Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.7 (11)
 Add a review

Oceanic 14 Gallon Biocube Aquarium

 
Oceanic BioCube Aquariums - - The Oceanic BioCube features high-quality components and can be used for saltwater or freshwater setups. Enhanced filtration system features dual filter intakes to draw aquarium water from the surface and mid-water for improved water circulation and filtration. Replaceable 2-stage filter cartridge provides easy-to-maintain mechanical and chemical filtration. Bio-ball wet/dry filtration system improves gas exchange and provides efficient biological filtration. Viewing window for filtration water pump to ensure optimum performance. UL-Listed submersible pumps. - - Includes a comprehensive aquarium lighting system with Coralife compact fluorescent lighting, Lunar Blue-Moon-Glow LEDs, and dual cooling fans integrated into the hood. Individual power cords allow timer operation for custom light schedules. Curved glass front corner for a panoramic aquarium view. - - * Dimensions: 15.5in x 16.7in x 15in


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Oceanic 14 Gallon Biocube Aquarium in Reviews
 

 

Great nano reef featured

Installation and Operation Sold as an all-in-one unit, it is easy enough to set up. I've had big tanks before and I was tired of all the work...pumps, sumps, skimmers, massive water changes, etc. All I needed was a heater.


Performance vs. Expectations It certainly does the job...and I think very well at that. You hear a lot of people talking about how they modified it, but I have found it fine the way it is with just minimal adjustments. The skimmer isn't needed if you stock and maintain it properly. I don't use the filter cartridges. I put filter floss on top of the bioballs and change it out often, thereby reducing nitrate accumulation. There is plenty of room for media bags. The PC lighting is more than enough. I have a birds nest, hammer, 2 acans, various shrooms, a war coral, yellow star polyps, palys and a few zoas, also a small yellow damsel and a firefish and a small CUC.


Value for money Considering everything is in the box, it's a great value. Plug and play.


Customer Support When I called them about the noisy fans and dead moonlight LEDs, they sent me new ones at no charge, with very few questions.


Liked about it All-in-one. Compact. Allows different filtering strategies.


Didn't like Cooling fans could have been better quality. Moonlights didn't last. Filter pump is adequate, but as with any reef tank you always need more water movement. I upgraded the pump after two years and I'm happy with that.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fjpod
Jan 18, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

HATE THE BIOCUBE featured

Installation and Operation Super easy to setup. I had several aquariums years ago and thought this was a cool idea. Got it set up but noticed that the fan (or so I thought) was noisy. Wasn't bad so I added fish. After about 2 weeks, I noticed that the water was turning green. After several complete water changes, I took it back to the store I bought it at. They had if for a couple of weeks and had the same problem. They finally discovered some yellow/greenish crap under the bio ball chamber. Nothing in literature mentioned this additional chamber. Got it cleaned up and all was well except for noisy. I took it home and stored it cause I was done. About a month ago, I set it up again and replaced the fan. The noise got quieter but did not disappear. Finally put some fish in it and two days later, it is howling. I thought it was the fan but it isn't. I unplugged the fan and the noise is still there. Plus, one light bulb burned out.


Performance vs. Expectations Performance sucks


Value for money Buy something else


Customer Support I have called the customer service number on several occasions. Never get an answer


Liked about it Like the concept.


Didn't like Everything but the concept. Would be nice if it worked right. I have never had any problems in the past I set up a second 14 gallon (original rectangle with outside filter) shortly after I first set this one up. It is thriving!


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By TKM
Jun 01, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Perfect for Starting Out! featured

Installation and Operation Installation is very simple and almost self explanatory. Practically plug and play. System is great as is for a beginner and has room for improvement for advanced aquarists.


Performance vs. Expectations This makes an excellent beginner nano reef tank. Lighting is good for most beginner corals. Comes with Daylights and Actinics. Filter works fairly well. I had to change a bulb already but it was inexpensive and works fine now. Also the fan makes a noise sometimes but is fine most of the time. Many suggest to replace the bioballs with LR rubble or macro algae however the filtration is good enough for beginners trying to learn the hobby. This was my first saltwater tank and it is now a thriving nano reef!


Value for money Considering this is a pretty decent all in one setup the price tag is fairly decent. I used the Petco online special to price match at Petsmart instore! As long as you get this setup for a good sale price it is worth the money.


Customer Support I have not dealt with this company yet although there is a year manufacturer's warranty on this product.


Liked about it -All in one setup save time and money
-Works well and easy to use
-Completely upgradeable


Didn't like -Minor problems like bulb replacements and fan noises


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By Jayman3777
Feb 01, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

The best marine starter tank for beginners featured

Installation and Operation I had my BioCube up and running in just a few minutes, literally. It's so easy to start off. I had sand and water in it right away.

This is an easy tank to run and maintain. It's well thought out.


Performance vs. Expectations The BioCube was my first marine tank and even though I've moved on, I am very glad that it's where I started. I still keep a modified 29 gallon BioCube and love it, it's my favorite tank.

There are a couple of really nice things about the smaller BioCubes. First, they have a hinged lid that makes it easy to work on them. Replacing lights, and fans as needed is also very easy to accomplish. There's room in the back for a small skimmer, or other modifications as you see fit and it keeps it all hidden.

Due to the unique shape of the BioCube I have found the rock you put in can really alter the flow pattern creating some dead spots. I added a Koralia nano and changed out the standard pump to a maxi-jet. I also changed the single output nozzle to a double so I could send the water in whatever direction I wanted.

The lighting is pretty low, but because the tank is so shallow, it actually servers well enough to grow many different kinds of corals.

This is a tank you can keep around for years and be satisfied with it. With a few modifications you can keep it around for even longer.

I've used the JBJ nano tanks as well as the BioCubes and my personal experience is that the BioCube is a better tank. I no longer have a JBJ, but I do have my Cube.


Value for money The BioCube line is a bit more costly than JBJ for sure so many people (myself included) start with the less expensive tank. I feel like I got my money's worth with the BioCube. It is solid in design and structure.


Customer Support I had to use customer support to replace a fan. They were helpful and easy to deal with. Their web site on the other hand in not so great.


Liked about it 1. Attractive.
2. Great all-in-one for beginners.
3. Able to be modified for advanced aquarists.


Didn't like 1. Lighting will need to be upgraded as you take on more challenging corals or want to keep a clam.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Nice tank!! featured

Installation and Operation I purchased for my office. It is a solid tank, very easy to run, just plug n play. You really dont need the instructions for this.


Performance vs. Expectations It runs very well, there is a fan inside the hood, sometimes when the hood is open, there is some nois from the fan, but when the hood is back to closed position, the noise goes away, not a big deal, I guess there is some wire is set too close to the fan.

This tank has different power source for different lights, this is very very nice!


Value for money a little pricy...but I think it is worth of money becasue it comes with everything you need to start.


Customer Support never had one.


Liked about it 1. has different power source for different lights
2. very sturdy tank


Didn't like There are a few things I wish it could have done better for this tank:
1. maybe they made the tank this way is because it is small. On the middle chamber, there is a piece of grill plastic can not be removed, I had to break it and put a piece of foam/sponge filter there.

2. the carbon filter, in my option, I think is too small. I am not using it, in that chamber (right), I put a protein skimmer, and put a bag of chmi pure in the left chamber

3. it has upper and lower intake, at first, it seems like a good idea because it can take in more water, but it turns out not a good idea, because with lower intake, you can not install surface skimmer


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By baysidefish
Aug 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

It was a freebie! Won in a raffle - - I wouldn't actually buy one though

Installation and Operation Super simple. Plug in and go.


Performance vs. Expectations Yes if you take out the bioballs. Or else you are going to have issues with nitrates and cyano. Also there are temperature issues which require you to keep the lid cracked to help it vent. Lets be honest, that just makes it look like crap.


Value for money It would be better to get the one with the MH bulbs or hopefully they will be going to LEDs soon. Also, it is cheaper to do a system build on your own even if you want a nano.


Customer Support Have not dealt with them


Liked about it Easy to set up
Adequate lighting out of the box for a good amount of different types of corals, but not all
Integrated system very little additional equipment required


Didn't like The temperature issues. I should not have to keep the lid cracked open to keep the temp down. The lighting is not easily upgradeable. Plug and play would be nice like the rest of the add ons that they sell. It would be good for a mantis tank or a nano reef with very very VERY little bio load.


Overall rating:
 
1.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By alschwei
Jan 10, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

A slow leaking problem

Installation and Operation This tank is so easy to setup and maintain; almost like a dream. I was very satisfied the first year I had it until it eventually started leaking on me.


Performance vs. Expectations This tank performs very well other than the lighting, which I feel like could be better. THIS TANK WILL EVENTUALLY LEAK!!!


Value for money It is a little pricey, but it does have everything with it you need and it is very stylish. I added a few things to it. The oceanic protein skimmer and the mini UV sterilizer. You might want to consider replacing the fans in this tank with a different brand of fan. They aren't very hard to replace; very simple.


Customer Support Wonderful customer support.


Liked about it -Stylish Look
-Easy to maintain
-Love that it has a built in overflow


Didn't like THIS TANK WILL LEAK WITHIN IN A YEAR!!!! I don't think a tank that is priced at $300+ should leak. A cheap 10g from WALMART I purchased doesn't leak, and I have had it for 5 years!!!


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By reefjunkie9
Dec 21, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great starter tank!

Installation and Operation Totally simple to set up. Pretty much as advertised: Just plug in and play. The instructions were simple.


Performance vs. Expectations Great tank. Some have said the fans for the lighting make noise. I haven't experienced this. I also just added a couple pieces of soft coral. Time will tell if the stock lighting will keep them alive.


Value for money A little pricey, but it really is hassle free in that the only thing it doesn't include is a heater.


Customer Support I haven't had to contact them yet.


Liked about it 1). Totally simple set up.
2). Everything except the heater is included.
3). I have had mine running for three weeks. Water is crystal clear. Water tests always come back good.
4). I added a Clown fish after just one week of cycling and the clown fish is thriving.


Didn't like I wish I had bought the bigger model. With the 14 gallon, you are really limited to just a couple of fish in order to keep the tank healthy and prevent overstocking and/or disease.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By Capt. Jack Sparr
Jul 04, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

A nano tank I have fallen in love with!

Installation and Operation It's so easy to set up. How easy you wonder. Well you just add water and plug then add your fish that's it.


Performance vs. Expectations YES.


Value for money Yes


Customer Support Yes, They are very helpful and very friendly.


Liked about it So easy to clean. Simple to change the lights when needed. Very good looking tank.I have found that this tank is good for mushrooms and filter feeding corals. Plus my toadstool is doing very will. Hes place close to the top of the water and seems to like it.


Didn't like The filter is a bit tight that its hard to fit your hand into it when cleaning. The lights are not that strong if you want to do a SPS tank. The fans are a bit loud and have to be cleaned often or they will stop working.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By J-LUIS
Mar 13, 2010
 
Last updated: March 24, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

great all in one tank

Installation and Operation This tank is very simple and easy to setup. All you really have to do is take it out of the box, plug together some cables, and fill it up with water and you are ready to go! the instructions are fairly simple and easy to read. I had this tank up and running in less than a hour!


Performance vs. Expectations This tank exceded my expectaions counting on that's it is what it describes a all in one tank that can be suitable for fresh or saltwater performance. Has nice hidden chambers to keep everything hidden and easy to maitain.


Value for money The 14 gallon BioCube is fairly expensive but for something that is all in one and that you really don't have to buy extra things for it is very nice. It's perfect for someone just getting into the hobby.


Customer Support Never had to deal with customer support.


Liked about it All in one
Nice design
Hidden compartments


Didn't like Lighting may need to be upgraded for sps corals.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jamesbooth66
Apr 07, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

great but could have better lights

Installation and Operation very easy to install, very easy to keep except i would take the bioballs out and put in some cheato, requires a once a week water change


Performance vs. Expectations yes overall this is a very good starter tank, but the bigger the better


Value for money yes this is a great value for your money, although personally i would buy the 14 gallon biocube HQI just because of the lights


Customer Support never delt with them


Liked about it liked the easy instalation, look of the tank, and how it functions


Didn't like the lights cant keep sps, small, nothing else


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.5

By 14gallonbiocube
Sep 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec589