Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.4 (14)
 Add a review

Red / Pink Ricordea

 
Pet Supplies:Aquarium & Fish:Coral:Other


Price: $3 to $3 at 1 stores
Searched Red / Pink Ricordea in Reviews
 

 

A bit too flimsey featured

Comments A friend of my Dad's has these ricordeas growing like crazy in his tank, so he pulled one out and passed it on. I loved it right away. It was really pretty and looked great when it fulled expanded on my sand bed. However within hours it had been grabbed by the current and swept to the back. For weeks I struggled with it, trying to keep it in a place where I could see it that the current wouldn't sweep it away. I dont have any supplemental water flow other than the flow from my filters. I finallt gave up and let it be where it wanted. It shriveled up to half the size and never fully espanded again. Last week my water change swept the ricordea into my plate coral, which is pretty aggresive and puts a good hurt on anything in reach. My ricordea shrunk up to the size of a marble and died.


Liked about it -beautiful colors
-excellent shape and texture


Didn't like -very flimsey and tough to get it to attach and stay in one place
-too delicate to be kept with any aggressive corals anywhere in the tank
-tends to favor the back of the tank where you cant see it


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By MayFields
Jul 07, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $3
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Easy to keep but a little expensive featured

Comments This is my wife's favorite coral and we're currently building a "ricordea garden" out of all the various colors that recordea come in.

This is an easy coral to keep with very little required in its care. They don't need to be fed, but will catch what they can of the food you drop in the tank. Mine will even grab onto flake food as well as brine shrimp.

Colors come out best in brighter lighting, but the aquarist must be careful not to make it too bright. Ricordea do not like heavy flow but also do not do well with too little. As they are disk shaped they can collect detritus, so provide just enough flow to keep them clear of this.

Do not confuse the Ricordea Florida with the Ricordea Yuma. Care is essentially the same between them, but they do not look the same or cost the same.

Speaking of cost, the title states that these corals are "a little expensive" and that can be a personal judgment, for you they may not be. A single polyp will run anywhere from $14 - $120 depending on the color-morph with the more rare colors costing more. I personally have not paid more than $24 a head and have gotten some vary nice specimens.

These corals propagate themselves quite readily in the aquarium. You will notice a second mouth appear on the coral and shortly afterward the coral divides in half to form two corals (longitudinal fission) but also reproduce by budding.

Ricordea are not aggressive corals and seem to be able to grow right next to zoanthus and protopalythoa (button polyps).

Because the price is a lot higher than many other mushroom corals I would not recommend these for the beginner. Get your feet wet on more affordable mushrooms that cost $24 for a rock full of them rather than per head.


Liked about it 1. Colorful
2. Hardy
3. Reproduces readily


Didn't like 1. Difficult to mount loose heads sometimes as they slime up when pulled from the water.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Jun 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $3
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Alas, alas, alas--I have not done well with these!

Comments I have found this pink and blue recordia extremely frustrating! We have had it for 3 years or more, and it looks exactly like we got it. One head and that is it. In this 120 gal aquarium that has high lights, low lights, fast water, slow water--it just does nothing?! We had bought a rock with 4 ricordia on it, and they have just about diaappeared. I have moved that rock 20 times trying to make these guys happy.


Liked about it I would love to have a little ricordia garden. Sounds great to me. And I do love them so--I mean they are so beautiful--but I am at a loss as to what I am doing wrong.


Didn't like I like it--it just doesn't like me. It is like it is saying to me "Get me out of here -- You are killing me. But alas I have not been able to help it.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By juicyfruits
Dec 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $3
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Simple to keep.

Comments I love Ricordea Florida. They are very easy to keep and ken be kept in just about any aquarium The can be kept in a wide variety of condition from low flow low light to very high flow high light. The will split off and grow in to a large colony in a very quick time. This is a great corals because they split rather quickly and you can take the new shrooms and trade them or sell them for more coral. With it's vibrant color and easy to care for this is a great coral for just about any tank.

These mushrooms can and will sting other corals and may actually detach from the rocks float around and then find a new home. If you do not want them all over do not get any of these.


Liked about it Super coloful
They split often
Very each to keep.


Didn't like They can over a tank quickly and may sting other corals.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $3
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great coral to add!

Comments This is our first Ricordea and a very pretty one at that! We bought it about a month and a half ago with two heads. It still has two heads and does not look like it is going to split yet. I will say that we have had a hard time keeping it in one spot. We tried to glue it on a frag and place it, but it moved off the frag. It took a few days of moving around, but it finally found a place that it seems to like. It never attached to the rock though, so we moved it to our pico and are hoping to have better luck with it settling down. It is not aggressive to any other corals and doesn't require feedings, so it is an easy coral to keep.


Liked about it Great colors and a great addition for any size tank. Easy to care for and doesn't grow too fast. I like that it comes in many other colors so I can get a variety if I want to. Tolerates high and low lighting, but not too much flow.


Didn't like Didn't want to stay in one place when first added to tank.
Isn't growing fast at all.
Won't stay glued to a frag for placement.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By andbob25
Apr 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $3
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Ricordea

Comments Recordia mushrooms are amazing and have always been one of my favorites. The are prefect for the person who is just starting out. The are very hard, require minimal lighting and can be propagated very easily. They come in several color combinations


Liked about it Brilliant colors
Spread quickly
Easy to care for
Unique structure


Didn't like I wish they cost less because I would own several more


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By scubasteve3610
Jan 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $3
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

great color, unique look

Comments I love my first Ricordea. This is a very colorful addition to my tank...it really has a great look too. I get regular compliments on this from visitors who view my tank. I have mine on the bottom of my tank under 4 x 54w T5HO in a 55g long tank. mine had grown pretty quickly, nearly doubling in size in 3 weeks, granted it was only an inch wide when i got it. seems to be very hardy, although i keep my tank in good shape, but it did tolerate a spike to 40 ppm in nitrates when my urchin decided to spawn 3 times in a week


Liked about it Colors, hardiness, flexibility with lighting


Didn't like no complaints


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Salty O'Shen
Oct 03, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $3
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great addition.

Comments I bought 1 of these about a year ago. When I saw it in person I just thought it was amazing. It really stands out in my tank and always gets a lot of attention when people see it for the first time. The best part is that it wasn't very expensive and has split several times already. Usually very bright and colorful corals are expensive, so its nice to be able to get a beautiful piece for a reasonable price. This is a great coral for people who are new to the hobby since its fairly easy to take care of.


Liked about it It was a fair price for a beautiful piece. It has split several times in a short time frame. And I really like looking at it with just the actinics on.


Didn't like It was a little tough to get it to attach to the rock, because it would get blown away. But I just put it on a pile of rubble in a low flow area and it attached in a day or two.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Sep 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $3
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

ricordias

General Ricordias look amazing and the first time I saw them I remember thinknig they looked like metallic button badges. I bought 2 one was orange and the second blue. The orange one has grown very well since I have had it however the blue one has shrank and looks no where near as good. This is strange due to the fact that they are both in exactly the same spot just a cm apart, same flow same light. The orange reacts fast to food and the blue does not, Im not sure if its a colour thing and different colours need different light but on the whole they are great corals and I cant wait till I have a rock filled with them. Buy one attached to a little bit of rock and save yourself hassle.


Liked about it Colours.
Size.


Didn't like Price in UK.
Different results for different ricordia floridas.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By bulletmagnet1337
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $3
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Beautiful Ricordea

Comments This would have to be one of my favorite corals. It is pretty hardy, requires moderate light, and looks very unique and has beautiful coloration. Ricordeas grow pretty fast if given the right conditions. I keep them away from other corals because they move sometimes. Mine will catch pieces of flake food and mysis shrimp. They pretty much take care of themselves in the tank.


Liked about it Very nice coloration, hardy, easy care.


Didn't like Can get expensive with unique color variations.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fishoutofwater25
Nov 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $3
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great centerpiec for a beginer tank

Comments Easy to take care of. Like the water a little slow flowing and dirty. It does not handle bright light well but will find shade


Liked about it Beautiful color.
Tolerant of water conditions that are less than perfect.
Does not seem to harm neighbors.
Less likely to be invasive like other shrooms


Didn't like Grows much slower than other mushrooms


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jenglish
Aug 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $3
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Very nice mushrooms...

Comments Ricordia Mushrooms have long been a favorite of avid reef hobbyists. They generally have very unique, bright color patterns as well as a unique structure. Rics can be difficult to keep in higher flow/lighting tanks. They tend to do better with lower flow and lighting levels. They will multiply when they are happy and can cover a rock fairly quickly.


Liked about it Incredible colors, unique looking structure, fast growers.


Didn't like Can be difficult to keep in cleaner, high flow SPS systems.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Big D
Jul 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $3
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Ricordeas are awesome

General I am a ric junkie, my goal is to create a waterfall of ricordeas starting at the top of my rock formations and flowing down to the substrate. They grow well under most lighting, and offer a huge variety of color and texture to your tank. I recommend finding a bulk seller on ebay to get jump started. You will save $$$ and get a nice amount to start your addiction with


Liked about it beautiful coral
easy to care for
fairly inexpensive


Didn't like I wish I had more


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Kyuss
Jun 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $3
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Very colorful mushroom

General overall it's a pretty ricordia. great for beginner level hobbyists. due to its size and its flexiblity, it can be used as a patch for any small area or weird shape rocks that other corals can't be placed.


Liked about it it has a bright and pretty pinkish color, an eye catching species. very hardy, doesnt require high light or high flow.


Didn't like hard to keep it stay in put on rock because it would float with the presence of high flow, so make sure to keep it under low or medium flow.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By umakemekissu
Apr 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $3
Compare Prices
at 1 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec345