Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.3 (12)
 Add a review

Blue Mushrooms

 
Blue Mushroom (Actinodiscus sp.) has a stem base with a round like mushroom shape. This variety is Blue in color. The Actinodiscus is a hardy and easy to maintain. In general, they need a medium light level, and should...


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Blue Mushrooms in Reviews
 

 

Great coral to start with, affordable, and grows easily featured

Comments This is an easy coral to keep with very little required in its care. They don't need to be fed, but will catch what they can of the food you drop in the tank. Mine will even grab onto flake food as well as brine shrimp.

The aquarist must be careful not to place in too bright of light as mushrooms do not like bright light. I would put them in the moderate light category.

Mushrooms do not like heavy flow but also do not do well with too little. As they are disk shaped they can collect detritus, so provide just enough flow to keep them clear of this but not so much that they produce an excess of mucus.

Care is essentially the same between the various color morphs, with some morphs requiring more or less light. In my experience my red mushrooms like less light and do better nearer the bottom of the tank, the blue like more and do better toward the middle. There are very few mushrooms I would put near the top.

These corals propagate themselves quite readily in the aquarium. You will notice a second mouth appear on the coral and shortly afterward the coral divides in half to form two corals (longitudinal fission) but also reproduce by budding.

Mushrooms are not aggressive corals and seem to be able to grow right next to zoanthus and protopalythoa (button polyps).


Liked about it 1. Colorful
2. Hardy
3. Reproduces readily


Didn't like 1. Difficult to mount loose heads sometimes as they slime up when pulled from the water.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Aug 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Excellent starter coral featured

Comments Great coral for the beginning reef aquarist, usually spurs a deeper interest in the hobby. Fast growing and very hardy even in the worst conditions. Low light coral and very nice coloration. Such an easy coral that it's normally one of the first corals that people perform their first fragging on.

I sold my initial colony quite a few years ago as I transitioned to SPS corals. Every once in a while I come across a polyp that has made it through the various tank upgrades over the years -- kind of sentimental.


Liked about it Nice color.
Low light, great starter coral.
Hardy, almost to the point of being a nuisance.


Didn't like Can over-crowd and encroach on neighbors quickly.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By wharyat
Jan 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Another easy coral for the novice like myself. featured

Comments These things are super easy to care for. They don't seem to mind to much about water quality either unless your tank is just a disaster. Not aggressive at all. Mine seem to shy away from other corals by closing up a bit but yours may be different then others. They grow pretty fast. You will notice a difference over a couple of months when it comes to the overall size. Not active at all other then opening and closing with the light cycle. Mine are in a stock 14 gallon aquapod. I paid $33 for mine at the LFS and it was a 3 x 4" flat rock with about 7 mushrooms on it.


Liked about it Awesome coral. Very easy to maintain and very beautiful. Mine are a deep blue with a bit of purple in them. Like I mentioned before they seem to be very easy to care for.

They are also very easy to propagate after doing some research. Simply cut them up like a pizza and use a piece of a pair of panty hose to wrap around the rock with them between the rock and the hose. I honestly would not waste your time with propagation because they seem to reproduce pretty quickly with moderate flow and good lighting but nothing to intense cause if the lights are too bright they tend to close a bit.


Didn't like I don't like the fact that they you have to put them into a less flowing area for them to stay fully open. Too much flow on them and they close up a bit. Some people may not like the fact they reproduce fairly quickly and can see where they could become a problem


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By bb0029
Aug 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Colorful mushroom...

Comments In a quest to add color to the reef tank I find these mushrooms a nice addition. For me, they are not that easy to find. I have had them for about a year and have not had much growth, but they have remained healthy. Seem a little more finicky than other mushrooms I have. They don't seem to like it to dark but don't like bright light either.


Liked about it Very colorful. To this point they have been fairly easy to care for, although I have not seen a lot of growth with them.


Didn't like Harder to come by than other mushrooms. Do not reproduce quickly like other mushrooms. Mine have been a little touchy for the right place in the tank to get correct lighting.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By deanp88
Jun 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Love the color!

Comments These mushrooms seem to withstand anything. Very easy to care for! Once a decent size they multiply quickly, and they grow easily. They add a gorgeous color to the tank.


Liked about it easy care, color is great, VERY hardy. In my area it is actually very easy and very cheap to buy these.


Didn't like I haven't had a problem with over population, yet. Mine are placed in a medium flow area and do very well. I don't have anything negative to say at this point.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Sherilw
May 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Nice mushroom for beginner

Comments Easy to care for. Low light needs but does not like strong current. Multiplies quickly. Almost indestructible very hardy. Sometimes hard to find


Liked about it Love the color and how large they can become. Colonies can really thicken like zoas. My clowns sometimes hosted them.


Didn't like Like I said they multiply quickly and can take over the tank fast. Very hard to reduce once they have gotten a hold


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By rugman7
Feb 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

O.K.

Comments It has been very hardy so far, but doesn't like any flow. I have placed low and in a crevice, a dead zone. Mine hasn't spread yet. I have had it for about a month. Over all I think this is good coral for the any aquarist.


Liked about it 1. Cool color, blue with purple spots


Didn't like 1. Hasn't spread yet


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr. Fishy Man
Jan 26, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Worth the money

Comments I did not have lucK with this mushroom, had 3 on a rock and they all melted away within a month, i have TONS of other mushrooms that keep spreading like crazy


Liked about it very nice coloration
nice shapes


Didn't like IMHO they were difficult to keep


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By swnoobie
Oct 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Nice mushroom

Comments A coral I always wanted but couldn't find in any of my local fish stores. Can be found fairly easily online. I love the extra color the blue adds to the tank.


Liked about it Easy to care for
Not very expensive
Adds a nice touch of color


Didn't like Very hard to glue to a rock.
The blue ones can be hard to find.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
Oct 01, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great for color!

Comments Great for color and is a fast grower. Easy to keep.


Liked about it Easy to keep and reproduces fairly quickly.


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By EndlessSummer
Jul 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Very beautiful mushrooms...

Comments I've got some of these blue mushrooms and they are incredible. They have a nice blue/purple color under brighter lights. They seem to multiply fairly quickly and add a lot to a display.


Liked about it Great color, grow fairly quickly.


Didn't like Can be difficult to get them to attach to live rock.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Big D
Jul 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Good beginner coral

General Great starter, just watch how fast it spreads.


Liked about it Very hardy, low light requirements, tolerant of less than perfect water quality, easy to frag


Didn't like It can become a pest due to how fast it spreads.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By jenglish
Jul 13, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec345