Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (19)
 Add a review

Kenya Tree

 
Capnella is commonly referred to as Kenya Tree due to its branched, tree-like shape. Each branch is covered with large polys which expand during light hours. Kenya Trees tend to be very hardy, and are easily clipped and propagated.


Price: $3 to $8 at 5 stores
Searched Kenya Tree in Reviews
 

 

Hardy coral featured

Comments This is an easy to care for coral. It grows quickly and can survive in high or low lighting. It is non-aggressive, but can take over your tank when budding when it gets too large. If you don't keep up with trimming it back and with picking up the new buds you will have them stuck all over your live rock. I do not feed mine. Tank size is dependent upon how large of a coral you get and how large you would like it to grow.


Liked about it This coral is hardy, grows quickly, and is remarkably easy to care for.


Didn't like Extra time is required to keep stray buds in the tank to a minimum. But since they are non-aggressive it is not a big deal.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By jschulzpt
Oct 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Great beginning coral to add to new tank. featured

Comments I can't say enough good things about this coral. It is not the prettiest coral but its uses go far beyond its appearance. It is being sold as a Kenya tree or sometime cauliflower tree and occasionally Nephthea/Nephthya.
If this coral likes your tank it will grow like a weed. It will propagate itself simply by dropping branches or can simply be cut and glued to plugs for propagation. While it is not difficult to find it does have some value for SC or trading among other fellow reefers. The thing I like best about this coral is that while it is hardy it is VERY sensitive to poor water conditions. If you walk by your tank and it is closed or bunched up something is off. So, if you don't care to spend hundreds, or even thousands $$$ on various testers, sensors, probes and other expensive "gizmos" to let you know when water conditions are going sideways....Just add some of this coral, then keep a close eye on it. For this fact alone I add them to every new tank that is set up. More often than not it is something simply as time for a water change or a shift in PF or salinity. The Kenya tree will let you know long before anything gets out of hand.


Liked about it Very sensetive to shifts in water chemistry.
Grows quickly for propagation.
Low light tolerant and will do well in a wide range of flow rates


Didn't like Grows quickly and can be a pain.
Doesn't add much color or beauty to the tank.
Likes to be in direst flow but is very wavy.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By sks4613
Oct 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

FYI

Comments I just wanted to add: I had a sort of "dead spot" in my tank where the water circulation wasn't up to par and I couldn't seem to get anything to thrive there. I put a Kenya tree in that spot a couple of months ago and it has thrived. So, I would say that this a good thing to try where nothing else is happy. :)
I also read somewhere that one should not put this near xenia; I totally violated that rule, and it doesn't seem to have bothered either coral one bit.


Liked about it 1. movement--Kenya tree isn't static in the tank like sps, it moves in the current
2. quick growing
3. interesting to watch open in the AM


Didn't like 1. pinkish/beige-ish color--sometimes I feel as though my tank is getting dominated by stuff that is the same pinkish color as the Kenya tree
2. monochromatic--I have a little tank and I want a lot of color so I really prefer having corals that are multicolored
3. I did pay for it--$10 at LFS, which (I gather) means I got ripped off

3.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By kdykens
Nov 14, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Great from Beginner to Advanced Aquarist

Comments This coral is easy to keep in many different areas of the tank and not too needy on light, adds a nice "tree" look in the tank with gentle swaying in the current. It is not aggressive at all and will not choke out other coral. It grows rapidly once it takes off and is easy to frag. No special attention is required for them either, just place in tank and enjoy. It also makes a nice background coral since it gets tall.


Liked about it Makes great background coral since it gets tall.
Not aggressive to other corals
Not demanding like some other corals


Didn't like Honestly nothing to not like about it in my opinion


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By SaltyBiker
May 24, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

A must for the first timer!

Comments Super easy to care for! Its not too aggressive towards other corals. I bought mine at the local fish store they can have great deals on these guys. My favorite this about these corals is they are a warning signal! If something is wrong with the water, they will close shut nice and tight! People say they don't like dirty water, well what coral does? It mainly "eats" things from the water and cleans it, it's primary growth is not photosynthesis although it does close at night. It's pretty easy to frag, if you have basic fragging skills, but its not as easy to frag as an sps. Great for filling in the places in those reefs where there isn't much light or water movement.


Liked about it - Adds movement into an aquarium, another dimension!
- Easy to care for & frag
- Great for a nano if looked after
- Looks nice and generic, nothing flashy, but it "fills in"
- Nice shape
- Instant warning sign, closes up when something is wrong in water column.


Didn't like - No other colors
- Can get crazy if not looked after


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Arteom Shostak
Mar 08, 2011
 
Last updated: March 22, 2011
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

love it

Comments the tank barometer.These are fairly hardy but will shrink up pretty fast when water parameters are off. they aren't very aggressive, and grow realatively fast and drop branches to create more trees. it is active as far as movement but not so much activity for feeding. In fact i don't know if it really accepts food from spot feeding. i think trace elements and lighting feed this animal. They don't seem to get along with Xenia(not to be mistaken with anthelia). they can be housed in the same tank but not close to each other. I don't reccommend keeping both in nano tanks smaller that 20g. also if you have various corals in your tank with a kenya tree or any soft coral i would run carbon.


Liked about it Love the size of this coral, i also like the movement it provides the tank, how easy it is to care for, how easy it is to frag, and how it stays hardy but lets you know of changes in water parameters.


Didn't like Can't be next to xenia


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By mshonk2
Feb 28, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

An aptly named coral that's easy to grow

Comments There were two things that initially attracted me to this coral and caused me to buy it, first, it actually looked like some African tree, I liked that and thought it was unique. While Acropora are branching, they look like dead trees, the Kenya tree looks like a live tree. The second thing was the price, it was $11. Now that I am more familiar with this coral I realize I could have gotten some free from any number of aquarists just dying to give it away because it grows so well and they have too much.

Care for the Kenya tree coral is pretty easy and it can be considered by beginners as a good starter coral. It requires moderate lighting but can handle bright, and it likes a more moderate flow, not too strong or it tends to close up.

It does not require feeding but may need to be supplemented with Iodine and Strontium. Kent Coral-vite seems to meet its needs as that is what I use and my coral has never stopped growing. It doubled in size in just a couple of months and I have heard of it growing even faster.

You will notice it dropping some of its branches off from time to time, this is normal and is how the coral propagates. You can share these with friends or enemies.

Kenya trees seem to be good at chemical warfare and can affect corals growing near them so just make sure it has plenty of room and if it gets to close to prized corals removed it.

Just a quick side note, when I purchased my Kenya tree it had a small brittle star clinging to its branches, that little star fish is still there and moves around finding what food it needs. You may find as your Kenya tree grows that it will provide a safe haven for infauna as well.


Liked about it 1. Affordable
2. Nice shape and movement in current
3. Hardy and grows quickly


Didn't like 1. Can grow too quickly
2. Good at chemical warfare and can keep other corals from growing near it.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Jun 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Great starter coral

Comments These grow very fast and are extremely easy to frag. They bring a nice moving feeling to the tank as they sway back and forth in the current. They can live in almost all conditions and still grow fast. I got one 2 months ago and it has grown at least 6" and grew 5 new branches. They also grow straight up so no worries about killing other corals!


Liked about it Fast growers
Easy to frag
Give a really nice swaying motion which adds a lot of emphasis to the tank


Didn't like Really nothing to complain about with these. They grow fast and don't choke out other corals.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Reeftanker3295
May 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

easy to care for

Comments This is a very easy coral to care for and no traget feeding is required. It grows fast and seems to do well wherever I have placed it. It is also very easy to propagate.


Liked about it It sways in the current.


Didn't like I wish it was more colorful.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By shanalea
May 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

worth every penny

Comments very easy to care for, very fast grower even with low light, grows well under t5


Liked about it easy to care for, fast growth


Didn't like dont really have any dislikes with kenya


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By reefwreck
Apr 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Worth the money, fast grower!

Comments I got about five tiny frags of this and added them to my pico and nano tanks. They have quickly more than doubled in size in a matter of weeks. In a month or so, they should be large enough to add to my 210gal without losing them! Very hardy coral and easy to keep. One of the frags has fallen off the rock a couple times and others have been trampled by my crabs, and they all look great still! Opens quickly when the lights come on and has not bothered any other corals. i do not have to spot feed this coral, it seems to be happy with just the lights.


Liked about it Very fast grower, but hasn't taken over. Easy to move and split. Hardy coral, doesn't require any special feeding. A great sandbed coral, but will grow on the rocks too. Flows nice and is a great addition to my tank!


Didn't like Fast grower that could possibly take over, but easy propagation makes it great to sell or give away. Not as brightly colored as other corals.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By andbob25
Apr 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Kenya Tree....Easy to care for

Comments I have had my tank up and running for 6 months now so this review is more of a beginners viewpoint. I have had 2 kenya trees. Both purchased at same time. I melted away and the other has done fine. My tank parameters have always been very good but I never had the problem of this tree multiplying like others. I know it will get large and is a good coral to fill an empty space in your tank. I can say I will always have one of these in my tank.


Liked about it As far as corals go, these trees are fairly inexpensive. They do seem to tolerate a lot in your tank. Mine have made it thru alot of "tank establishing" time and although not growing like a weed it seems to be doing well.


Didn't like Not the most colorful coral you could put into the tank. Mine seems to expand and contract alot. Does not do well near other corals.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By deanp88
Mar 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

fast, strong, hardy!!!

Comments the kenya tree is a perfect addition to most beginner tanks, not only does it add some color and life to the background of the tank but, itn also grows rather quickly (IMO faster than most soft corals). if the color and the growth rate isnt enough this coral will also guarantee hardynes like no other. in conclusion, if you are starting a new tank the kenya tree might be what you are looking for... if you already have an established tank, this will make a nice addition to your livestock.


Liked about it -fast growth
-hardy
-color


Didn't like -could be aggressive
-could not ge along with some hard corals


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Mar 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Rapid grower and super easy to care for.

Comments These things don't require much of anything other then decent lighting and a clean tank. They grow fast and is not very active except when it opens and closes. They multiply like rabbits. I thought it was dying the first time I experienced it. It seems to drop little frags in the tank and they will attach to something and start growing. They are super easy to frag and I have had great luck with them. Some people might not like how fast the grow but I really enjoy it. I would love to have a tank full of these and star polyps with nothing else. The only real problem I have with them is that they have a tendency to block some of the light for the corals below it, even corals that are not too demanding when it comes to light.


Liked about it They are fast growing, easy to care for and very easy to frag. I really like corals that I can frag with great success and this is one of them. They are very hardy and a great coral to frag for beginners. The tree appearance is something else I enjoy. They look like little trees and once they get bigger the top portion of it is beautiful.


Didn't like Once they get big they block a good bit of light from reaching stuff below it. The "trunk" portion of it is pretty blah and the color leaves a lot to be desired but beauty of the canopy is that caught my eye.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bb0029
Mar 08, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

a simple soft coral, good addition for softy tanks

Comments While relatively bland in color, this coral can grow very quickly and make a nice addition to a softy tank. Not always suitable for tanks with stony corals, though, as it can be somewhat aggressive and there could be chemical warfare concerns.


Liked about it Quick grower, gives nice movement in the water. Also, it is easily propagated and can be shared with fellow hobbyists. Very tolerant of lower water quality, and will even do better with a bit more nutrient content (especially compared to systems designed for strictly stony corals).


Didn't like Aggressive, can over-run a tank if left unchecked. Can be found sprouting throughout the tank once added, which can be hard to get rid of.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 17, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

BROWN!

Comments Very easy to keep and a pretty quick grower!


Liked about it Very unique shape and design.
The little tiny polyps!
Sways beautifully in the breeze.


Didn't like Not much to dislike!
I guess it's kind of generically colored.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Kakalakasha
Dec 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Great beginner coral!

Comments These guys are incredibly easy to care for and grow/reproduce very fast. It is a fairly peaceful coral.


Liked about it I love how fast they grow and reproduce and their ease of care.


Didn't like Nothing bad here!


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By wii64brawl
Nov 11, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Nice addition

Comments This is very easy to care for. Everything I read said medium flow but when i moved to higher position and high flow of water the thing started growing like crazy.


Liked about it Grows fast, you can watch it eat(for kids). It looks nice


Didn't like It seems to go through a cycle where it droops over once a month


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By richieg0324
Nov 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Fast growing

Comments Very easy to care for. I keep mine with PC lighting and they are thriving. I do not think its too aggressive, I have a spot where it touches some zoa's and they do not seem to mind.


Liked about it Nice looking coral.
Adds a nice "sway" to the tank.
Easy to care for, no feeding required.


Didn't like Grows a little too fast


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Mr.Peanut
Oct 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $8
Compare Prices
at 5 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec346