Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.7 (11)
 Add a review

Hairy Mushrooms

 
Green Hairy Mushroom, Actinodiscus sp., is a hardy coral choice that will thrive in most aquarium conditions. Also known as the Hairy...


Price: $13 to $13 at 1 stores
Searched Hairy Mushrooms in Reviews
 

 

Good Begginer

Comments This is a great begginer coral. They are a fairly hardy coral and can survive in less than adequate water conditions. The greeen ones have an almost flourescent color to them. Tehy are nonaggressive and can coexist with most reef safe fish. Clowns have been know to take to them like an anemone.


Liked about it Very easy coral to acclimate and keep. It is a great coral to watch in the mornings when it expands back out.


Didn't like Can grow fairly large and take ovr a tank. This is not because it is aggressive but because it blocks out the light for smaller corals.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By joschend0325
Jan 31, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Interesting mushroom...

Comments These are a nice addition to any tank. Very easy to care for and seem to do well in less than perfect water conditions. When the light kick on in my tank it really enlarges and adds lots of life to the reef tank. Does not require a lot of lighting so it is a good beginner coral.


Liked about it Not incredibly expensive to purchase. Beginners can purchase this coral without the worry of killing it off quickly, it is very hardy. Grows quickly.


Didn't like So far for me I have not seen anything that I do not like about it.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By deanp88
Jun 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great starter coral with a beautiful look!

Comments I love these things. I got 2 a few months ago and they multiply incredibly fast. I already have 10 and they add so much movement and beauty to my tank.


Liked about it They get pretty large very fast, as well as splitting equally as fast. They also glow like lightbulbs under good actinic bulbs. These are also great if you can't keep an anemone, as most clowns will host them.


Didn't like The only thing I can complain about with these is that sometimes they multiply TOO fast... They will sting other corals around them causing a big problem, so just watch their growth.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Reeftanker3295
May 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

hairy mushroom,,,grows fast

Comments i have 4 hairy mushrooms i got on live rock i have in my tank,,,,,,,when i got them they were unhealthy and damaged,,,,, within a week they had healed and are now are growing really fast,,,,,,,,,,a great thing about them is they are really hardy and easy to keep ,,,,, they dont need strong lighting or great water quality they grow super fast so gice them space when putting somewhere,,,,,,my favourite thing about them is my clowns host in them(my tank does not have enough light for an anemone )


Liked about it my clowns host in them which is great
does not need good water quality or lighting
great beginner coral and really hardy


Didn't like grow realllly fast!!!!


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Clownfish can't
May 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Fuzzy Mushrooms grow like weeds!

Comments I put one rock of sweet fuzzy mushrooms in my reef, and today I have them (nicely) all over the tank. They are lovely to watch in the current, require only average lighting (I have T5s) and no special food to thrive. The fish do not like to eat them ( a miracle with angelfish) but they can be a treat for larger hermit crabs. The only thing aggressive about the shrooms is their rate of growth, they will take over other slow growing corals. They do not sting, they just overwhelm anything in their way, so be sure to give them plenty of room.


Liked about it These are great beginner corals that look like a dream. They are also good for applications like mine, which began as FOWLR and progressed to reef with corals that were hardy, undemanding and not a tasty treat for the angels.


Didn't like Hermit crabs do like to eat them, but I guess that is not their fault ;-)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By vaberinger
Mar 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

beautiful, fast growing coral

Comments A really good friend of mine gave me a frag of this coral, in about 3 months it grew about twice its size. It is the perfect addition to any size take and with almost every lighting option. It has a lovely green color and is not that aggressive in a reef tank. I would recommend this coral to anyone who wants to increase there reef's beauty


Liked about it 1.color
2.fast grower
3.waves in the flow


Didn't like nothing!!!


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By turtlesoup23
Mar 17, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Good Starter Coral

Comments Hardy does not need pristine water parameters to survive.
Lower light requirements, does not need MH bulbs to grow.
With T5 bulbs can grow at moderate rate 1-1.5" per year.


Liked about it Easy to care for.


Didn't like Over time can cover your live rock


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By depitch
Oct 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Best mushroom!

General These mushrooms are AWESOME. I have fragged mine at least 5 times in the last three months. They grow quick, and they are gorgeous to look at. Buy one, and before you know it you have two.


Liked about it Great coloration
Fast grower
Fun to watch eat
Frags easy


Didn't like Sometimes blends in with rock.
Hard to attach initially, may take lower flow to let it attach.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fihsboy
Jul 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

A very nice addition to any tank.

General These mushrooms are a great addition to any tank. They have so much more "character" than other simple mushrooms and almost have the look of Ricordea. Some people have even thought they were an anemone in my tank.
They are fast growers so if you do not want them taking over isolate them in your tank.


Liked about it Very colorful
My clowns even host them
Fast growers
Easy to keep


Didn't like There a mushroom and I'm an SPS guy :)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
Jul 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Neat Looking

General Easy to care for. Really funky looking. I have 1 and he's 4" across. (Not be confused with the Ricordia.)


Liked about it Huge variety to choose from.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By reefer.madness
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Super simple

General I bought a rock with 5 small hairy mushrooms in hopes that my Clown fish would host them. I have read that false percula's would possibly host them, not in this case. In any event, they are very easy to maintain and in the last few months, the mushrooms have more than doubled in size.


Liked about it Inexpensive
super easy to care for


Didn't like A little boring


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Mr.Peanut
May 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $13 to $13
Compare Prices
at 1 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec345