Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.8 (13)
 Add a review

Hammer Coral Featured

 
The Hammer Coral, Branched is a large polyp stony (LPS) coral and often referred to as Euphyllia Hammer Coral or Anchor Coral. Its common names are derived from the appearance of its hammer-, or anchor-shaped tentacles. Its polyps are visible throughout the day and night and hide its skeletal base. It may be green, tan, or brown in color, with lime green or yellow...


Price: $16 to $199 at 12 stores
Searched Hammer Coral in Reviews
 

 

great coral

Comments This is an easy to care for coral, though it is aggressive. It will sting other corals and varying on the type of coral and the person you can get a minor sting also. as far as LPS go it is a fast grower, It retracts at night and opens up when the lights kick on. its tentacles have a waving or flowing like motion and offers reasonable movement to the tank. there is no need to feed this coral directly but will usually accept supplemental feedings. This coral should be allowed room to grow and room from other corals since it will sting with it's feeder tentacle.


Liked about it i love the motion of this coral, the color varieties that are available, and how easy it is to care for.


Didn't like wish it didn't sting other corals


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By mshonk2
Mar 24, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $199
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Great addition

Comments Well I put my hammer in after 3 years after my set up, but it is a beginners level coral.. It took me time to find the right one.. As they do have a few color types. Mine is neon green with pink tips.. The most common one is green with blue tips.. I placed my in the bottom of the tank under a decent flow but not to much where the flow could hurt the coral. Most of these types of corals will let you know where and when they are happy by extension.. They can go in any tank size from a 2.5 gallon to a 500 gallon.. As for aggression they do sting and can hurt other corals as for at night they do have sweeping tentacles.. They can grow fairly fast under the right conditions..


Liked about it I personally like the movement this coral.. The wavy-ness is nice to look at. The color is beautiful and under certain lights can be amazing. I use led for my actinic and this coral just "pops"...


Didn't like There is not one thing I don't like about this coral, though I wish it would not be capable of stinging another coral


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By saltlifefan4278
Jan 01, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $199
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Beautiful, but aggressive coral

Comments This was the first LPS coral I purchased. The reason I like it is that it has the nice movement that is usually reserved for soft corals. They do best in a wave environment with a nice back and forth. Too much direct flow can cause problems with them but they need enough to make their tentacles sway a bit.

They don't like bright light, don't like too much flow, and like to be fed. They extend sweeper tentacles at night, which can be several inches long, up to six inches. These tentacles will sting other corals and damage them. For this reason you must keep plenty of space between it and other corals.

Once my Hammer got larger I started adding calcium to the tank but when it was smaller this wasn't an issue. Even so, it doesn't really require much.

I keep mine at the very bottom of my tank.

I would say this isn't for new aquarists, but should be okay for those with a few months of experience under their belts.


Liked about it 1. Very attractive.
2. Affordable LPS.


Didn't like 1. Aggressive.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Oct 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $199
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Instant attraction in tank

Comments This was my first lps coral that was put in my tank. It is great for beginners. I love the neon green color under my actinic light. It hasn't bothered any of my other corals. It dosen't take much lighting, so even under power compacts, this will grow nicely. You will need to give this guy plenty of space as he will sting other neighbors. Just needs low to medium flow.


Liked about it The color is great. This coral is easily cared for. It is pretty inexpensive, and yet has a bit of elegance to it. This coral is easy to frag, or you can wait for it to split on it's own.


Didn't like It grows slow and you will need to make sure it is glued down good as it won't attach to rocks like other corals will. It will also sting nearby neighbors.


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By br0ken68
Sep 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $199
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

A gret coral for anyone.

Comments This was one of my first LPS corals. It is a great beginner coral and east to just about anyone to keep. They require medium light and medium to high flow. They can extend pretty far so be sure to give them lots of space. They are simple to care for and do not require any feedings. They are a branching coral and in many tank can grow rather quickly. The best way to mount these is with super glue or epoxy putty. they will not grow onto and attach to rock like other coral so make sure you anchor them well.


Liked about it This coral had great color and is a good grower. It requires no feedings. In the right conditions it can really stretch out and get long flowing tentacles.


Didn't like It will sting anything it touches so be careful where you place this coral.
It will not attach to the rocks so you have to use lots of adhesive to keep it in place.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $199
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Great purchase!! Easy coral!

Comments This was one of the first corals we added to our tank. It is a pretty inexpensive coral and great for beginners. Has good color and interesting shape. This has been a very hardy coral that has gone through a few tank upgrades and still looks great! It hasn't bothered any of our other corals, but we give everyone plenty of space so we don't have problems. It seems to prefer lower flow, but did well with medium/high flow in our display tank (DT). Opens nicely and has great color under our power compact lighting. It has gotten bigger since we've had it, but has yet to split into more heads. I have been told it is an easy coral to frag, so if it does get too big, that won't be a problem.


Liked about it Green and pink variety is very pretty. Tolerates high or low lighting, but prefers medium to low flow rates. Does not require special feedings and is not a very temperamental coral.


Didn't like The only thing I wish would be different about this coral is that it grew quicker. Everything else about this coral has been great!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By andbob25
Apr 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $199
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

great addition to any tank

Comments the hammer coral is a great, colorful, lively coral that is relatively easy to care for. having a hammer in a tank adds elegance and life that almost no other coral can add. this coral can be picky, and since it does have feeders that could sting other corals, i would only recommend it to people that already have experience in the hobby.


Liked about it -color
-shape
-opens in both day and night


Didn't like -feeders (not always sting other corals)
-growth (kinda of slow)
-picky (will only open in certain conditions)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Mar 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $199
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Beautiful coral but mine where aggressive.

Comments The one I had was not too hard to care for. I originally bought it for a pair of clowns but they would have nothing to do with it. They investigated it but never took to it. I think mine was pretty aggressive. At night when the main lights went out it would send out its tentacles and would punish the people down flow from it. I am pretty sure it was using some kind of chemical warfare as well. Pretty much everything down flow from it became a little more reclusive and would not open up all the way. Feeding was a piece of cake but I believe you need better then average lighting for it too.


Liked about it Beautiful coral.
Relatively inexpensive.
Not too difficult to care for.
Easy to frag.


Didn't like Pretty aggressive

Overall pretty cool coral but might be a little too aggressive in a nano tank. I think these guys need a lot of wiggle room.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By bb0029
Mar 08, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $199
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

My favorite LPS

Comments I love hammer corals. There's just something about them that makes them a really cool addition to the tank. Beautiful coloration. The meandroid (wall type) morphology offers fascinating shapes, especially when the start getting to show sizes. If not kept in a clean, well maintained tank; these, and all Euphyllids, can easily contract brown jelly disease which is a protozoan that will feed on the coral's flesh. BJD usually spells death of the polyp or entire colony.


Liked about it Great looking coral.
Generally pretty easy to care for.
Adds some interesting movement in the tank.


Didn't like Can be susceptible to protozoan infestation (brown jelly disease) if not well cared for.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By wharyat
Jan 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $199
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Wonderul coral to add some "movement" in the tank

Comments While not as easy as some of the corals, many of the Euphyllia genus (including hammer coral) make good additions for relatively inexperienced hobbyists. I would recommend this coral if you've had success with other starter corals such as mushrooms, zoanthids, etc.


Liked about it Very attractive coral, relatively hardy, and can grow very quickly into a centerpiece or showpiece. Great choice for starters. Provides great movement that's not often found with SPS corals, this should fare well in any type of tank with adequate lighting.


Didn't like Can sting other corals within reach of the feelers (say 6" or so), does require more light than soft corals.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 17, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $199
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Likes a quiet spot

Comments This coral is an interesting one. It doesn't like a lot of flow. Does well under PC lights.Not very aggressive .Slow grower and very active. I have mine in a 34g tank and it doesn't eat much but I try brine shrimp every now and then.Has done well


Liked about it I like the color and shape of this coral. It adds a nice splash to a small tank.After being in the tank for 4 months it split into 3 separate heads . Very nice tank mate . Doesn't seem to bother anyone. Great for small tanks


Didn't like Slow grower but just fine with me . I have a small tank .


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By biowheel
Nov 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $199
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Great coral for the money

Comments pretty easy to care for
not aggressive at all
went form 3 heads to 4 in a few short months under power compact lighting close to the bottom of the tank


Liked about it very nice coloration
nice movement in the tank
have seen no aggesion at all


Didn't like love this coral, nothing bad to say


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By swnoobie
Oct 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $199
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Hammer Coral

Comments Not very difficult to care for at all. A little more than doubled its size in 9 months. During the day the coral is fully extended, at night it pretty much pulls itself in.


Liked about it Very attractive green coloration
Adds nice movement to the tank


Didn't like No complaints


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
Oct 04, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $199
Compare Prices
at 12 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec560