Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.5 (15)
 Add a review

Colt Coral Featured

 
Cladiella corals are one of the easiest corals for beginners. They adapt to most lighting and flow conditions but do best with medium to high light and medium to high flow. They rely mainly on the symbiotic algae in...


Price: $69 to $99 at 13 stores
Searched Colt Coral in Reviews
 

 

One of my favorite leather corals for a mid-sized tank featured

Comments Because this is a semi-aggressive coral I don't recommend it for beginners. Until an aquarist understands how corals interact with one another it's best to stick with non-aggressive species in my opinion. Also, this is a fast growing species that needs plenty of room, so that knowledge will be needed quickly. They are particularly aggressive toward other leathers and the so-called toadstool corals and will win the war.

That said, it is an easy to keep coral that doesn't require much effort on the part of the aquarist to keep alive. It's one of my favorite leathers in terms of how it looks and moves in the current.

I have never had to feed mine. They have Zooxanthellae in their tissue and in my experience this and what they grab out of the water column is enough to provide for their energy needs.

I have found they do well in bright light but will still grow with slightly less. They need a strong flow in the tank, nothing directly on them, but enough to move the water through their branches to the point where you should see a slight swaying but not a hurricane-like bending over or a whipping.

I've read time and time again that they need an addition of trace elements, iodine, and strontium, but I've never added these things to my tank as a supplement, generally what's in the salt and the water added back in during water changes is plenty. Perhaps if you did more frequent changes or had numerous corals that used these elements you would have to use one of the Kent additives.

These corals are easy to propagate, just cut off a piece and stick it on a rock somehow, that's pretty much it.


Liked about it 1. Easy to keep, hardy coral.
2. Attractive looking.
3. Branches provide homes for infauna and fish to hide.


Didn't like 1. Semi-aggressive coral.
2. Requires room and gets large and grows quickly.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $69 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Great coral for newer reef aquarium owners!

Comments I loved having my colt coral in my tank. The coral is very easy to take care of and does not require a lot of special needs. I had it in my 55 gal reef and it flourished. I noticed that mine grew very fast. Right now it is as big as a milk jug. As far as feeding i spot feed him every other day with mysis and brine shrimp. It will also catch small particles of food when i normally feed the fish. It is housed with Xenia and frogspawn corals as well as a few leathers. The coral is very active. always opened up as soon as the lights come on. it flow's really well in the current to. This coral is really worth the money I spent for it. MY lights consist of 4 54w T5HO bulbs.


Liked about it I loved how it was always open and was always flowing in the current.
It is really easy to take care of and very fast growing.
It has nice colors and a great addition to any tank.


Didn't like None


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Bobby89
Sep 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $69 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

A great beginner coral that grows very quick.

Comments I lived my colt coral. I actually had one that was purple. They can grow in just about any condition and will grow very fast. From low flow low light to high flow high light these corals are very hardy. These do actually prefer the water to be a little dirty. They reproduce by simply dropping off a limb that quickly attaches and grows a new coral. This coral can be placed just about anywhere in the tank and will not harm any other coral.


Liked about it Super easy to keep and care for
They are very fast grower and will spread quickly.
These are friendly and will not sting anything.


Didn't like These just are not as colorful as many other corals but leathers are not known for being very colorful.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $69 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Good for beginners

Comments Very easy care. Has grown quite well, better than expected. It will harm other corals if it does touch them. The colt is very easy to frag as well. With a moderate water flow you get a beautiful sway of the soft coral. I do add nutrients to the tank for filter feeding inverts, which does benefit the colt. Mine is pink and has made a great addition to the tank. You will know when this guy isn't happy as he shrivels up.


Liked about it Very hardy, easy care, easy to frag, the swaying movement is relaxing to watch.


Didn't like It is aggressive so it does need it's own space in the tank.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Sherilw
May 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $69 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

One of my favorites

Comments This coral is very hardy and very easy to keep. Needs very little attention and is very pretty. Mine has grown fast and has played host to my pair of true percs. This was one of the first corals i bought and still one of my favorites. Highly recommended!


Liked about it its movements, hardiness, size


Didn't like nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By boltzfan
Apr 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $69 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Cauliflower/Colt Coral (Cladiella sp.)

Comments Very hardy soft coral and makes an excellent coral for the beginner or experienced. Moderate lighting with a moderate water movement. Give this coral space for it will spread out as it grows and will kill other corals it comes close too. Easy to frag.


Liked about it hardy and the way it sways with the water movement.


Didn't like nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Feb 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $69 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Great First addition

Comments The colt coral (Cladiella sp.) is an aggressive coral that needs space between other species and itself in the reef aquarium, particularly Sinularia or Sarcophyton corals should be placed out of its reach, as the Colt Coral could readily kill these species. It requires medium to high lighting combined with a medium to strong water current. The symbiotic zooxanthellae hosted within its body provides the majority of its nutritional needs from photosynthesis. It also benefits from additional food such as micro-plankton, baby brine shrimp, or foods designed for filter feeding invertebrates as this coral will filter feed as well. It is a very easy to acclimate to the aquarium, as well as maintain, thus it makes an excellent coral for the beginning reef hobbyist.


Liked about it Easy to care for.
Looks great in a softy tank


Didn't like Can be aggressive toward other coral species


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By drdude05
Jul 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $69 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Make sure its a colt

General I've had several of these corals through the years and have always loved them. They are usually feathery shades of brown or dusty lavender. They add movement to the tank as well as height. Extremely hardy and will grow with ease. Some stores try to sell any leather they dont know the name of as a colt but a true colt is as I described feathery branches thick trunk and slimy when taken out of the water. Some of these corals are sold in yellow the yellow ones are dyed and the color will leave. They do like med flow and dont seem to care if the lighting is bright or med.


Liked about it Everything!


Didn't like nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By partobe
Jul 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $69 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

great soft coral for beginners and beyond

Comments A great starter coral if you're new to the hobby, and it does propagate well in the aquarium. However, this can become a nuisance in time, as it can show up throughout the tank and compete with other corals in the tank. They'll often "drop" an branch, which then floats around the tank only to show up in areas it's not desired. Still, a nice and easy soft coral.


Liked about it This is an easy coral that's quick to propagate, it does well in soft flow and provides some nice movement in a softy tank.


Didn't like Can become a plague if not well trimmed, and it probably won't do well in stony dominated tanks (either due to space competition or chemical warfare between stonies and leathers).


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
May 05, 2009
 
Last updated: May 17, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $69 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Colt

Comments This is a very cool coral. It was given to me and has been thriving in my tank. It sways in the current and opens up real nicely when the lights come on. I have had it between 1-2 months and it hasn't grown much at all. None the less, it is a cool coral.


Liked about it 1. It was free.
2. Sways in the current


Didn't like 1. Dull colors
2. Hasn't grown


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.5

By Mr. Fishy Man
Feb 16, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $69 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

great coral

Comments This is an easy to care for coral, but it is semi aggressive and fast growing. mine is open nearly 24 hrs a day and it's gentle swaying like a tree is whimsical and a nice addition to the tank. I understand it will "fight " with other leathers like toadstools. so adequate room is needed. i have never feed mine. it uses symbiotic algae to create the carbs and things it needs primarily.


Liked about it like that it is tree like, has gentle movement, and easy to care for.


Didn't like semi aggression


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By mshonk2
Mar 19, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $69 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Fast growing, beautiful

Comments Was the only coral in my tankfor a long time. My 1st. Bought at the size of my hand, was 18" wide in 2 yrs.
I did target feed it some though, I'm sure that helped.


Liked about it Everything, movement especially


Didn't like Nothing, I had no ther corals to see any aggressiveness


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Japonicus
Jul 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $69 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Great for a first coral!

Comments These are very easy to keep do not demand lights that are to intense and propagate very well which may be a problem later on. They are very hardy and an excellent choice for a first coral. They come in various colors but mostly range in white to pink.


Liked about it Adds movement to the tank, extremely hardy, easy to propagate.


Didn't like Can easily out grow a tank and need to be trimmed back frequently especially in smaller tanks.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By quick_murdoc
Oct 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $69 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Colt Coral

Comments I love my colt coral they grow fast or mine did i have to frag it out quite often actually..i would rebuy this coral again because its been a very hardy coral and it looks good in the tank.


Liked about it I liked its colors and how it looks in the flow that my hydor 4s create.
its also a very hardy coral like i said.


Didn't like Its kinda aggressive if you put it near other corals


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By collin
Oct 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $69 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

colt

General I owned a pink colt coral that looked great but it was slimy and hard to place in the tank. Im guessing that it due to chemical warfare that every so often the colt would expand like a ballon and look plain old ugly.

Not all colts are equal, check out yours in friends or lfs first.


Liked about it Colour
growth


Didn't like When it inflates.
Slimy and hard to place and stick frags to rock.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By bulletmagnet1337
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $69 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec346