Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (20)
 Add a review

Blue / Green Ricordea

 
Ricordia is a reef curiosity-- a corallimorph, it is a solitary, mushroom-like soft coral. Individuals form compact colonies over reef rock which resemble some hard corals. The mushrooms range in color from brown to green...


Price: $19 to $22 at 2 stores
Searched Blue / Green Ricordea in Reviews
 

 

A Strong 'Shroom' for any Tank featured

Comments I don't think I can come up with an easier coral to care for. This ric is absolutely stubborn and will take a beating in any tank/placement where others would shrink up and die. Under the right lighting, these little guys will light up and glow bright neon green. However, they will vary their coloration depending on the type of lighting they receive. As far as being aggressive, these rics are rather slow on the growth/expansion phase. A good thing is usually when they decide to split, one big one will split down into 4 or more little rics.
This is one of the better corals for a beginner to 'frag' because you can simple place a pile of rocks around the main colony and watch as little clones develope on them to be placed/removed when ready.


Liked about it 1. Nice coloration under almost any lighting
2. 'Fragging' properties lend it to be fun for reefers of all experiences to 'frag'
3. Not aggressive and will passively spread where they like.


Didn't like 1. They can be rather slow on the growth/splitting phase if you do not specifically/spot feed them
2. Easier to let them 'spread' out on rubble than to try and frag them


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By JeeperReefer
May 31, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

This was my first coral ever and it is by far the featured

Comments I fell in love with the little guy at my LFS. He was in the "other" tank with all his little friends and with a $12 price tag I gave it a shot after doing some research on them. It seems to be a fairly slow grower which I prefer but that may depend on lighting and tank conditions. It does not seem to be aggressive at all and really does not do anything at all towards its tank mates. It opens and closes on a normal basis when the lights come on and off. I have mine in a 14 gallon aquapod with the standard lighting and filtration. Mine lives on the light alone and whatever it can get out of the tank. I have never specifically feed it. I do believe that it likes light. Not too much but I feel it needs to have good lighting to prosper.


Liked about it What is not to like about this thing? It has beautiful color. Mine is a dark purple with bright neon green accents. It glows under the blue lights as well as under the LED moonlights. It is not aggressive at all and pretty much sits at the top of my tank and looks pretty.

It does not seem to have a water flow requirement or one that I have noticed. I do seem to think it does not like direct current blown on it. I think more of the passive type turbulence is what it enjoys but I truly could not make a informed decision on it. This is only from my past with it.


Didn't like The only thing I can think of is light sensitivity but that could be on a coral to coral basis. Mine loves light but not too much. Nothing really undesirable about this thing at all.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bb0029
Aug 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great Beginner Coral

Comments This litte ric is a survivor. I picked it up from someone leaving the hobby that hadn't cleaned their tank in months. It was one of the few corals to survive for him. It still looked decent even despite the terrible water conditions. It immediately opened up in my tank and as I've reaquascaped it seems to thrive at the top of the tank as well as the bottom. In low flow areas as well as right in front of a powerhead. I have never spot fed it but do dump "Coral Frenzy" in like once a week. It seems to be a good value for the money and is really pretty under the lights. It doesn't glow as much the orange one I have under blue moon lights which surprised me. Still prettier than most at night though.


Liked about it 1. Easy to take care of.
2. Simple and pretty, a fan-favorite of whoever stops by to see the tank.
3. Thrives anywhere in the tank.


Didn't like 1. Seems to be a really slow grower, but I've read spot-feeding helps that.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jreece11
Jun 17, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

colorful little coral!!

Comments This coral is awesome, if you treat it right and give it the right conditions it will grow and split! I found this coral at my LFS for 15 dollars a frag. They come in all different colors,perfect if you want a little "ricordia forest"!! These little guys will grow and thrive under any type of lights. One note tho, they will slime like crazy if you frag them FYI. You can spot feed them to help them grow even faster. I would suggest this coral to anyone looking for an easy coral to grow.


Liked about it 1. so many different colors
2. low light coral
3.grow fast


Didn't like sliming when i frag it


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By turtlesoup23
Mar 17, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Hardiest coral I have ever had!

Comments One of the, if not the first, coral I ever purchased. They've been with me through thick and thin. They've been with me from my nano to my 54 gal corner. they've been with me from compact flourescents to metal halides and even through a crash in my tank where i practically had to re-establish my tank.
It is easy to care for and not aggressive at all.


Liked about it -It's a very very hardy coral, it does not seem to let anything kill it. can live in great water conditions or in not so great water conditions (while u try to fix it of course).
-It seems to be happy with any lighting. ive had it in different parts and levels in my tank and with compact florescents and with metal halides and the difference in light.
-It's also affordable and beautiful, never seems to loose its color.


Didn't like -the only thing i wish it would do more or faster of is grow and split and spread but for the price you can't complain.


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By saltlifefan4278
Oct 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Keeps on Ticking

Comments With all the turmoil that my tank has gone through over the last few years, my Ricordea has not only survived but has grown and reproduced. It's a fantastic addition to a reef by adding texture when you want something other than red/blue mushrooms for a filler. They don't like a lot of water flow, so the lower in the tank you place them, the better. They will pop up and float to where they like, however - remember that where we place them is usually just a suggestion and they will move to where suits them best. They feed by photosynthesis, though you can feed them any meaty food on occasion to help promote growth.


Liked about it 1. The hardiness of this coral - fantastic beginner
2. Easy to propagate
3. Good, easy filler that is aesthetically pleasing


Didn't like I really can't think of anything I don't like about mine. It does everything I'd expect from a soft coral.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Kristopher
Sep 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Very good coral with nice coloration

Comments My blue ricordea is my favorite one. I have pink, green, yellow, orange, and blue and of those the blue is most appealing color to me. You may have your own favorite.

Ricordea in general are my wife's favorite corals and we're currently building a "ricordea garden" out of all the various colors that recordea come in.

This is an easy coral to keep with very little required in its care. They don't need to be fed, but will catch what they can of the food you drop in the tank. Mine will even grab onto flake food as well as brine shrimp.

Colors come out best in brighter lighting, but the aquarist must be careful not to make it too bright. Ricordea do not like heavy flow but also do not do well with too little. As they are disk shaped they can collect detritus, so provide just enough flow to keep them clear of this.

Do not confuse the Ricordea Florida with the Ricordea Yuma. Care is essentially the same between them, but they do not look the same or cost the same.

Speaking of cost, the title states that these corals are "a little expensive" and that can be a personal judgment, for you they may not be. A single polyp will run anywhere from $14 - $120 depending on the color-morph with the more rare colors costing more. I personally have not paid more than $24 a head and have gotten some vary nice specimens.

These corals propagate themselves quite readily in the aquarium. You will notice a second mouth appear on the coral and shortly afterward the coral divides in half to form two corals (longitudinal fission) but also reproduce by budding.

Ricordea are not aggressive corals and seem to be able to grow right next to zoanthus and protopalythoa (button polyps).

Because the price is a lot higher than many other mushroom corals I would not recommend these for the beginner. Get your feet wet on more affordable mushrooms that cost $24 for a rock full of them rather than per head.


Liked about it 1. Colorful
2. Hardy
3. Reproduces readily


Didn't like 1. Difficult to mount loose heads sometimes as they slime up when pulled from the water.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Jun 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

nice and colorful coral

Comments ricordeas are perfect for starter tanks, not only do they come in a variety of colors from electric green to pinkish white but also posses a interesting range of shapes and forms that can adjust to any tank. this coral is a relatively slow grower but when it does "split" you'll probably enjoy it more than when most corals reproduce. overall ricordeas are easy to care for, colorful, peaceful, and a great side option from shrooms.


Liked about it -color variety
-forms
-peaceful


Didn't like -growth (rather slow)
-could sting
-when grown, can block other coral from their light


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Mar 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great choice for new tanks!

Comments Excellent beginning coral. Insane variety of color morphs available. Very forgiving of tank conditions. Will easily split on its own or can easily be fragged for propagation. Is not aggressive and can be kept in close proximity to other corals. Consideration should be taken when purchasing as to whether the ric is attached to rock or ruble. If not attached some extra work will be required to attach them to rock or rubble as the ric itself cannot be glued in place.


Liked about it Color Morphs.
Hardy.
Easily propagated for trade or selling.


Didn't like Extra work and patience needed before display in tank if they are not attached to rock/ruble.
Can sometimes decide to float off and move.
Easily lost in live rock if they do decide to move.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By sks4613
Oct 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Well adapted for any sized tank but perfect for th

Comments This coral is quite interesting and perfect for the beginner wishing to start in the salt hobby. You can spot feed these animals but they are perfectly fine existing on the floating debris in the tank for food items. You will find that feeding these corals will encourage them to grow and multiply quickly. It will take about 2-3 months before full expansion is noted but once they start to move slowly to other areas on their substrate, they will leave small offspring behind and before long, you will have a full rock of these corals. They generally are tolerant of large temperature variations. I have found they do well (for me) in water temps ranging anywhere from 77 degrees all the way to 81 degrees. They are not as tolerant of higher flow areas as most soft corals as turbulent water movement may damage the soft tissues. These corals are easily propagated by simply cutting anywhere across the body medium without harming the "mouth" region.


Liked about it Hearty; tolerant of different water parameters; easily maintained.


Didn't like After time, may multiply uncontrolled; requires a lot of free space as they will multiply and possibly overtake other desired corals quickly.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By superwizbang
Aug 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

My Personal Favorite

Comments This has consistently been my healthiest coral. Once you place it in a spot with decent but minimal water flow it possesses color that i think few corals can imitate and a very unique look that's eye catching in a reef tank.


Liked about it This is a very hardy coral. My powerhead slipped and knocked it off the rock and it fell upside down on the sand for at least a day, and within an hour of placing back on the rocks, it opened to it's full potential.
It also quickly frags making it a valuable addition if you want to save some money by trading frags with the LFS or another reef keeper. Finally the lighting and flow requirements are pretty minimal so you can keep it healthy and thriving under almost any lighting.


Didn't like There are few negatives about this coral except if there is any direct flow on it, it will shrivel up.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Rapidfire143
Jul 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Dont follow the light!

Comments I started off my ricordeas in a 120 with 150 watt mh and toward the btm of the tank. They flourished and seemed as happy as could be. I changed tanks bought a 150 added more light 2 250 watt 1400k mh and 2 96 watt 50/50 bulbs. I noticed they weren't opening up as much and didn't seem as happy. Life came along and I didn't pay them much attention for awhile and then one day I noticed most of them were gone and the ones that were still there were white. I moved them down lower with less flow and the bleached ones just kinda faded away. However I have several little babies that are starting to grow. I love these corals but would recommend you watch how much light you put them under.


Liked about it I love the colors! The textures add such diversity to a tank! Easy to care for!


Didn't like Nothing really.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By partobe
Jul 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

hardy ricordia

General If you are a ricordia collector then it would be great to have this blue/green ricordia in your collection. But I would rather get other brighter color ricordias. Overall, it's a hardy and great for beginner hobbyists.


Liked about it this coral is a hardy, i moved it sooo many times and yet it's still very healthy. Very easy to keep, it would do well under PC or medium light intensity.


Didn't like the reason why i moved it a lot was because it's very hard to keep it stay attached one place especially when you have lots of water movement in your tank! It kept felling off the rock and into the sand. Dont expect this ricordia to stand out in your tank especially when you have dark-color rocks *But other ricordias such as orange or rainbow etc. will stand out very well


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By umakemekissu
Apr 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

love the colors

Comments This is a relatively easy to care for coral but not as forgiving as a plain mushroom. not to aggressive and grows kinda slow, but blens well with other corals in the tank. no tan requirements just maintain your levels.


Liked about it love the colors and vibrance. how easy they are to care for.


Didn't like prices seem a bit high for rics but the more colorful usually the more you pay.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By mshonk2
Feb 25, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

More colorful than mushrooms, a nice starter coral

Comments A good coral to add some color to any tank, ricordia are an "upgrade" from regular mushrooms. They often require more light than most softies, but they'll still do well under most any fluorescent bulbs (or better). Not very aggressive and a relatively slow grower, a great coral.


Liked about it Nice colors, more unique than other softies.


Didn't like slow grower, a little more challenging compared to other mushrooms..


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 17, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Tolerant and beautiful

Comments This is a very easy coral to take care of. It can move but mine never does. It is pushed up against another Ricordia and makes a striking display.


Liked about it It does well in low light.
Doesn't seem to sting its neighbors.
Great coloration.


Didn't like It grows MUCH slower than other mushrooms.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jenglish
Aug 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Thoughts on Ricordea Mushroms!

Comments Ricordea is a Hardy coral...its a mushroom coral with a different look. Rics(another name for a Ricordea) are highly attractive corals that come in as many corals as the rainbow. Ever colorways the are rainbow in a sense. They like low light grow a low moderate. The lighting requirements or low to moderate, and low to medium flow.


Liked about it Beautiful corals...semi bulletproof coral


Didn't like Slow growth!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dragonist
Jul 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Good colors

General I love ricordea's im just not crazy about the low light they like. With a mostly stony reef, these just take a long time to acclimate under the ultra intense lighting. If you want a lot of color, in a easy to care for tank, these are very hardy and love medium light. Nutrients are no problem for these bad boys, a great begginer coral, and a great addition to anyones reef.


Liked about it Colorful
Wide array of combos available
Easy to frag


Didn't like Sensitive to intense lighting.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By fihsboy
Jul 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great little blast of color

General a nice addition to the tank, great beginner coral


Liked about it i've moved them around and they have been attacked by my torch and are still alive, they are very hardy!


Didn't like had a tough time finding a spot where it would stay still


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By quader94
Jun 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

adds great color!

General can use net for a week to allow foot to attach to rock.


Liked about it great color, very hardy!


Didn't like difficult to attach to rock, likes little flow.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By harlequin29
Apr 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $19 to $22
Compare Prices
at 2 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec345