Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.8 (14)
 Add a review

Chaetomorpha Featured

 
Chaetomorpha Algae, also known as Spaghetti Algae or Green Hair Algae, is an excellent macro algae for refugiums. Each cell grows end to end, creating long, stiff strands. It grows in filamentous clumps, resembling a ball of fishing line. This algae is fast growing and is not palatable to many herbivorous species. - Chaetomorpha Algae removes both phosphates and nitrates from the water. To increase the amount of nutrients this algae exports, use moderate to high lighting and keep it in an area of high water flow. It should ideally be tumbled in an algae filter. -


Price: $4 to $99 at 16 stores
Searched Chaetomorpha in Reviews
 

 

Worth the Money..Make Some Money!

Comments Chaetomorpha is a great macro algae addition to a reef tank live sump or refugium. It grows well and does a good job of reducing nitrates in your tank. It'll grow like a weed if it has enough nutrients and will be a good indicator of excess nutrients. I have kept it with other forms of macro and the Chaeto is the least bothersome. Not enough nitrates or phosphorous..no problem it'll wait for more. It can easily be farmed for credit at your local LFS while keeping your nitrates reduced.


Liked about it Grows well in sump/refugium. Reduces nitrates and free phosphates in water. Doesn't go asexual on you like other types of macro or take too much of your other nutrients that your critters need for their growth.


Didn't like Won't grow without nitrate or phosphate. Will die back if not enough nutrients.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By refhater
May 02, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $99
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

I love this macroalgae

Comments I'm currently using chaetomorpha in my sump, it definitely has shown some benefits in my tank by reducing the nitrate and reducing the nitrites to 0. It grows beautifully and is excellent because it keeps many copepods inside it. You should only keep it in a sump and never in the main display. It grows like crazy in the sump and can really create a hassle. Its compatible with everything I have in my reef.


Liked about it I liked how the chaeto absorbed so much nitrates and left my aquarium spotless. It also was really nice to see all of the copepods inside it and running around all over the place.


Didn't like I think some of it went into my main display (which i dont know how it got there) and the chaeto started growing all over the place. It also grows really fast, which is kinda good, but i wouldnt really need it and wished it wasn't there :(


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Silentdea
Mar 03, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $99
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Chaeto in display

Comments I got some chaeto to help reduce nitrates. I cannot afford a sump at this point so I pinned it under some rock in the corner. It grows fast but I have had it a few weeks and have not needed to trim it yet. Even though I havent trimmed it, I have pulled a couple floating strands out of my water.


Liked about it Nitrate absorption is shown by the rate it grows. Chaeto is a very fast growing algae, this means it will absorb more nitrates for it's size. Chaeto is also good for raising copepods.


Didn't like One problem I ran into is that little parts of it broke off and floated freely in my tank. I had it in my display though so that may not be a problem for those of you with it in a sump. Also it isn't the type of algae you feed most fish.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Jerad
Sep 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $99
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Easy green for your green

Comments This is a great beginner algae. Just a put in the refuguim throw a light over it and you're done. It helps lower nitrates in your tank. Can be easily harvested and sold back to the pet store or other reefers. You can feed it your algae eating fish.


Liked about it I liked that this grows fast. You place it down on the substrate almost like carpet and you're done other than trimming it up when it gets too big. You don't need to buy very much of this at all cause it grows really fast. Gives copepods a place to hide and breed making your tank more self sufficient.


Didn't like It's a double edge sword. I like this stuff since it grows fast, but I hate it because it grows fast. I have to trim more often because I have a small refuge.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By br0ken68
Sep 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $99
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Great algae

Comments I got a small clump of this algae from my local fish store when my tank completed cycling. I have it in my refugium with a small compact flourescent over it. It requires no care other than trimming it back. It grows like crazy!! I got this for its filtering quality as well as a place for copepods to grow out, so I would have plenty of food available for my Mandarin. I really like just looking at the pods swimming around in it.


Liked about it 1.- It's cheap. A lot of people and LFS alike will just give you some because it does grow so fast.
2.- Good place for pods to grow in the fuge.
3.- Easy to care for.


Didn't like 1.- Sometimes little pieces make it into the display tank.
2.- Grows VERY fast. This makes a little more work but not really an issue at all.
3.- Nothing else I can think of that is bad about it.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By lowpt
Aug 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $99
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Good algea for refugium...

Comments I installed a refugium for the sole purpose of using this algea. Works great at removing nitrates. Needs to have some water flow so it can tumble as it is a floating algea. Will grow quickly.


Liked about it Does not require a lot of high priced lighting. I use a refugium light. Will house critters in your fuge also.


Didn't like I had mine at one point break apart and clogged the water outlet. Also, it got into main return pump and slowed flow return to almost half and I had to remove pump and clean it out. If it is not healthy, it will break apart on you and be everywhere.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By deanp88
Jun 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $99
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

A great tool for nutrient reduction.

Comments If you have a fuge you already probably have the chaeto in it. Even if you do not have a fuge add some!
This Macro is great in many respects. It grows great in low light. I use a 20w corkscrew compact over my fuge.
It really adsorbs nutrients! It is specifically a great nitrate reduce.
It thrives! Grows fat in high nutrients and just becomes dormant in low nutrients. Does not die.
There is also not concern about this macro going sexual and invading your main tank.
This is a floating Macro. If you have other Macros in your sump that do not float you may want to consider using egg create to isolate this to a specific section of your sump.


Liked about it A great nutrient absorber
Thrives in low light.
easy to find
will not spread to your main tank.


Didn't like It floats and if you have other macro in your sump and anchors to rock and sand it maye overtake that algae.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $99
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Not all algae is created equal

Comments In your aquarium there are two kinds of algae, the kind you want in your tank, and the kind you don't. Chaetomorpha Algae, commonly called just "cheato" in the hobby is a great algae that serves many purposes. It is most often grown in a refugium or sump but can, if you like, be kept in your main tank.

One of the great things about it is the fact that it out-competes micro-algae (the kind we don't want) for nutrients so they don't grow. Also, the structure of cheato provides a hiding place for beneficial tank creatures like amphipods. It does grow quickly so you may need to trim it back often, which is one of the reasons most people don't put it right in the main tank.


Liked about it 1. Hardy macro-algae that is easy to grow.
2. Absorbs excess nutrients in tank keeping water quality higher and micro-algae down.
3. Great nursery for beneficial tank life.


Didn't like 1. Grows fast and thick so must be trimmed and kept away from intakes.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Apr 19, 2010
 
Last updated: June 24, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $99
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

One of the best macro algaes for use in nutrient export

Comments Growth rate is dependent on tank nutrient content, but with proper flow and lighting this macro algae can grow very quickly and be a good method of filtration. Easy to find and unlikely to become aggressive in the tank, highly recommended for refugiums.


Liked about it Simple, none-aggressive, and makes a great place for pods and other smaller organisms to grow.


Didn't like Can be a challenge to set up properly, it's recommended to tumble in water flow to expose all sides to light.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $99
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Good nutrient export algae

Comments I had a small patch of this stuff start growing on a piece of live rock. I broke some off and moved it to an Aquaclear filter I had modded into a fuge for a while. Grew well and was easy to manage as it pretty much stays clumped together. Great algae in my opinion.


Liked about it Grows easily
Lowers your tanks nutrients
Good for fuge


Didn't like had to keep in constant lighting so it would hold it's nutrients.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By ibanez2k
Dec 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $99
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Thoughts on Chaeto

Comments This is a great algea in my opinion. The reason I state this it will grow fast if it has the proper nutrients and flow. I use it as a food source for my Magnificent Fox Face. It is also a great way to low nitrates, and phosphate in a tank regards if reef or fowlr(fish only with live rock). I gave a small patch of this to a local aquarist that had a fowlr(fish only with liverock). He also had a fox face that hid until food was dropped into the tank. Upon placing the chaeto in to his display tank he report seeing the fish more often.


Liked about it I like that this algae grows fast. I like that my Fox Face loves it. Great breeding station for copepods. This algae is available in abundance via other reefers.


Didn't like No complaints!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dragonist
Nov 18, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $99
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

love it

Comments it is easy to care for. extremely forgiving. it grows relatively fast, but i keep an emerald crab with it and he appears to trim fo me. and my lighting for my fuge isn't the greatest but it still grows.


Liked about it i love that it lowers nitrate and phosphate levels. i like that it does't end up all over the display tank. i also like that it provides a pod condo for my copepods.


Didn't like the stray pieces that get caught in pumps, though they are easily removed


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By mshonk2
Feb 16, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $99
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Natural Nitrate reducer

Comments Chaeto is great to keep in refrigums or sumps. Give it some light and let it grow and it will help help you nitrates down. Chaeto grows pretty quick so you will have to trim it every so often. You cant beat this stuff for natural nitrate reduction. It is also nice for raising pods.


Liked about it Reduces nitrates, inexpensive, helps to raise pods.


Didn't like like everything


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fishoutofwater25
Nov 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $99
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Can't live without it

Comments These guys are the best little buddy you'll need in keeping your nitrates down. after buying this macro algae ive never had a trate problem again.


Liked about it removes nitrates. makes a good food source for grasers. It's slow growing compared to other macro aglae's so its easy to control. Cop Pods love it and bred in it to make a natural food source in your tank. Doesn't need much light to grow.


Didn't like Needs strong current to really thrive. doesn't do well in show tanks but does great in sumps or refugium. It loves to clog pipes and pumps.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By aquatic-marine
Aug 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $99
Compare Prices
at 16 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!