Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.3 (21)
 Add a review

Xenia

 
"Pulse Corals" in the family Xeniidae are colonial animals with multiple individual polyps attached to a piece of solid substrate. They form stalks as they grow, and to reproduce. The eight-tentacled polyps can pump, or pulse. Many scientists believe the pumping action of the polyps slowly opening and closing is designed to dispose of gasses and waste. However, it is s... - It takes a careful eye to distinguish Heteroxenia from other Xenia species, with which they share most gross physical traits. They are easiest to identify upon maturity when colonies form distinctive small secondary polyps between larger polyps called siphonozooids. In the wild, Heteroxenia are found in calmer, back-reef niches and may occur in muddy or turbid waters. - - Aquacultured Heteroxenia are hardier than wild-caught species and tend to reproduce quickly. Therefore, provide adequate space between them and sessile animals, especially other types of soft corals. They require a medium to high light level combined with a medium to strong water movement within the aquarium. For continued good health, they will require the addition of iodine and other trace elements to the water. -


Price: $4 to $21 at 4 stores
Searched Xenia in Reviews
 

 

A must in the mixed reef featured

Comments This Coral can be a centerpiece in any reef aquarium. It is simple and elegant. You have the benefit of a relatively easy Coral to care for, and a fantastic look. Lots of movement and in my opinion is mesmerizing to the point where I find my self looking at it constantly.


Liked about it The benefits of having this Coral are that it can thrive in a variety of placements in the aquascape. If you want to see it pulsate and gently glide in the column you can simply place it in a low flow area, sit back and enjoy. Also it can be placed in more moderate flow areas to get the tell-tale wave and constant movement in the column. And over all the care is simple, almost like caring for a weed. Just do nothing and watch it grow.


Didn't like All being said about the benefits there are a couple things that do not sit right with me. They do grow very quickly and if not kept in check they will bud and transfer rock to rock. A certain level of maintenance just to keep it contained is a requirement. Another point to bring up also goes with it growing fast, it does not care what it grows on. I have had it grow on equipment, the tank walls, and even try to spread roots on to other Corals.


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Treasures of the
Mar 18, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Ok.. can be hit or miss. featured

Comments Very interesting to watch the movements and actions of this coral. Considered by a lot to be invasive. Best positioning IMO is high and against the back otherwise given the opportunity to spread it will. Easily propagated for trade or SC. In my experience grows towards the direction of the flow. Can thrive for months then suddenly perish for no apparent reason.


Liked about it Nice movement.
Fast growing.


Didn't like Coloration.
Growth rate.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By sks4613
Oct 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Very nice addition featured

Comments I was given a small piece of Xenia a few months ago. It has already tripled in size. A very interesting coral. The "pulsing action" is a nice addition.
I have heard Xenia can be hit or miss in tanks.....where one person can grow it like crazy....a similar set-up can yield opposite results and the Xenia just melts away.


Liked about it Pulsating action adds another level of movement to the tank
Easily cared for
Grows at a nice pace



Didn't like can be hit or miss...but definitely worth a shot.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
Sep 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

everyone should have some

Comments Well i have found no difficulty caring for all different types. If it opens its ok and if it pulses its happy. can encroach other corals. and usually grows fast. this i would ran as the most active coral i have come across with each polyp pulsing every second or so along with water movement it makes an excellent addition. only issue i have seen with co-exsistance is kenya trees. when they are close they seem to not fully open. also grow slower because of this but can be keep in the same tank just distance them. I reccomend running carbon with soft corals.


Liked about it Priced great and comes in different variaties. The movement a large colony adds to the tan is great. and another coral that fragging isn't too hard.


Didn't like I don't like the kenya tree complication.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By mshonk2
Feb 25, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Gotta take the good with the bad

Comments This is usually a great begginer coral because it seems to like not so perfect water. You start off witha frag and all of the sudden you fight to keep it under control. I actually used this to stock my first reef tank. I got a colony of it and it took off growing and I kept trading it in for different corals. But what I seemed to notice as I learned more about keeping my water parameters on track and just good tank maintenence my xenia all started to die. I have aquired some a few times and sometimes it grows like a weed and sometimes it just dies off. But as I said if you can keep it then its a very easy coral to grow and be able to frag.


Liked about it fast growing
* looked good pulsing in the flow of the tank
*very little needs


Didn't like Can grow like a weed and just seem to take over a tank
* Just up and dies for no apparent reason sometimes


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Dnazta
Nov 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Plusing beauty

Comments Like many others have said xenia is a hit or miss. It really depends on if they like you water chemistry. The pulsing action of this coral is absoulutly mesmorising. I love to sit a watch this coral. If you get a small frag it usually multiplies rapidly and can soon over grow the tank. I keep this coral on a small rock not touching any other rocks so that it cant spread as easy. I have seen this pieces of this coral break off, float to another place a tank, attach, and spread like wildfire across they rocks. So overall this would be a really good coral for beginners because it is so easy to care for.


Liked about it Pulsing action, ease of care, frags easy.


Didn't like Can quickly overtake an aquarium if not careful


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By fishoutofwater25
Nov 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Perfect for Beginner's

Comments The Xenia is an amazing coral that comes in different forms and colors, small stalk, long stalk, branching, white, brown, blue. The xenia is great for beginners because it can be placed anywhere in the tank as long as you have moderate lighting. It grows really fast and spreads throughout the tank. You have to put it in a low flow area to get the best pulsing movements, anywhere else may get you little to no pulsing. This coral is not aggressive towards coral, but it is an aggressive grower, it can grow anywhere. This coral does not need to be fed, and lives purely off of light.


Liked about it I really liked how it grows at a nice pace and looks good. It is also a good host for clownfish, and this coral is really easy to care for, which is perfect for a beginner, and can really add some movement to the tank.


Didn't like I didn't like:
1. It is really hard to frag
2. Grows too fast sometimes
3. Very hard to get off rocks and glass


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Fish Lord
Jun 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Grows like a week for some, not at all for other.

Comments I have had Xenia on a few different occasion. In my first tank it gre like a weed and covered everything.
After going to a mostly SPS system I was unable to keep it on three different occasions. That leads me to believe that this coral prefers that water a little dirty.

A great beginner coral this one can quickly overtake a entire reef tank. Keep it isolated so that does now happen to you.

It's a very unique coral that actually pulses on it's own not from current. The pulsing is actually the coral filter feeding.


Liked about it Most coral just sit there this one actually does something! Watch it in amazement.
It's cheap and grow quickly easy to frag and re-sell making it profitable.
It;s color is ok kinda pinkish but dull but not flashy.


Didn't like If your not careful this coral will be wall to wall in your tank within a year.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By ckusnierek
May 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Xenia grows like a weed

Comments Xenia is very fast growing and very easy to care for. It is also an interesting coral to watch for several reasons. It grows so fast, that from day to day you can actually notice what has grown. The heads on pulsing xenia open and close rhythmically. In large colonies, this can be almost hypnotic. Many people have trouble seeing corals as animals but when they see the xenia, that movement helps them to understand.

Aside from being very fast growing, a xenia colony will also be on the move. Xenia will, over the course of even a week, move itself from one spot to the another in your tank to position itself in a desirable location. They seem to like low to moderate flow and low to moderate lighting as well.

In tanks with higher flow, the xenia will usually cease pulsing and the polyp stalks will elongate dramatically changing the appearance of the coral. If the flow is lessened they shorten up and begin pulsing again.

This coral will require priodic "harvesting" because it grows so fast and because it can encroach upon other corals. Removal can be done by carefully pulling the coral from the live rock. Cutting with scissors works (and does not kill the coral if done correctly) however this method leaves behind a bit of the coral trunk which, if even a tiny amount is left, will grow right back into a new xenia colony.


Liked about it 1. Very affordable. Often can be gotten for free from a friend.
2. Pulsing heads make for great viewing.
3. Easy to keep, fast growing coral that requires little effort to keep.


Didn't like 1. Grows like a weed! This coral will need trimmed back from time to time.
2. Can irritate other corals that the polyp stalks brush up against.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By tcamos
May 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Just plain weird!!

Comments Xenia, as many people know is known for its easy care, and the intriguing pulsing that it performs. But this was not the case for me. For some reason it just doesn't like to grow in my tank. I've tried it several times and it never opened since the time I put it in the tank and never pulsed either. I was thinking I would have fun with Xenia because when healthy it spreads like wild fire, its very peaceful, likes low current, and any lighting pretty much and it likes a bit of nitrates which my tank has. You'd think it would be perfect for my tank. But for some reason as people have warned me it can be very stubborn and not survive in some tanks none the less thrive in my tank. But at the time I was using conditioned tap water, which is a big no-no for a reef tank. I bought a ro/di unit and I will try it again in the future...But I'm still worried :(


Liked about it Well, since it never even opened for me, I liked nothing about it because when it's closed its pretty ugly...


Didn't like I didn't like the fact that when Xenia dies it may disrupt the tanks perameters. And since it has died in my tank more than 3 times, it has given off some odors and some minor toxins. It was a challenge to recover from it because each time it died, cyano algae broke out in my tank.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By berger9953
Mar 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

grows like a weed (for some)

Comments the first time i got xenia i kept it in a 20gal tank, a week went by and the xenia died off for no good reason (water parameters were fine, no predators or crabs, no nuisance algae). just a couple of months ago i got a second frag of xenia (its been about two years since the first one died) i put it in the same tank as the first time with pretty much the same livestock, and this coral goes crazy, just a week has gone by and its already showing extensive growth, right now the xenia has taken over the nearby LR and still spreading.this coral is reallyyy cool looking and perfect for most beginners but if it dies dont blame yourself or your tank, this coral is unpredictable.


Liked about it -growth
-pulsing
-color


Didn't like -no know reason why it died the first time
-might take over ur tank (thats why they call it a weed)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Mar 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

A Great Starter Coral

Comments Pumping Xenia is a fun first coral, here is why, This sof coral is constantly moving and the tips are almost always moving in a pumping motion. These corals also grow and splits and will usually move up toward the light.

My first Pumping Xenia piece was very small maybe three or four stalks with in three or four months it had grown to a large portion of the left side of the tank. I attempted to frag this once and it did not go well at all. this has to be done out of the tank or the coral will expell a slimmy coat in the tank and make a royal mess of your tank.

As with any soft coral when they are not happy or dieing they will melt down and begin to make a mess of the tank, beware of this the coral shoul be removed to a different tank or a refugium if you think it can be saved.


Liked about it They require little light and little care, dose with occasional Iodine.


Didn't like This coral needs to be kept in check it's splitting and growing will happen fast and will begin to over take the tank of allowed.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By fchidsey
Jan 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Great Attractive coral

Comments Unless I have a tank that is all sps, I will always have some xenia in my tank. Xenia is the coral that really makes you appreciate that these are animals and not plants that we're growing. The pulsating action is unbelievably eye catching and graceful. In my experience they will do well under high or low flow depending on the look you're going for. If you want to see the pulsing better then low flow is best. I feed my xenia coral frenzy a couple times a week and 1 stalk became 3 clusters each with 4-5 stalks in a little over a month. It is the fastest growing coral I know of


Liked about it Unbelievably fast growing
Gorgeous pulsing motion
Easy to care for


Didn't like They can be annoying trying to get them to attach if you don't have 2 stalks. If you do have more than one stalk just wrap a rubber band between them and a rock and it will attach in a couple days.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Augy
Jan 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

not to hard to keep

Comments from 1-5 five being easy i rate this coral 3

good current and lighting along with correct water parameters and ocasional spot feeding will see this medium growing coral thrive.mine does not seem to pulse and i got it as a small hitch hiker and it has since grown to the size of a golf ball.


Liked about it i like the over all appearance and colour and its not to hard to keep.i hope one day i can see it pulse.
it seems to go ok with all my other corals and doesnt seem to sting and of the corals that are next to it.


Didn't like none its a overall good coral and im happy to have it in my tank.
i hope that it pulses one day but i have heard that even if they dont they can still grow to a good size and thrive.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By judgedread
Jan 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Good Soft Coral for Beginners

Comments Easy to care for if you provide adequate lighting.
I began my experience with Xenia using PC lights in a 75 gallon tank and found they will survive if you place them high in the tank near powerheads. They thrive with T5 lighting and good flow. Xenia will spread throughout tank and can encroach on slower growing corals.


Liked about it Easy to care for.
Low lighting requirements.
Not an expensive coral.


Didn't like Can be "Hit or Miss", meaning that a colony will thrive for months without problems and suddenly die off without water parameters.
Once established Xenia can spread like weeds.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By depitch
Jan 09, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

A tricky coral, but can be a great addition

Comments This coral can be somewhat of a challenge; some folks can grow it like a weed while others can't keep it alive. In most cases, good water flow, lighting, and water conditions can make this a great addition to the tank. There's little know about what makes it "pulse", but it can thrive even without doing so.


Liked about it Good movement in the water, attractive pulsing that makes an interesting tank addition, can grow very quickly in proper conditions.


Didn't like Smells terrible when out of the water, can become a nuisance and overgrow a tank if left unchecked, somewhat finicky for some folks, though I never personally had an issue with them.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 19, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Great starter coral

Comments Grows fast and adds awsome pulsing action to the tank. Mine likes high light and low flow.


Liked about it Looks great, spreads fast, and easy to keep. Everything I would want.


Didn't like Easy to put too much flow onto this coral. I keep mine in low flow or else you wont get the pulsing motion.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Reeftanker3295
Dec 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Great! But all of a sudden.

Comments This is one of the most interesting corals on the market(for me). It immediately catches your eyes the way each stalk seems to have a mind of its own. The color is a nice clean pinkish white color. It spreads pretty quickly so leave it room. It doesn't seem to harm other corals but Ive always given it plenty of space. I wouldn't place it in a smaller tank with room limitations.


Liked about it Loved the ease of the coral. The uniqueness of the pulsating stalks. Fills empty spaces pretty quickly.


Didn't like This happened to me and Ive heard stories of it happening to others. The coral can seem to be happy as can be spreading pulsing everything a happy coral should do then all of a sudden the group dies. People say they(these corals)dont like a clean tank. I dont think that was my problem I really try to keep up on my husbandry. I think it's some kind of virus or something that wipes them out. Even with the whole wipe out senario possible I would continue to add these corals to my tank. I would def recommend giving them a try.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By partobe
Sep 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Great Coral. Great starter coral.

Comments Pretty easy to care for. Mine does not seem to worry about lighting and flow too much. It has nearly doubled in size over the last 2 months. The coral is not aggressive at all. It is very active with the light cycle. Mine is currently in a 14g BC with the stock pump and CF lighting.


Liked about it -Very easy to care for.
-Beautiful coral.
-Handles a wide range of tank conditions.
-No Chemistry degree required to care for it.
-Easy to frag! Even I can do it!


Didn't like Not really a bad thing but it can grow pretty fast. I personally like that but many people may be turned off by it.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bb0029
Aug 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Absolutely beautiful.

Comments I love this coral, it's quite attractive and easy to care for.


Liked about it Very beautiful, grows quickly in my tank, pretty easy to care for.


Didn't like nothing really. I kinda wish it didn't split so much though. hehe. Spreads like weeds if it's happy.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Oct 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Thoughts on Xenia Coral

Comments Highly attractive coral in my opinion. Its my wifes favorite, it was a actual first to purchase this for her.


Liked about it Great growth that can be a negative and positive thing. But this will allow you to try your hand a fragging it(fragmenting to grow additional colony for trade). They display a pulsing sensation and respond with the current of the reef very attractive. As the xenia matures it will start to display a tree like apperance(mine does).


Didn't like Great growth that can be a negative and postive thing.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dragonist
Aug 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $21
Compare Prices
at 4 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec346