Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.5 (7)
 Add a review

Sun Coral

 
Sun Corals get their name from the bright orange sphere form that is most commonly found, Sun Corals can also be black or white. These corals lack zooxanthellae, thus they require frequent feeding for nutrition. These corals open at night, and must be fed while their tentacles are expanded. Crushed brine shrimp, mysis shrimp or Cyclopeeze are possible food types that...


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Sun Coral in Reviews
 

 

Worth the money featured

Comments At first the sun coral did not open even at night. It took about 2 weeks before I seen some action, however they finaly started to open and I tried to feed them mysis shrimp, I fount that was pretty difficult so I did some research on this coral and one site told me about cyclopeeze. This was a God send it was a lot easier than the mysis.What I do is feed my fish about 1/2 an hour so when I feed my sun coral the fish leave the sun corals food alone. I also use a tool that looks like a turkey baster but has an extender so I can reach without putting my hands in the water. (you can find this at a good aquarium store)You can also train your sun coral to come out during the day. The secret is when the lights are off feed the sun coral when the lights are out and the flowers are out. Then when the lights come on the flowers will stay out to look for more food.The flowers will capture some mysis on there own instead of getting frustrated by trying to target feed mysis.I find target feeding mysis very difficult as it tends to float away.Try the cyclopeeze it will make feeding so much easier.


Liked about it The flowers are beautiful and it has been said that they are slow growing, however my flowers have really grown since switching to the cyclopeeze. I have not seen and new polyps develop but I am hapy that the floweres are growing telling me I am doing something right.


Didn't like The time that took for the coral to get used to their new tank and the time for the flowers to open which are really feeding tenicals.


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Eileen_1510
Aug 27, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Well--let's just say--I thought it would open more

Comments I have a nice size specimen--3x3 inches. I target feed it at night three times a week. I rarely see it open at all--night or day.


Liked about it It really is a beautiful coral and I am going to get it to like me. It adds some nice orange color to the tank.


Didn't like Super frustration on feeding it. I put a glass shade in the tank, large on bottom, narrow on top and plummet the food in. However, it really does not send extra any extra polps out.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By juicyfruits
Jun 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Talk about high maintenance!!

Comments This is a great coral actually one of the most colorful you can find which is ironic because in the wild these are usually found in caves and under overhangs. They require no light at all but they do require regular feeding at least 2-3 times per week. They com in very vibrant orange to bright red/pink. For the most part they are simple to keep as long as you frrd them from time to time. When happy they will always have their polyps out looking for food. Be sure before you buy one of these you care prepared to give it the time it will need to survive. Like I said it will require regular feedings.


Liked about it The color I do not think you can find a more colorful coral.
The price. They are usually very affordable and readily available at most stores!


Didn't like They are rather slow grower and require regular feedings.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By ckusnierek
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

I love my sun polyps

Comments My sun polyps are beautiful. They took a little work to get used to my tank but it was worth it. I had to feed them every night for about 2 weeks before they would open up during the day to look for their own food. I cut the top off a 2 liter bottle and placed it over the polyps. After it was placed I would remove the lid (you should unscrew the cap half way before putting in the water)and squirt in a small amount of phytoplankton. I would wait until the polyps opened up then add some mysis or brine shrimp. After they started opening up during the day I quit using this method of feeding. Some people say to put them in low light but mine do well in high light. I think it's more important to get them to open up and look for food then placement with this type of coral.


Liked about it They added a bright sunny spot to my tank. After the first two weeks they are super easy to take care of. They can really be put anywhere in the tank because they don't require high light.


Didn't like They were hard to get started but it was worth the effort. I bought a small frag so the crabs knock it over easily. It's doing well but hasn't produced any new polyps (I've had it for about 4 months now) so it grows pretty slow.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By shanalea
May 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Difficult to keep, but not as hard as you've been told

Comments Clearly one of the most attractive corals you can purchase, the color and behavior is fascinating. For years they have been considered difficult to keep, but aquarists who have been doing it for years disagree. There is really only one thing that makes it difficult, and that is the fact the sun coral is not zooxanthellate so must be fed on a daily basis and boy can they eat! Some aquarists with colonies of only a dozen polyps report feeding three blocks of frozen mysis shrimp a day. To make sure they get enough food they must be target fed, which usually means turning the pumps off. Fish and inverts may try to steal food from the sun coral as well. Also, in the wild, they live in caves and under overhangs with very little light, you will need to replicate this in your tank as too much light will kill them. Having them in the dark also reduces the visibility of the bright colors.


Liked about it 1. Awesome color and visual effect
2. Replicates well in the aquarium
3. Unique species that isn't often found in the home aquarium. Your friends will be impressed.


Didn't like 1. Must be target fed daily. This can cost money, take time, and worst of all add to the bio-load of your tank making it more difficult to keep other corals.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By tcamos
Apr 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Challenging non-photosyntheic coral that often opens at night

Comments Sun coral is definitely more for the advanced hobbyist. This coral requires target feeding and is often found open only at night. A beautiful piece, however may be best left to those with proper means of care.


Liked about it Very attractive, non-photosynthetic, and relatively tolerant to elevated nutrient levels in the tank. It does require specific feeding, but I've seen folks train them to open up during the day (which is not natural in most cases).


Didn't like Needs more specific attention/dedication than other corals. It can be challenge to keep for those who arent used to target feeding corals on a regular basis.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Sun Coral

Comments Requires regular attention. Must be target fed. Mostly opened at night.


Liked about it It is a beautiful specimen when opened up. The color is amazing.



Didn't like Mostly opens at night
Must be target fed
Not an "easy" coral to care for


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Mr.Peanut
Oct 13, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec560