Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.1 (10)
 Add a review

The New Marine Aquarium by Michael S. Paletta

 
Creating a beautiful, thriving first saltwater aquarium has never been easier, using the natural, simplified methods learned and practiced by the world's leading reef hobbyists. By helping newcomers avoid the pitfalls...


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched The New Marine Aquarium by Michael S. Paletta in Reviews
 

 

One of the better beginner books I've read featured

Comments I purchased this book from Amazon before I even had a marine tank. I was still keeping freshwater planted tanks but had started to get the coral-bug that infects so many aquarist.

This book gave me a good foundation to start from. All the basics are covered, live rock, skimmers, UV, testing, salinity, etc.

It also has a good deal of information on a few fish. Enough to help a beginner pick a couple to start with.

This is a beginner book though, and you will quickly move on from it to something more in depth. That doesn't mean I recommend skipping this book though. I like the way it explains things and feel like many new aquarists would get a better head start on the hobby if they had a book like this around.

Once you have learned what's in this book, you really won't use it that much as a reference. Pass it along to a friend!

Below is mentions if we would consider buying this again. Because I've moved on, I wouldn't, but I put a 5 because if I don't regret having purchased it the first time.


Liked about it 1. Good beginner information for setting up a marine tank.
2. Plenty of pictures to look at.


Didn't like 1. A beginner book that gives general information but isn't really too detailed.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Good Beginners book

Comments This book is a great addition to a beginner saltwater aquarist. It covers the basics of the nitrogen cycle, testing, live rock, salinity, etc. I found it to be less useful than some of the more advanced books since I had been reading about this stuff for a few weeks prior to buying it. I was hoping it had more information that Saltwater Aquariums for dummies, but it didnt.


Liked about it Builds a good foundation of knowlege for the beginner Saltwater aquarist.


Didn't like Not that many pictures.
Printed on cheaper paper than some books, dont let it get wet or it will be ruined.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Rustl3r
Mar 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Good book for beginners

Comments This is a simple book that may help out folks just starting in the hobby to grasp basic concepts of setting up an aquarium, filtration, etc. Also helps with learning the terms of the hobby.


Liked about it this is a simple book that's very straight forward and well written. It touches on the basics of the hobby and should provide a good foundation for beginners to build upon.


Didn't like It's not very advanced, so it's not something that I find myself referencing later on. I'd say it's probably good to borrow over something that you're going to want on hand for years to come.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Pretty good book for those new to the hobby

Comments This book gives a pretty good amount of information, and not in a way that is difficult to understand or intimidating. It is a great book for beginners who are new to this hobby.


Liked about it Simple explanations of the hobby and how to set up a basic tank. Explains all the basics and yet still has a bit of info about the more advanced aspects of the hobby.


Didn't like The book (at least my copy) is a bit out-of-date and could use explanations of some of the newer technologies that now are commonplace. However, maybe the book has been revised or a new edition is out by now. My copy is pretty old, I think.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By schneijt
Jan 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

ehh....not much info

Comments i wouldn't buy this book again. its pretty outdated(still talks about under-gravel filters) and really doesn't provide any really useful info. i learned more in my first couple hours on TRT. buy natural reef aquariums by tullock instead. i understand that its a beginners intro book, but after reading it I knew little more than when i started.


Liked about it its glossy and has some nice pictures. i guess it serves as motivation of sorts.


Didn't like outdated info. talks about under-gravel filters. really doesn't talk much about live rock.


Overall rating:
 
1.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By guitarherowanab
Sep 21, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Starter Book

Comments Its a great starter book. It gives you simple step by step instructions on how to set up an aquarium and how to maintain it.


Liked about it easy to read


Didn't like Its just enough to give you an idea of how to get started - It could have gone into more depth on some of its points of interest.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By scubasteve3610
Oct 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Good short read

General If you want facts fast, this is a great book. It will give you simple techniques to hold any life you could imagine in your tank. Michael Palleta has a great understanding of the saltwater aquarium trade, and should be praised for this book.


Liked about it Short and to the point


Didn't like Not a whole lot of info, but enough to get you started on the right foot.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fihsboy
Jul 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great Starter Book

General Would recommend this book for anyone starting out in hobby.


Liked about it Step by step instructions on how to set up and cycle tank.
Basic guide on how to start up and what to test for.
Also has small amount of information on fish diseases.


Didn't like Set up guide is based on Fish only type tanks does not have much discussion about water flow and lighting.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By depitch
Jul 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Top Beginner Guide

General I recommend this book for every person I meet who is even considering a marine tank. This book contains the information necessary to get anyone a good start in the marine hobby. I would call it the only book anyone will need to buy, but the information in this book will easily get anyone started. The key: read and heed.


Liked about it A nice step-by-step guide for beginners. Easy to understand. Includes a checklist for beginners.


Didn't like Have not found anything that I don't like about this book.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ILuvMyGoldBarb
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Good First Book

General Easy to read and explains the basics plus is really inexpensive.


Liked about it This was the first book i read when thinking about starting saltwater fish and i still keep it around. I would recommend it to anyone who is thinking of starting or is planning on their first saltwater tank. It's easy to read and contains useful information that anyone new to the hobby should know right off the bat.


Didn't like Nothing a good first read.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By quick_murdoc
Mar 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec433