Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.7 (10)
 Add a review

Red Mushrooms

 
Pet Supplies:Aquarium & Fish:Coral:Other


Price: $13 to $28 at 2 stores
Searched Red Mushrooms in Reviews
 

 

Add a splash of color with this easy to keep beginner coral featured

Comments This is an easy coral to keep with very little required in its care. They don't need to be fed, but will catch what they can of the food you drop in the tank. Mine will even grab onto flake food as well as brine shrimp.

The aquarist must be careful not to place in too bright of light as mushrooms do not like bright light. I would put them in the moderate light category.

Mushrooms do not like heavy flow but also do not do well with too little. As they are disk shaped they can collect detritus, so provide just enough flow to keep them clear of this but not so much that they produce an excess of mucus.

Care is essentially the same between the various color morphs, with some morphs requiring more or less light. In my experience my red mushrooms like less light and do better nearer the bottom of the tank, the blue like more and do better toward the middle. There are very few mushrooms I would put near the top.

These corals propagate themselves quite readily in the aquarium. You will notice a second mouth appear on the coral and shortly afterward the coral divides in half to form two corals (longitudinal fission) but also reproduce by budding.

Mushrooms are not aggressive corals and seem to be able to grow right next to zoanthus and protopalythoa (button polyps).


Liked about it 1. Colorful
2. Hardy
3. Reproduces readily


Didn't like 1. Difficult to mount loose heads sometimes as they slime up when pulled from the water.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Aug 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $28
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Adds abit of color

Comments very peaceful and easy to take care of. grows very fast in a month i had 7 new mushrooms. they don't like to much light and not require much mainatance. they'll grow where most corals would which makes them ideal for shaded bare spots in the tank. Mine love slow moving water and less light to thrive.


Liked about it fast growing, leaves the tank with alot of color, easy to frag. not aggressive if it touches other corals. wonderful to watch them grow and sprend threw out the tank.


Didn't like they grow pretty fast and can crowed out other corals if not maintained. doesn't like current or much light.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By aquatic-marine
Aug 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $28
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

great starter coral

Comments non aggressive but they will multiply quickly. when i got one i was told to give them a rock that they can take over and they have. they moved around a little at first but found an appropriate home and seem happy. one picked a little higher flow area than the other but both open fully. they don't require any target feeding and rely mostly on good lighting for food. pretty hardy and easy to tell if they are stressed. great starter coral


Liked about it adds color and they are fairly inexpensive. do well in a variety of conditions and mulitply quickly but are easily removed and fragged


Didn't like sometimes they will walk out of sight


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By alcorn128
Mar 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $28
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great beginner mushroom and very easy to frag!

Comments Very easy to care for and I don;t do anything to mine other then provide the light for them. They are not aggressive at all and they grow pretty fast but nothing that is eye popping. The have a tendency in my tank to "multiply" rather quickly. I had them in a higher flow area in my tank and they would barely came open. I then moved them to a medium flow area and they would open all the way but they soon broke off and went into the lower area of the tank between rocks where the flow is pretty mild. All mine are in a 12g nano and seem very happy.


Liked about it Easy to care for.
Easy to propagate.
Add a touch of color to the tank other then purple.
Mine do fine under CF lighting.


Didn't like Mine have a tendency to move to areas that are out of the way and make them not too easy to view but if they are happy then I am happy.

I have not experienced this problem but like it was mentioned before I caould easily see them taking over the tank with the good lighting and a medium flow.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bb0029
Mar 08, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $28
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Red Mushrooms

Comments Red mushrooms are prefect for the person who is just starting out with coral. The are very hard, require minimal lighting and can be propagated very easily.



Liked about it The have a nice color
Spread quickly
Easy to care for


Didn't like I have no dislikes


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By scubasteve3610
Jan 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $28
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Simple coral; great choice for beginners

Comments A good coral that tolerates low lights (such as compact fluorescents), a great beginner coral. As with most mushrooms, these are hardy to poorer water conditions and add a lot of color that many other softies lack (particularly leathers). The one complaint I've had in keeping these over the years is that, if left unchecked, they can overwhelm a tank, stealing space from other corals you may want to keep.


Liked about it Adds some color to the tank, hardy coral, not overly aggressive. These mushrooms are pretty easy to keep and propagate readily, making them easy to frag and share with fellow hobbyists.


Didn't like They don't tolerate a lot of flow, and in proper conditions they can over-run a tank and become a nuisance. As a result, they may compete with other corals, but I generally found these mushrooms don't do a lot of damage to other corals.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $28
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great Beginner Coral

Comments The red mushroom was my second coral. They are very easy to care for and they do not like high light of high flow. Mine has a nice little spot in the bottom of the tank with low light and low flow. You have to take care in not placing this coral near other corals as it may sting them. They spread quickly if given the right conditions. Mine seems to catch any food that the fish dont eat.


Liked about it Beautiful Coloration, Easy to care for, Inexpensive


Didn't like May sting other corals


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fishoutofwater25
Nov 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $28
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Add nice color

Comments Easy to care for and not aggressive. So far I only have one (bought as a frag) and have had a week or so. Not active but opens beautifully.


Liked about it Nice color and it takes care of itself.


Didn't like nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By cutietwo
Jul 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $28
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Easy coral

General I have them all over my rocks in the back and they just spread like weeds and are very hardy and don't require any care just light and let them go


Liked about it Easy to take care of
Nice color
Spreads without the reefers help


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By zero186
Jul 15, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $28
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

easy shroom for the beginner

General A very easy beginner softie, these shrooms have a nice bright red to rust color. They spread quickly and are easily propagated. I have them covering the back wall of one my aquariums.


Liked about it Easy to care for
Nice color
Grow fast and spread quickly


Didn't like What's not to like


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Kyuss
Jun 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $28
Compare Prices
at 2 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec345