Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (17)
 Add a review

Button Polyp

 
Button polyps are an excellent choice for the reef tank beginner, these corals are extremely hardy and do well in most lighting environments. The more light they receive, the more vibrant their coloration will be. These...


Price: $24 to $24 at 1 stores
Searched Button Polyp in Reviews
 

 

Easy even for Beginners

Comments This polyp is one of the easiest polyps to raise, even for a beginner. Doesn't seem to bother any other corals or tank inhabitants. No supplementary feedings are required, however the use of phytoplankton can be beneficial. Algae break-outs can cause these polyps to close up for sometime and may require frequent cleaning of detritus from the polyps. If not secured properly to LR, snails can knock over colonies which will then close up until turned upright again.


Liked about it Hardy and resilient even in some of the harshest conditions.
Can provide nice 'cover' if 'groomed' properly.
Can come in a varied amount of colors.


Didn't like Can overgrow a tank if not kept in check.
Colors are not always numerous, or much more expensive.
Can be bothered by various types of algae and may require frequent cleaning.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By JeeperReefer
Sep 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Seems like everyone has them...

Comments These things seem to be bullet proof. I have had some for quite some time. At one point I had a hair algea outbreak and they could not be seen. Thought they died off. Once the algea was gone they where back and doing just fine. Seem to do well in any lighting. Water quality does not really need to be perfect. Add life to tank and are not expensive.


Liked about it Readily availabe at almost all lfs. Seem to spread quickly and will handle about any lighting. This is one coral that I never really have to worry about. Seems to have survived any of my tank issues in the past.


Didn't like Mine are not very colorful but other than that, there is nothing to dislike about them.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By deanp88
Jun 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

My very first coral, and it was free

Comments The button polyps (protopalythoa) I have in my tank were hitchhikers on a bit of live rock I purchased. There were three of them and now at least 50 of various sizes. It has taken some time to get to that number so you don't have to worry about them over growing. They do OK in moderate light and don't need to be fed (though they will catch what comes their way I have found target feeding unnecessary). They really look after themselves and are quite hardy. For some the color may seem drab, but upon close inspection you will find there is a wonderful gradient of color on the heads. There are also several color-morphs available to the aquarist with bright green being common, and pink, blue or orange being highly sought after.

One of the fun things about this coral is watching their many tentacled head close up when disturbed and watch it reopen again soon after. They can survive in a tank with lower light and moderate water quality. In a well maintained environment they will grow and thrive.

These are also among the more affordable corals out there.


Liked about it 1. Affordable (for browns and greens)
2. Hardy
3. Tolerant of less than perfect tank conditions
4. Will grow in low light (will lack bright color though)
5. Super easy to fragment


Didn't like 1. Color-morphs can be outrageously expensive


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Jun 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Beautiful and hardy

Comments button polys are a beautiful addition to any tank. there are many colors to choose from (some vibrant and others can be kind of blah) and are a great coral for beginners. we bought a green polyp and really like it in our 10 gal tank. they are easy to acclimate (we temp and drip acclimate) and are a very hardy coral. they might seem to grow slowly at first, but can take over their area if not controlled/harvested. we haven't had any problem with aggression to other corals and it seems fine being close to a few of our other corals, too. this coral can go in any size tank and does not need to be spot fed though ours gets pieces of mysis when we spot feed our other corals.


Liked about it pretty colors
hardy and easy to care for
no spot feeding required
great for any level of experience


Didn't like some colors can be blah
can overtake its area if you let it


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By andbob25
May 27, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

the perfect beginners coral!!

Comments the button polyp is not only colorful and very hardy, it is also one of the fastest growing coral i have ever had in any of my tanks. if you are just beginning with the hobby, the button polyps are perfect for you. if you already got started, its always a nice safe addition to your tank.


Liked about it -color
-hardy
-growth


Didn't like -growth (can be overwhelming)
-overall perfect


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Mar 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Worth the Money

Comments easy acclimation, once they are established in the tank the multiply like crazy,not aggressive that I noticed, no tank size requirements and great for a nano. they are harty and can stand some instability in the tank. no specific food requirements that I am aware of I feed my fish mysid shrimp and what ever landed on the polp was eaten.


Liked about it Easy care, Great to look at very colorful, multiplied in tank


Didn't like Can over grow in tank if not harvested occasionally


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fchidsey
Nov 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

nice coral

Comments This is an easy to care for coral. don't beleive it's aggressive since i have specifically purchased it but always get it as a hitchiker. they grow close to the same rate as zoas, and has limited movement.there are no tank limitations and doesn't need to be feed.


Liked about it like that it is easy to care for. grows steady so pruning isn't regular. comes in a variety of colors.


Didn't like how easily they can bleach.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By mshonk2
Feb 25, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great Beginner Coral

Comments These little guys seem to be bullet proof! They were my first coral and since I am new to coral keeping they were sort of a "test". I give them credit for lasting through a couple mistakes like not having enough light. Now that I have a better lighting set up they are loving it and already multiplying. The colors on these guys can be dull but you will usually find ones that are very beautiful. They are very easy to find and fairly cheap.


Liked about it Very hardy, good coloring, cheap.


Didn't like I wish there was a greater variety of different colors.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By fishoutofwater25
Oct 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Easy coral to care for

Comments Very easy to care for and cheap
bought a piece of live rock that had maybe 15 polyps a few months ago and they have atleast doubled already


Liked about it easy care
cheap
color


Didn't like close up at the slightest touch
stay closed for seems like days
some colors are pretty drab


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By swnoobie
Oct 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Easy to care for and cheap way to fill your tank

Comments Spreads like a weed if you spot feed it. Not too attractive of a coral. Cheap and easy to care for. This was my first coral in each of my tanks just to place something in to watch. I stopped feeding it directly and this seems to stunt its spreading. Kept it in the sand and not on a rock as well stopped the growth.


Liked about it Cost and care are the two things i like about it.


Didn't like Color is bland. Will take over spots of your tank if you are not careful.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By salty198
Oct 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great starter coral

Comments These guys are nearly indestructible, and they spread fairly quickly in my system. I see nearly a doubling in polyp count every 6 weeks. Put the rock they come on next to another and you'll soon have a new colony growing on the next rock...try placing a lot of rubble near them and voila you've got frags to sell!!


Liked about it hardy, spread quickly, easy to "frag" by growing them onto piece of rubble


Didn't like best color come with close attention paid to strontium & molybdenum levels


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Salty O'Shen
Oct 03, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great beginner corals!

Comments These hitchhiked in on my live rock and have all survived for 7 months, not even 1 died through the cycle, very fast growing.


Liked about it Very big for polyps, some even as big as 50 cent pieces, one of the fastest growing corals in my tank, went from about 10 to 80 polyps in 6 1/2 months, have never had any problems with them, very easy to maintain.


Didn't like Sometimes will close for days or a week unexpectedly, not the most beautiful coral, most of the time in shades of brown.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Reeftanker3295
Aug 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

grows in really quick

Comments I bought it when it had 4 heads and in only a few days it had another growth, so if you want a fast growing splash of color get these


Liked about it great color
very active (they close and open like a venus fly trap


Didn't like Im hoping they wont grow to quick


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By quader94
Jul 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Be careful what you wish for!

General If you want an easy coral this is it. I remember the first time I bought this coral all I wanted was a "easy coral".
This coral is fail proof!!! The only problem is it will take over the tank if your not careful! Once it gets going its hard to control. I would def recommend this coral to beginners or for those folks who have a hard time keeping corals happy I would also recommend keeping it isolated.


Liked about it Beyond easy


Didn't like can get out of controll


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By partobe
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Super easy to keep

General Easy to care for. Not too invasive. Nice to other corals. Great value for beginner reefers.


Liked about it Ease of care



Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By reefer.madness
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great beginner coral

General This was one of the first corals I tried to keep. It came on a small colony of zoas. In a few months, one head turned into 8. They will act like a Venus fly trap. When a stray piece of food touches the head, it will close up and eat it. Pretty cool party trick.


Liked about it Nice color
Easy to care for
No demands


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
Jun 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Not slow, but not fast!

General Pretty!
Very cheap.
Common hitch hiker, so you might not even have to pay!


Liked about it These corals grow at a perfect speed!
Not too fast.
Not too slow.
They're also very pretty.
Kind of like zoas with a longer body thing.


Didn't like How fast they close up.
Just like all other polyps. x)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Kakalakasha
Mar 25, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $24
Compare Prices
at 1 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec345