Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.7 (9)
 Add a review

The Conscientious Marine Aquarist by Robert M. Fenner 2nd Edition

 
The Conscientous Marine Aquarist


Price: $32 to $55 at 3 stores
Searched The Conscientious Marine Aquarist by Robert M. Fen 2nd Edition in Reviews
 

 

Everything you ever wanted to know about saltwater

Comments This book is a must have for all beginners and advanced reef keepers.
Extremely informative. Filled with pictures. This book detail everything you need to know about keeping marine aquariums from a basic fish only tank to a full blow reef. All the do's and don't. If your thinking about getting a reef tank or even if you have had one for year find some time to read this book and you will learn something new! It's not a pleasure read. At almost 500 pages it's going to take some time to read this one. Fenner thought of everything. He lays it out from you from selection of tank and equipment to selection and care for your fish and corals. This is another must have in any reef library!


Liked about it It has everything you need in a single book. From start up to care and maintenance.
This is a very thought out and detail book.
It's written by Bob Frnner, one of the foremost authorities on marine aquarium.


Didn't like It's a little big and won't fit in your pocket.
Took me 3 months to read!
It's a bit salty at about $70


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
Jul 16, 2009
 
Last updated: May 25, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $55
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great Book!

General This is a must have for any saltwater tank enthusiast. Fenner who runs Wet Web Media takes a no nonsense approach to the hobby. He is very conscious of the well being of the living creatures that we place in our glass cages and really educates the end user on the care and maintenance of the organisms we keep. He does not mince words, not to be mean rather because he genuinely cares about the creatures. If newbies would read this book prior to setup there would be a lot less death from ignorance. This book is great for anyone with a FOWLR to a fullblown reef tank.


Liked about it Easy to understand
A wealth of information, not only on setup but of inverts, fish, and coral.
great pictures


Didn't like My version was a little dated with the undergravel filter, I don't know any reefers that use an undergravel filter these days.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Kyuss
Jun 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $55
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Good book to own

Comments This a very informative book and a must read for anyone starting out in the saltwater hobby. Lots of pics and fairly indepth. Good for even your non-reef guests to check out while visiting.


Liked about it Lots of pictures to help explain what the type is referring to.
It covers setup, maintenance, fish and inverts.
Good coffee table book!


Didn't like Kind of pricy.
Should include more detail on LPS and SPS.
Could be updated a little.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By lowpt
Jul 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $55
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Practical advice on what works

Comments Overall this book can be a little pricey but you get a lot for your money. It offers practical advice that works. Overall the author is conservative and shys away from new methods for more time proven approaches. Overall, this book stresses doing things right and trying to provide a good habitat in our tanks.


Liked about it - Practical Advice
- Good breadth of content
- Conservative approaches


Didn't like - Livestock section could be better but then again this is not a livestock book
- Price. Not too bad but there are cheaper books
- some info is dated


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bpatrick
Jul 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $55
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Awesome Book!

General Its a very very good book for the beginner. For advanced aquarists its good for reference but it wont tell you anything you don't already know. This is the book that got me hooked into the hobby. I still read it from time to time and I always check the stats on the fish before I buy something. Very helpful book!


Liked about it Gives you a very broad understanding of the hobby and how to before you get your hands wet.


Didn't like Simple descriptions, nothing too in depth.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fihsboy
Jul 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $55
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great starter book

General Easy reading, great pictures.


Liked about it A wide array of information in regards to the hobby. I think that this is a good book for anyone that is interested in starting.


Didn't like Not a lot of specifics for an experienced person


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By jschulzpt
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $55
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Good Book

General I have the first edition released and it was a great reference at the time. It is,of course, dated now and the second edition seems to provide better updated information if you ignore the sections about under gravel filters. All in all it is still a good read for basic practical knowledge about the hobby.


Liked about it Easy to read


Didn't like Some info remains dated


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By drdude05
Jun 25, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $55
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

I recommend this book to everyone!

General Buy this book, money well spent


Liked about it Great book and good for everyone,


Didn't like nothing I didn't like


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By VWD
Jun 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $55
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Easy To Understand and Fool Proof!

General Good book with the exception of the undergravel filter.


Liked about it This is the book for someone who is looking to do things right the first time. Fenner provides easy to fallow and step by step information on starting FOWLR, Fish and Inverts or full reef aquarium. He has all of the information you will need to know as far as the filter, lighting etc.


Didn't like I wouldnt recomend a undergravel filter to anyone starting a saltwater tank. IMO this is equipment that is out of date even for a fresh water fish tank and should never be recomended. Just my $.02


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By quick_murdoc
Mar 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $55
Compare Prices
at 3 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec433