Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.5 (15)
 Add a review

Toadstool Leather Featured

 
The toadstool leather coral, a soft coral species in the Sarcophyton genus, is found on reef flats and lagoons in Indonesia and Tonga. Commonly referred to as Elegant Leather Coral, Gold Crowned Toadstool Coral, Green Crown Leather Coral, Green Toadstool, Leather Coral, Mushroom Coral, Sarcophyton Coral, Toadstool Mushroom, or Trough Coral, the colors of the toadstool...


Price: $18 to $19 at 7 stores
Searched Toadstool Leather in Reviews
 

 

A great piece and can be kept in a variety of systems. featured

Comments I got My Toad when it was only a 3" Coral, it now Hosts my Pair of Moca Ocellaris Clowns and is roughly 20" in diameter. That's right 20".. This grew extremely fast and in a Low nutrient system. What I lack in nutrient I make up for with Powerful LED lighting. And since the beginning the growth rate has been steady, I have had a handful of Buds fall from the mother colony. I have passed them out and there is now generations of this colony Locally. It can do well and thrive in a variety of systems, and really you can not ask for an easier to care for Coral.


Liked about it I like the color of mine, as well as many other variety in the trade.
It is very easy to care for and will do well in most any system. Also it is not demanding as some LPS and SPS, not CA requirements or any real Rules or death. It can provide certain pros just with shear size and character.


Didn't like I guess if I had to say something I don't like is they do well in an environment, but if you make a sudden change they do not respond well right off the bat. Also they do tend to trap Detritus under the Coral, and it can be a pain to clean up.
Other than those small complaints there really inst anything else in my opinion that would be a "con".


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Treasures of the
Apr 19, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $19
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Hardy and easy to keep coral featured

Comments This is one of the first corals that I ever got and it persisted for years until I finally decided to trade it in to make room in my tank. I first put it in a 20 gallon tank but it quickly out grew that one. I moved it into my 29 gallon BioCube and it quickly out grew that one as well. I finally put it in my 50 gallon but I really wanted the room it took. It was an impressive coral but gets really large and doesn't take that long to get there. I'm not complaining about this but it is something to take into consideration if you want to get a toadstool leather.

I found this coral to be extremely hardy. There was more than one occasion in the early days of keeping reefs when I would neglect my tank or make some error and the leather would retract its polyps for days or seem to shrivel up. Each time though it came back.

I was a little surprised to read that these corals shed, because in the entire time I had it, mine never did, or at least I didn't notice it if it did.

I kept this coral under compact florescent lighting up until it made it into my 50 gallon which had T5HO lighting. So clearly they don't require much light at all. I did find they needed a decent amount of flow, but not too much. Because of their shape they can collect debris and detritus so they require just enough flow to keep them clear of this. If you have too much direct flow they will retract their polyps.

Of the corals commonly referred to as "leather" this is actually my least favorite. It is, however, the most hardy and I do recommend it for beginners.


Liked about it 1. Very hardy.
2. Grows quickly.
3. Fluoresces green under actinic lighting.


Didn't like 1. Can get very large.
2. Tends to hold detritus.


Overall rating:
 
3.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.5

By tcamos
Sep 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $19
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Thoughts on Toadstool leather coral featured

Comments Highly attractive coral, when polyps are extended that where the beauty is displayed. As they grow they will begin to fold. Search Tadstool leather coral in a search engine and you will comprehend my statement. They jsut require good lighting. I run a 54watt 10k and a 54watt actinic on my reef and mine grows and extends polyps with no probelm.


Liked about it Does'nt need alot of lighting(more than a mushroom). When the Toadstool is growing the polyps wll retract and start to display a mucus. This is quite normal the coral will sloth it off when its finish its current growing phase. This is a great coral will recommend every reefer to try out a Toadstool coral.


Didn't like No complaints with this coral.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dragonist
Sep 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $19
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Toadstool leather "great addition to my tank"

Comments The Leather is very easy to take care of so far. I currently have it housed in my 55 gal reef tank and love it. I have 4 T5HO bulbs over the tank. 2 10000k and 2 actinic. I have it placed in the middle of the tank and seems to love the placement. It seems to open a lot more when I put more flow on him rather than less. I spot feed it with rods food at least 3 times a week. This coral is one of my favorites and will never regret the purchase. My fish seems to love it as well. Especially my cleaner shrimp who is always in it or on top of it.


Liked about it I love the colors as well as the smaller size I purchased. Fits well in a smaller reef aquarium. I also love that it is not a high maintenance coral. The polyps are always opened and rarely ever closed. I love the way it flows with the current in the tank.


Didn't like No complaints at all


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Bobby89
Sep 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $19
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

I love toadstool.

Comments Even though I mainly keep SPS I cannot get rid of Toad stool Leathers. Typically you should not keep SPS and leathers together fro chemical warfare but I just love this coral. Low light medium flow and it will be happy. They do "shed
" from time to time so do not freak out if you see it get pale and skin flakes off.


Liked about it I love the long flowing polyps. These also grow pretty fast and are very docile. They will not sting anything and get along well in any tank. I think these are an excellent addition to just about ant tank. They do grow quick.


Didn't like There really is nothing I do not like about this coral.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $19
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Awesome looking coral

Comments These are a very hardy coral that grows at a good rate - not too fast and not too slow - and looks absolutely beautiful. They get huge before dropping off "babies" and are a great substitute for an anemone in a tank if you can't keep one yet. These also, like other leathers, don't grow out and choke out your other corals, they stay put and don't cause any trouble. This is probably one of my favorite corals.


Liked about it I like everything about this coral, it has a great rate of growth, they look awesome, they grow in pretty much any light and flow since the stalk and top are surprisingly tough, and they don't cause trouble in a reef tank. They can also host clowns.


Didn't like Nothing to not like about these guys, they are perfect for any reef centerpiece.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Reeftanker3295
May 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $19
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

The Toadstool Leather Coral

Comments Also referred to as the Sarcophyton Coral. Very easy and hardy coral to care for. They come in several different colors and appearances. When this coral is happy it will extend rather long polyps and stand tall with a folded look. It will grow rapidly wants established. Do not be alarmed during growth period. It appears as if it is sick and dying,but it is actually preparing to shed its skin. Awesome starter coral.


Liked about it As mine grew it seemed to split and create babys. Instant frags.


Didn't like Nothing to dislike.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Mar 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $19
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Beautiful!

Comments This coral, seemed easy, researched, made sure I knew my facts.
But it didn't turn out so well for me.


Liked about it It's like a SPS in Softy form.
Colors.
VERY unique.


Didn't like The "molting" period.
Not as colorful as other corals.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Kakalakasha
Dec 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $19
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Great looking coral

Comments Bought this as a small piece maybe 3 inches opened... its easily 6 inch across polyps/arms extend another 3 inches or so when opened and 6 inches tall when closed in a few months. I placed it in the middle of my tank half way down under t5s. Very easy to care for, no feeding. Flows nice with the water. Does not bother other inhabitants.


Liked about it Very hardy and easy to keep. Keeps growing and looking better in time. Getting wide and tall. Not to much color to draw away from other corals in the tank. Has a nice green and yellow polyps base is flesh color.


Didn't like Nothing to dislike


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By salty198
Oct 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $19
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Toadstool leather

Comments I was given a Toadstool by a friend who took down a reef tank. I have seen Toadstool corals in so many different shapes. The one I was given is tan in color and has a low flat, plate type appearance. I have found mine to be sensitive to movement or touch. If I touch it while cleaning the tank, it will shrivel up for a day or two. I am not 100% happy with the specimen that I have, but it is still relatively new to my tank. I need to give it some more time to settle in.


Liked about it I like Toadstools in general
Attractive shapes
Very hardy


Didn't like I would have preferred one that was taller rather than wider


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Mr.Peanut
Sep 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $19
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Very nice piece!

Comments Can be considered as a hardy coral, very easy to take care of. PC light can do the trick but will grow faster under T-5, MH might be too much. Doesnt need to be fed, it's photosynthetic, liquid food would help but not necessary. Just moved mine to a different spot of lower flow and it opens much bigger. Have had it for over a year and thinking about fragging it.


Liked about it very nice and peaceful looking
easy to take care of and grow very fast
can be fragged easily if it grows too big.


Didn't like Not very colorful, most of the toadstool range from tan - yellow, mine is tannish. But if you have a tank filled with dark color corals, this one would definitely stands out.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By umakemekissu
Sep 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $19
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Love it.

Comments This is a fairly easy coral to care for and grows at a moderate pace. It's not aggressive to my knowledge. I have noticed that if to close to colt corals it is not happy. And it has a little bit of movement. Supplemental feedings are not necessary and I would say a 55g should be the smallest tank size since it can grow very large.


Liked about it I like the appearance of it, that its easy to care for and non aggressive.


Didn't like I dont like it's lack of compatibility with colt corals.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By mshonk2
Mar 25, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $19
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Excellent if it likes your tank.

Comments Very quick grower and easily fragged for trade or SC. Can be moody and refuse to extend polyps for a long time. Personally had one that would close up for months at a time but was still growing and healthy. Does not need to be fed directly. Will "shed" its outer sking as it grows.


Liked about it Growth rate.
Nice conversation piece when large and polyps extended.


Didn't like Nothing other than as stated it can be tempermental and not extend polyps. Can leave you scratching your head to figure out what might be wrong.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By sks4613
Oct 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $19
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Unique adition to the tank.

Comments I wouldn't say this is a high light coral but it's definitely not a low light one. Mine likes it pretty bright. I have a bright green one that is about 3 inches in size and is absolutely beautiful. I love this thing. Mine has been a very slow grower. Every couple weeks it will shrivel up for a couple days but it always opens back up again.


Liked about it Very easy to care for, keep your water clean and give it good light and medium flow.


Didn't like Nothing really, although I wish it would grow faster.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Oct 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $19
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

interesting shape

Comments This is a fairly tolerant coral. It is a good softie to try after things like zoanthids and mushrooms are growing well.


Liked about it It is tolerant, grows fast and tolerates fragging easily.
It has a unique shape and moves pleasantly in the current.
It adds horizontal form to a tank.


Didn't like While it sometimes has a pleasing light green hue, it is often more brown. It is less colorful than other soft corals that are easier to keep.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jenglish
Sep 18, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $19
Compare Prices
at 7 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec346