do not like corals that I have to babysit and this one fits.


Liked about it -Easy to take care of. Basically take care of your water and they are happy.
-Seems to do well in multiply lighting areas. Have had them in shade and direct light of 150W MH lights and both locations did fine.
-Attractive coral especially in blue lighting.
-Cheap to purchase.


Didn't like -They don't seem to open as much with high flow and since most of my tanks low flow areas are full, I had to adjust the PH's. Not really the corals fault.
-


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By deanp88
Jul 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Great Hearty Coral featured

Comments Star Polyps are one of the easiest corals to care for. They are primarily photosynthetic, so require no direct feeding, and their light requirement is lower than almost any other coral. These critters are not aggressive, they will not actively attack other corals. They grow very quickly, so in competition with other non-aggressive corals they can crowd out the other corals. In fact they grow so quickly that many reef-keepers won't let them in their systems. It is not a terribly active coral, but does grow very quickly, and will sway with the flow. This coral will really work in any size tank.


Liked about it Personally these have always been one of my favorite corals because of the way they look as a field swaying in the flow. Every coral tank I have set up has had green star polyps as the first addition, and they have always done very well from day 1 in not-so-stable systems. If properly contained with more aggressive corals, dark areas, or regular pruning, excessive growth has never been an issue for me. A field of these swaying in the flow can look incredible. They are also inexpensive.


Didn't like The growth rate is probably the only complaint one would have (or at least that I hear regularly), which I had to come up with methods of containing. They are one of the most commonly found corals in local fish stores as well, so they don't pack much of a 'wow' factor.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gobbly
Apr 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Awesome, beautiful and easy! Super fast growers. featured

Comments These things are very easy to care for. The ones I have are not aggressive at all but are fast growers and can easily take over a tank. I have them in a 12g nano and the have spread rapidly over the last few months. I don't do anything to these guys other then frag them when they get too close to another coral. I have honestly thought about just adding some dead rock to my 90 gallon tank and just having this stuff take over everything and add a few fish. I love these things and they amaze me at with the ability they have to grow.


Liked about it Easy to care for, pretty much maintenance free. If you have a healthy tank they will do fine.
Fast growers. They can cover a pretty large area in a couple of months.
Fill the gaps in holes on the live rock and are just beautiful.
Looks almost like a field of grass in the tank.
They don;t have any specific need when it comes to light either.


Didn't like The constant fragging gets annoying but it is not that bad.
Have to keep an eye on where they spread.
I think if you had really intense lighting then they could overrun your tank.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bb0029
Mar 08, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

The Perfect Starter Coral featured

Comments I have always found these corals to be extremely pretty. Some of them have a gorgeous purple mat with extreme Metallic green polyps. They are extremely hardy and easy to care for and if conditions or good they will excel and grow quickly. You can start with tiny frags at decent prices and watch it spread and cover an area quickly. They are great for nano tanks. I also like how they can spread and grow on the glass of a tank. I also love the way a huge group of them move and sway in the current.


Liked about it Great color
Fluoresces under moon lights while open
Grows quickly
Very hardy
Cheap


Didn't like Can grow too quickly
Can overtake other corals in the tank if not given enough room
Can sometimes be hard to attach to live rock if you buy just the mat of polyps.
The mat can be fragile and break off easily


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Guchte22
Feb 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Not for everyone, but I love them.

Comments These guys are very easy to care for. They accept any lighting and flow and don't require supplemental feedings. GSP aren't aggressive and grow fairly fast. The only issue is that they often spread too fast and can encroach on stony corals. If you keep them isolated on a separate rock, though, there are no worries of a GSP takeover. But, if you are looking for a way to quickly have your rock or walls encrusted, these guys are the ones.


Liked about it - How fast they grow.
- Ease of care.
- Contrasting purple and green colors, very vibrant.


Didn't like The one issue I have is that detritus tends to build up under the polyps without them being blasted with flow. While this doesn't bother the polpys, issues can later present themselves if the polyps are disturbed and detritus flies everywhere.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By wii64brawl
Feb 16, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Very hardy, Very forgiving.

Comments This coral is relatively easy to care for and as far as i know not aggressive. It grows at a moderate pace, easy to keep tabs on. I beleive tank size doesn't matter and as long as you have a healthy functioning tan i think occasionally using a phyto supplement will help other than maintaining the common parameters such as calcium, alk, magnesium, and trace elements.


Liked about it i like that it always has its polyps open. i don't believe that the polyps even close under my moonlighting. Even mild colored star polyps offer nice color for the tank. and since they are hardy they are easy to frag for beginners.


Didn't like First time i purchased i was charged $25 by one of my local stores, but now a new one is open and only charged $5 so the are easily overpriced.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By mshonk2
Feb 25, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Fast growing and look great...

Comments These are one of the easiest corals to care for. I have had them in my tank since the begining and I don't think you could kill them if you tried. Even when I pissed mine off they just closed up for a while but eventually they come back out.


Liked about it 1. They actually look really cool swaying in the flow of your tank.
2. They grow really fast.
3. They are super hardy


Didn't like 1. Expect them to take over what ever rock you put them on.
2. They come in diffrent colors make sure you get the bright green ones and not the puke green ones. There is a HUGE diffrence in how they will look in your tank,
.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Tiger Reefer
Feb 24, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Great little Coral

Comments These are some of the easiest corals to keep. I have rebuilt my tank three times and each time star polyps are my first coral. They require no supplemental feeding and can survive in lower light conditions. They also grow relatively fast, and look great flowing in the current. There are almost not tank size requirements. They are extremely peaceful and will coexist with any other species.


Liked about it Love the looks and ease of care. They are also readily availabele. Since they are easy to keep and great for beginners most all coral shops carry them.


Didn't like The only thing that can be a pain about them is their removal. They fast growing and will cover rock fairly quickly. They can become overwhelming and hard to remove/control.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By joschend0325
Jan 31, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Great first addition

Comments I purchased a live rock for my tank that had a small patch of polyps on it. I was really happy, since my tank had finished cycling the previous month, and I was getting these as an added bonus. They have done very well in my tank, and seem to be very easy to care for. I have them in a low to moderate flow area of the tank, and they have grown quite a bit. They also do very well in moderate light. I think they are very pretty to look at, and enjoy seeing them move in the flow of the water. I would definitely recommend these to someone that is just starting out.


Liked about it I liked the fact that they are very easy to care for. They are an ideal coral for someone that doesn't have really bright light, and seem to do well in a variety of light. They are very pretty corals that aren't too expensive.


Didn't like There was really nothing that I don't like about these corals. I have been very pleased with them, and am glad that they are doing so well.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By kjmader
Nov 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Great color! A favorite!

Comments The green star polyps are one of my wife's favorite corals. They were one of the first that we bought because she liked the colors. We have them in our 10 gallon nano tank full of softies. The green really glows under our PC lighting. They have grown quick, but aren't taking over like most people say they will. We had them in our DT at first, but moved them to my wife's tank. The polyps that had spread to the DT rock were easy to get off with a razor blade, so if you had a problem with them taking over all you would need to do is razor around the edges to keep them from spreading.


Liked about it Very pretty colors that glow under our PC lighting. We like that the have obviously spread, but have not taken over like we were told they might do. Very easy coral to take care of since they do not require spot feeding. We have not noticed them to bother any of our other corals, and nothing has bothered them either. Like I said before, this is my wifes favorite coral.


Didn't like We don't really have any complaints about this coral. We moved it from our DT because I didn't want a lot of softies in there and don't want it to eventually completely cover rock in the DT. It looks much better in our nano tank and we would love for it to get bigger and spread in there!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By andbob25
Apr 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Can't stop them from growing!!:)

Comments These are extremely easy easy corals to care for because they adapt to a wide range of current, light and water parameters. Once acclimated they grow like crazy. They don't require any special feedings, they are photosynthetic which means they use the light to make zooxantellae algae inside of their polyps.

To acclimate, you only need to float the bag in your tank water for about 15 minutes, then add a few cup fuls of water every 10-15 minutes. No drip acclimation necassary for these hardy softies.

They are extremely peaceful but are very invasive. I personally like them because of their popping color and their beautiful swaying that occurs in the current of the water. Also they weren't limited by my tank size, often I can't keep corals because they may out grown my tank vertically, but these polyps thrive in nano tanks.


Liked about it I loved the awsome color and characteristics of these corals. They grow fast and don't require any special care.


Didn't like I didn't like that they may not open over a period of a few days. They play dead sometimes, but they are usually fine and will open up after a few days...


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By berger9953
Mar 27, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

GSP

Comments GSP is a colorful coral that adds to any tank and can usually be found fairly cheap.


Liked about it Its easy to frag and a fast growing coral that is beautiful when open.


Didn't like sometimes this coral can spread to fast and smother other corals.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By hunterfreeman1
Mar 09, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

grass that wont stop growing

Comments This thing grows fast. Fast as you will see it spread within a week. When I got my piece it had attached to a small stick. I laid it down on a piece of live rock. One week later it had already attached itself. The other great thing about this coral is that you can frag off minute piece and watch them grown. The only problem is that it can definitely out-compete hard corals, and could even grow over zooanthids. Overall this is a great coral.


Liked about it -good beginner coral due to its toughness
-nice color
-fast growth


Didn't like -has to be kept under control to prevent it from covering other coral
-picky when it comes down to placement


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Feb 17, 2010
 
Last updated: June 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

A VERY easy coral to keep !

Comments This is probably the easist coral to keep. It will thrive under a wide range of lighting and flow rates. It is a very fast grower and very easy to frag. The coral will grow the fastest when under a strong current.


Liked about it 1. Very easy to keep. No special diet or care needed.
2. Bright colors.
3. Easy too frag.


Didn't like The only thing I don't like is that it will overtake an area very quickly and become a problem for other corals in the immediate area.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Mark_Winn
Feb 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Can Grow 'Em In The Toilet

Comments You gotta watch these little boogers because they'll get invasive on ya'! Very easy to care for but must be isolated from rocks that you have your other corals on. I typically just frag these off for free to local buddies that stop at the house for a beer.


Liked about it Easy to care for and fill in dead spots in the tank. Hardy as heck and will grow under "just about" any lighting conditions... hence my colorful Review Title. :) They give a "grassy" look to the tank, too.


Didn't like Grow faster than I'd like so they have to be isolated in the tank.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By flipside
Feb 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Great Coral. Easy to maintain

Comments This Coral is awesome, especially for beginners. Just stick some in your tank with some light and current and watch it take over an entire rock. Just make sure you keep it in check. Its probably an idea to not put it with your main rock work.


Liked about it Grows very fast
Looks great under actinics
easy to break off and frag


Didn't like Can become annoying if it overstepps its boundaries
It is not as eye catching as a lot of other corals
Very Common


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Augy
Jan 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

A Nice Addition

Comments Acclimation for this piece is a snap, Set the coral in a good flow area with nice light and they grow like crazy, they have a nice color, are hardy, and tolerate mild tank swing with forgiveness.


Liked about it easy feeder, hardy, tolerant of tank swing.


Didn't like If not kept in check they can invade into areas you don't want them.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By fchidsey
Nov 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

A friendly colorful encrusting coral.

Comments Super easy to take care of, just make sure that the water flow and lighting requirements are met, low to medium for both criteria. It grows fairly fast and if given the correct nutrients through your salt or supplements can pick up a nice green or yellow color. It is an encrusting like coral, if you have a small plug place it on a large rock and eventually it will take over the entire piece. No problems with coexistence, but it does need some space between it and other corals due to it taking over it's area. I feed mine plankton only. Tank size is not important. I have never had any problems with


Liked about it Fast growing, I have made many frags to trade. It is easy to frag by prying it off of the live rock or breaking off a piece of live rock. Adds to the look of your tank with it's swaying polyps.


Didn't like Can invade areas that you do not want it to. Not a coral that you can get a significant amount of money for in trading/selling, can lose color with incorrect supplement use or poor lighting.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jschulzpt
Jul 18, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Great Coral but be warned..

General Great coral when put in the right conditions and can truly add a lot of personality to the tank.


Liked about it When open it is a beautiful green and catches the eye in an aquarium. They are relatively hardy so it is a good beginner coral.


Didn't like Be warned that if they do not receive enough flow, detritus becomes embedded in the mat and they will stop opening. I learned this the hard way. Mine died after i tried scrubbing the detritus off the mat with a soft tooth brush. So be warned and avoid this situation by making sure there is enough flow over them.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Rapidfire143
Jul 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Star polyps

General Star polyps was one of the first corals I bought and after taking them home I forgot why and this is because once disturbed they can hide inside their purple matt for a day at least. Once they emerge they create a waving matt of green which look amazing under actinics and look like pyschedelic garden grass. Star polyps grow slow but do grow and if the rock you have is touching another before you know it you have a new rock ready to trade with your lfs. They can however sting weaker corals and my clove polyps know this only too well. At the moment mine are no where near weed proportions but my lfs has to trim his of the back of his tank every so often. For the cost they provide a great effect and are well worth the money.


Liked about it Colour under actinics.
Growth rate/fraggability
Bang per buck


Didn't like Stinging
Growth rate/ invasive


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By bulletmagnet1337
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

easy coral, but can be invasive

Comments a great start coral, GSP can provide a lot of color and even movement in a tank. however, it should be isolated or aggressively pruned to keep from smothering other corals, which it does as well as anything. I kept this for years, but I usually stick in on glass or on an island rock so that it can't overgrow other corals in my tank. I've seen it completely cover entire aquariums before.


Liked about it very attractive coral that gets a lot of attention, it's quick to grow and easy to frag to share with fellow hobbyists.


Didn't like The biggest complaint about star polyps is simply that they can become invasive given the right parameters. They grow quickly and in all kinds of tank conditions, so don't put them anywhere you don't want them.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
May 05, 2009
 
Last updated: May 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Great beginner coral

General A Must for beginner hobbyists. Does not require much care. It would definitely stand out in your tank.


Liked about it Very nice looking coral. It would glow in the dark or under actinic blue light or led light. It doesn't require tons of light but it would grow much more faster under a higher light intensity. Make sure to keep it under medium flow, it would close under high flow. Don't worry if it doesnt open up fow a while after you put it in your tank, mine closed for 2 days until it decided to open. It's a very hardy coral. One of the fastest growing corals.


Didn't like Growing too fast can be a pain in the neck in term of fragging and take up space of your tank. Make sure to keep it away from other corals, even though it's a very gentle looking coral, it's very dangerous and can kill anything within its reach.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By umakemekissu
Apr 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

GSP

Comments I started out with two small pieces of it about a year ago, and now it has taken over a huge rock! It looks really cool and add lots of movement to the tank. However, I am worried that it will creep up on my acro in the next couple of months. I guess that is what fragging is for.


Liked about it 1. Great color
2. Adds movement
3. Cheap


Didn't like 1. I tried fragging it and it wasn't as easy as it was made out to be.
2. Can be invasive.
3.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr. Fishy Man
Aug 30, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Very Fast Grower!

Comments I bought a small size frag of these star polyps and let me say they really do grow quick and are very hardy. I drip acclimated mine for about 2 hrs and when I put them in the tank they started to open within the hour. They are very hardy and don't require much maintenance and do not require high output lighting. This coral can very easily grow out of control if not maintained or kept to a separate rock from all the other rocks, or you can just leave them on your substrate.They also don't require a lot of flow and can be placed basically anywhere in the tank. They have a nice neon green color and make the tank look like it has a grass field growing.


Liked about it Very easy coral
Low light
fast growth


Didn't like Can overtake a tank


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.5

By jamesbooth66
Feb 25, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Great Beginner Coral

Comments This is one of the more hardy corals for beginners. It grows amazingly well and is not affected by a lot of changes in the water. Good colors and grows very fast.


Liked about it Not very expensive, grows very fast, not too light dependent.


Didn't like Sometimes will overcrowd other corals.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ReefClown91
Apr 10, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Nice starter coral

Comments Excellent beginner coral. Care must be take to curb growth. Easily propagated for trade or SC. Nice wavey action if in light current. Most either love it or hate it. Some will have it in every tank they ever set up. Some will tell you the regret ever putting it in their tank.


Liked about it Fills in areas nicely.
Excellent growth.


Didn't like Can be invasive to the point of taking over. Can be hard to remove or quickly grow on pieces you don't want to remove.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By sks4613
Oct 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Star Polyps

Comments Star Polyps are a great addition to any hobbyists aquarium as they are very easy to care for simply needing proper lighting and water flow. One should take care when placing Star Polyps within ones aquarium as they grow extremely fast and with proper water conditions.


Liked about it Easy to propagate


Didn't like It will spread like a wild fire if you don't keep it contained


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By scubasteve3610
Oct 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Great beginner coral

Comments this coral grows very quick and pretty easy to maintain, put it in very low flow so the polyps can open because the slightest amount of flow just makes it look like weeds


Liked about it grows really quick
nice looking
can be fragged really easily


Didn't like afraid it will take over


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By quader94
Aug 03, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

I love them

Comments Easy to keep and fast growing


Liked about it Fast growing. Fills spots and grows on glass. Great movement.


Didn't like Some colors are brighter than others


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By EndlessSummer
Jul 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Worth money

Comments Very easy to care for requires nothing but light and decent flow.


Liked about it Adds nice color and nice wavy polyps.


Didn't like So far nothing, getting scared it will start taking over like all the horror stories I'm hearing:)


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By cutietwo
Jul 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Great Cover

Comments Easy to care for and not aggressive.


Liked about it I like that it grows and covers a good area. It is easy to care for and provides a nice bright green.


Didn't like Have to keep it maintained in one area. This could over grow other inhabitants.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By TheReefer12
Jul 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Great starter coral

Comments Very Easy to care for. It grows quickly and can overtake other corals. It can pulse slightly and really be quite attractive. If it did not grow so fast and be so common people would brag about this coral. It can be a job keeping it trimmed. I removed all of it from my system due to this fact but was able to trade it.


Liked about it It requires little special care.
It grows fast.
Handles nearly any amount of fragging


Didn't like Can be invasive.
The mats can sometimes be thin and come apart when attaching frags.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By jenglish
Jul 19, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Easy, colorful coral...

General Easy beginner coral...


Liked about it Colorful, easy to maintain, grow quickly.


Didn't like Can kill other corals if allowed to grow over them.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Big D
Jul 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Good starter coral

General I love the way it looks and it is easy to take care for just made sure it had some good flow


Liked about it Can be found it some different colors and also can spread without much work from the reefer


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By zero186
Jul 15, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

A very nice addition to any tank.

Comments Green Star Polyps are always s a great coral. Great for beginners as well as advanced reef keepers. They often mat out very quickly so it's a good idea to keep them isolated so the do not take over your tank. They have a vibrant green polyp that really pops under actinics!


Liked about it Colorful
Fast grower
Easy to frag and trade
They have a great look in a tank with lots of flow.


Didn't like They they spread like weeds and can take over.
The color can vary a lot from one to another.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
Jul 14, 2009
 
Last updated: May 20, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Nice starter coral

General Does become bothered pretty easy, at least my colony does, looks nice under actinics.


Liked about it Easy to care for, and looks great


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By swnoobie
Jul 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Go Go Polyps

General i love this coral. it is easy to care for, because it doesn't need a targeted feeding. some people say it "takes over" your tank, but i guess that could happen over time, but it's not like you're gonna wake up in the morning and your tank is bulging with GSP. i bought it because it is hardy and so would be a good beginner coral. i'd recommend to anyone starting a reef tank.


Liked about it Hardy, easy splash of color


Didn't like people giving me warnings about it "taking over" my tank


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Salty O'Shen
Jun 19, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

great for beginners

General GSP is very beginner friendly, it is extremely easy to grow. I love the look of it in current, like a field of grass blowing in the wind. Under actinics GSP is simply beautiful, a neon green color.

Be careful what it touches though, this stuff spreads like crazy, luckily it is easily removed by peeling it off rock.

Try getting it to grow on the back glass of your tank, it looks great as a carpet of GSP on the back wall.


Liked about it very easy to grow
pretty


Didn't like can become a weed


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Kyuss
Jun 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

GSP Weed

General It is so hardy if you are not careful you'll have it over run your tank. It is really easy to frag.


Liked about it VERY HARDY!


Didn't like VERY HARDY!


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Beautiful coral

General I have always had this in my tank and I love it to death. It grows like a weed and it very hardy.


Liked about it Love the color and the amount of growth in a short period of time.


Didn't like that it takes over a tank quickly.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By winnker
Jun 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Good beginner coral

General This is good coral for beginners, just be careful it doesn't consume your tank. Regular attention and pruning is a must. Do NOT let it grow on checked as you will be sorry.


Liked about it Great green coloration.


Didn't like Grows like kudzu and would survive a nuclear blast.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By drdude05
Jun 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Gsp

General A great starter coral but beware it will take over the tank if you let it when you wont to control it frag it out to people


Liked about it This is a great an easy coral to care for. It grows like a weed an will cover rocks . it a easy coral to frag out an share in no time


Didn't like If not careful will take over area of tank, aggressive coral


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By clowninaround
Jun 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Thoughts on Green Star Polyps

General Great starter coral with low light needs. Looks great under actinic lighting. They sway with the current of the reef. Fragging of Green Star Polyps requires a shard blade of some sort and cutting desired amount from the mat.


Liked about it Looks great under actinics!


Didn't like Can spread like a wild fire!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dragonist
Jun 04, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

GSP

General GSP should be managed and if at all possible kept seperate from the main live rock- I have it growing on the back wall of my nano cube and love the effect


Liked about it Very easy to care for - very forgiving for a beginner


Didn't like Can be moody - which can be stressful at first- very invasive coral will quickly overtake a tank if allowed


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dobejazz
Apr 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Usually easy, sometimes too easy!

General if it all ever dies on me, i would buy it again


Liked about it easy care, bright green color, nice waving motion in moving water, easy to frag and share, good for building beginner confidence, is outgrowing (is encrusting on top of)my bubble algae, is good for filling in bare patches or for mounting on odd shaped rock (like tonga branch), can usually be traded in for store credit or other things at LFS.


Didn't like can overtake slow growing corals, just watch it closely and prepare to rescue your favorites from it if necessary or it will simply smother them.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By icebear
Mar 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $78
Compare Prices
at 17 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec345