Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.8 (10)
 Add a review

Corals A Quick Reference Guide by Julian Sprung

 
The Reef expert Julian Sprung shares all his knowledge and reef insight in this awesome book. Brilliant color pictures and easy to understand descriptions and comparisons, this book is a great resource for Coral...


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Corals A Quick Reference Guide by Julian Sprung in Reviews
 

 

A must have for any reef library! featured

Comments What a great book! Extremely detailed and lots of pictures.
What a job Julian Sprung did putting this book together. Corals are grouped by type into 4 main chapters.
Hard Corals, Soft Corals, Fire Corals and New discoverers. This book being more than 10 years old at this point I would say is due for revision. That aside it is by far one of my favorite reference books. With very in depth commentary and scientific background on many types of corals. There is also I very handy quick reference symbol list for every corals. The symbols denote the corals needs for lighting, flow, aggressiveness, and hardness. If you are just starting in this hobby or want to know more about the corals you already have I highly suggest this book be apart of your reef library!


Liked about it Lots of pictures. I love pictures, they make it so much easier to identify your corals.
This book is very will written with just about everything you would ever need to know about corals.
The symbols are great and make it quick and easy to determine if your tank can sustain a certain coral.


Didn't like At more than 10 years old it is due fro revision.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

A Good Book! featured

Comments In Julian Sprung's introduction to his book 'Corals, A Quick Reference Guide' he notes that other 'books have been well received because of the use of simple diagrams that give practical information, something that seems to be appreciated more nowadays as reading becomes passé'. Well, I like to read, and I've read Mr. Sprung's and Mr. Delbeck's three volume set 'The Reef Aquarium' covers to all three covers, and I still like 'Corals, A Quick Reference Guide'. There are times when I want the information fast and there are times when I'm tired and I just want to look at pictures.

What I find particularly useful about this book is that it can be used quickly to find out if a coral I'm interested in is suitable for my tank. The book is small enough to toss in the car and if I forget to bring the book along on an expedition to the LFS, the LFS has a store copy sitting around. Because I'm familiar with the book from home, I can find what I need in the LFS copy quickly. The diagrams, particularly the aquarium placement diagrams are particularly useful. I can look at the empty space in my tank, and then match proposed new corals to my vacancy based on Mr. Sprung's diagrams. The diagrams can also be used in the other direction, I have this and this and this and they are doing well, therefore, the new item that I'm ogling, which has the same diagrams as the corals I'm successful with, has a chance.

The book is well organized and should serve to give the beginner a practical introduction to coral systematics. The pictures are good and illustrate the text very well.


Liked about it I like the diagrams, particularly the aquarium placement diagrams.


Didn't like Well, I do like to read, it could have had more text.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By CebakaLaika
May 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great book for reefers

Comments Julian Sprung has done a great job putting this book together. It's a great reference for seasoned reefers all the way down to complete noobs. The infromation about each coral is easy to read and understand. There are lots and lots of picutres of some of the most beautiful corals out there. I find this book perticularly useful in the planning stage of my reef tank. I flip through this book looking at the needs of each coral and I plan the placement of the corals I want well before I buy them. Its also a great quick refence for those who buy corals at the LFS but dont know much about them. This book is a must have for the serious coral gardener.


Liked about it Lots and lots of pictures
extensive documention of LPS, SPS, Soft and fire corals
Tells what food they need, how much light, how much flow, where they should be place, and how hardy they are.
Its also cheaper than other reef aquarium books.


Didn't like The book is a little outdated, I have a few corals that are not in there.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Rustl3r
Mar 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Very good book.

Comments This is one of the best books on keeping corals and identifying corals. This is a book is very well written for even the beginner and cover it all. It is a book that should be in every reef keepers library. It start out with the different types of coral reefs of the world. It discusses feeding. It list corals by class and species. It lists corals by both scientific names and common names. It goes over all the biology, taxonomy, anatomy, husbandry and reproduction of a coral. It also goes into water chemistry, care and handling, coral health and conservation. If you only own one book this is it.


Liked about it Very easy to read.
A decent guide for identification.
If you really want to learn about coral this is the book.


Didn't like Nothing not to like about this book.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By shred5
Mar 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Good reference Book

General I bought this book several years ago and still use it semi regularly. I found it useful to cart around with me to LFS (local fish stores) when I was still a newbie in the hobby. I would use it to look up what ever type of coral I was interested in buying to see if it was compatible with my system setup and to see if the LFS employee was helping me or just trying to sell me something. It came in handy several times to keep me from wasting money on coral that would not have done well in my tank.


Liked about it Easy to read


Didn't like Some what technical to understand until you get some experience under your belt.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By drdude05
Jun 25, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Worth the money

Comments A great book to have. I purchased this book thanks to the reviews. Pictures are awesome with great information in detail about each coral.


Liked about it Easy to read and understand
Will keep it in my arsenal for many years to come



Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By salty198
Oct 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

One of my favorites

Comments this is a great book for beginners (me) and i can still open the book and learn more every time i do. so i think this will have lots of info that can be useful for a lot of the various experience levels. does get a little technical, but most books do, otherwise it'd just be a pocket guide.


Liked about it Nice sturdy hardcover book.
Great pictures
Lots of information, keeps me learning every time i open it


Didn't like Nothing, I'm glad i have this book


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Salty O'Shen
Sep 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Must have for the reefer

Comments Very informative book when it comes to corals.


Liked about it Easy to follow
Great pictures
easy to read information on care.


Didn't like Could have more information on care


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Seaweed88
Aug 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Excellent reference book

Comments Very detailed analysis regarding corals, their care, propagation and planning. Even if you have never kept a coral, this book is a must-read *before* you make that purchase (and after of course). I wish more folks would take the time to open the cover of this book before venturing into the reef world. There would be fewer bleached moralities about.


Liked about it Very detailed. Informative. Written for the new aquarist and the seasoned veteran alike.


Didn't like Sometimes a bit more detailed than needed, however, this part keeps you interested even after you gain more knowledge.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By superwizbang
Aug 04, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

very good book

Comments Lots of pictures very detailed information very worth picking up


Liked about it Detailed pictures lots of info everything you need to know before getting your new corals


Didn't like Wish I got one sooner


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By phishdreams
Jul 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec433