Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.9 (7)
 Add a review

Duncan

 
An LPS coral, the duncan or whisker coral is native to the deeper waters of Western and Northern Australia and the South China Sea. They prefer low to moderate lighting and flow. Colonies form via long, tubular corallites with stunning neon green oral discs. Boasts vibrant purple tentacles that retract when disturbed.


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Duncan in Reviews
 

 

Get A Dunance featured

Comments This is a coral that I started out with when I first started the marine hobby. I ain't a big reef enthusiast as I like. I just tend to grab whatever I find safe for my reef and looks nice or acts interesting. I learned in time that I really like having coral that I can feed. Soft Coral is nice and easy, and looks really good. SPS too, but those are hard to keep. But most of all, I like it when I could feed a coral.
I learned many LPS can be fed and will readily devour meaty items like Krill and even silversides. When I went looking, I find a piece of Duncan that had three heads on it. one small head near the bottom and two larger heads at the very top. It took well to my 46-gallon with just Nova Extreme T-5's on it.
Well its been over a year and a half and this coral has flourished. IT has been my biggest grower. What was once two heads near the top has now become perhaps nearly fifteen. I haven't exactly counted, but it looks like organized chaos of many, many heads. I'm eager to see how big this will get.

As for that lower head... it never grew at all. It stayed healthy and that's about all it did. A few days ago I actually just cut that head off since it was going to be overshadowed by the heads on top... and I threw it into my newest 120 gallon tank. So far its doing well too. Opens every day, eats and acts like it wasnt fragged. I'm eager to see how long it will take for this single head to sprout many, many more.


Liked about it Its a very undemanding coral. It will be satisfied just sitting on its own, so it doesn't need any tending too. Just put it in a decent spot, and it will be just fine.

It's a nice looking coral overall as well. I haven't seen a duncan that was any color but green. Green looks very alive in an aquarium though. At the same time it isn't too much.

Not very expensive either. They're readily available and easy to frag. Even if you screw up, it won't cost much to replace the coral.



Didn't like I do wish they had different colors outside of green at times. Many other corals have lots of aesthetic variance such as shape and color. Duncan do not.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Peacockbass
Mar 13, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Beautiful and easy coral featured

Comments In my experience Duncan's have been an easy coral to care for. There are no extra steps that need to be taken to have this coral thrive in your aquarium. Keep stable parameters in your tank and these guys will flourish. I would recommend keeping this coral low in your tank. I have mine on my sand bed with low to moderate flow and low to moderate lighting. I bought a two headed frag about a year ago, and I count over fifteen heads today.
This coral is not aggressive. Although, I recommend you give it some space since it is a relatively fast growing coral. I only target feed my Duncan once or twice a month. I believe they would be as healthy as they are without target feedings(it's fun for me, so I do it).


Liked about it I like the fact that this coral is "easy" to take care of. It is a beautiful coral as well. They are also an affordable piece to buy. If you're a novice reef keeper, looking to get into LPS, I would suggest giving the Duncan coral a shot.


Didn't like I honestly have nothing bad to say about Duncan's. Great looking coral, cheap, and relatively easy to care for.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dirtycontour
Jul 21, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

The trick to duncans is... featured

Comments I wish I knew the answer to that question when I tried my first small duncan colony...I didn't...so it died. What is the trick? Clean water and perfect placement. The clean water part is easy but I had to move my duncan around several times before I found the sweet spot. That spot turned out to be low but constant flow and with less light. My colony is close to the bottom of my tank and sheltered by a rock from the powerhead's direct action. In this spot my duncan colony has gone from 3 heads to 12 in a very short time.

Your duncans will eat well if you target feed them, and grow much faster if you do. I stopped feeding mine because I didn't want them to grow as fast but they are still healthy and bright green with lighter colored tentacles. Water changes alone seem to provide the calcium duncans need to grow. In a tank with heavy LPS or SPS the calcium needs change so this is something to test and supply the coral on a regular basis. If you don't the coral won't grow properly and this can cause shorter and bunched heads.

All in all this is a great coral for those with a little experience in LPS. If you have kept candy canes alive for a few months or a favia, give duncans a try. Start small to save money and let it grow.


Liked about it 1. Moderately priced for a small colony of just a few heads. This is a good size to start with.
2. Perhaps the most attractive LPS out there (opinion of course) and much easier to care for than elegance.
3. Very easy to frag by just breaking off a head at a convenient junction in the branches.


Didn't like 1. Temperamental in terms of placement and water quality. If your water needs changed you will know it because your duncan will be closed up. If it has too much light or too much flow, it will close up.
2. Grows faster when target fed which is another chore and another expense.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Aug 03, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Just Beautiful

Comments Very easy to care for, IMO. Beautiful flowing tubular flower like LPS with mouths! Yes, I target feed them, each head, about 1 time per week, thawed shrimp and such. In about 18 months has gone from 3 small heads to over 12! One of my very favorite corals. Very hardy and not very light demanding. Needs moderate flow to filter feed. Find a nice open place for it and leave it be as it will retract quite quickly. I have mine fairly high up away from other coral to give it more room to grow.


Liked about it Beautiful Calming Sway
Avid Grower
Great Coloration


Didn't like Can be reclusive if disturbed, for days!
Closes up sometimes to "grow"


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dcime
Nov 16, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Fantastic coral

Comments This hardy lps coral is rapidly gaining popularity amongst the reefing community, and for good reason. The duncan coral is a fast growing and gorgeous coral that will fill empty spot very nicely. This coral is very hardy once established and will maintain fast growth with stable parameters. The Duncan coral prefers low to medium light as well as low to medium flow. They are a good fit for a sand bed, or other low flow area of the tank. From my experience, these corals do best when they are spot fed about once a week. I feed my colony mysis shrimp from a turkey baster. I highly recommend this coral.


Liked about it Fast grower
Beautiful
quick eater
Hardy


Didn't like Nothing so far


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dpoltsdsu
Oct 10, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

great beginner LPS

Comments The Duncan coral is incredibly low-maintenance. It grows very quickly and does not require much effort. I bought mine with one head, and now I count over 10. You can spot feed it things like mysis and cyclop-eeze and it will grow even more. It is very cool to watch the Duncan eat. The duncan will thrive in nearly all aquariums, as long as the water parameters are stable. It grows to a good size without much help. Also, it may sting nearby corals. all in all, a great beginner LPS, great looking, and inexpensive.


Liked about it 1. inexpensive
2. good looking
3. easy to care for
4. even fun to watch!


Didn't like the only thing is, it will sometimes sting my other corals


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By chrisfrat
Sep 12, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Beautiful Coral

Comments Duncans are a beautiful coral from Australia that are considered a moderate care coral. I find them to be easy to care for. This coral loves to be fed and will eat mysis and brine shrimp eagerly. For good growth this coral should be fed at leat 2-3 times a week. They prefer to have low to moderate lighting and a low to moderate flow. There coloring is very interesting it is neon green, purple, and a beige shade.


Liked about it Unique coloring, easy care, interesting to watch.


Didn't like For someone who is busy feeding this coral 2-3 times a week may get too demanding.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fishoutofwater25
Nov 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec560