Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.8 (12)
 Add a review

Tetra Whisper 100 Aquarium Air Pump Featured

 
Whisper Air Pumps Model 100 by Whisper. Patented dome shape and sound-dampening chambers mean virtually silent operation


Price: $16 to $30 at 3 stores
Searched Tetra Whisper 100 Aquarium Air Pump in Reviews
 

 

Powerful and quiet all in the same pump! featured

Installation and Operation Air pumps like this are really plug and play easy, there are really no instructions necessary.


Performance vs. Expectations When I first got into the fish keeping hobby I tried to do things as cheap as I could. I soon learned cheap just means you have to buy it again! I still remember the noisy old pumps I used to own, how annoying they were. Then I realized that these Whisper pumps by Tetra were only a few dollars more so I got one. I can't tell you how happy I was with the purchase. They are designed so the body of the pump is off the ground so vibration on surfaces is much less, each leg has a soft rubber pad on the bottom which makes it even less prone to vibration.

It doesn't matter how quiet a pump is if it doesn't work, and these really do work. I found them powerful enough to push air up through my rock, since in my freshwater tanks I used a bubble rod and buried it deep so that large slow bubbles were created, a nice effect handled easily by this air pump.


Value for money Slightly more than some pumps but they are quiet, really living up to their name, "Whisper". They come in different powers for larger or smaller tanks as needed. They also last and last. I have never had one go out on me, I really don't know what the effective life of this product is, I've used them for years.


Customer Support Tetra has some of the best customer support I've dealt with and a great web site for getting information about products and their use.


Liked about it 1. Quiet!
2. Powerful.
3. Long lasting.


Didn't like I am usually able to find some small flaw or the other in a product, but not in this one.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Apr 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $30
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

A Solid Product

Installation and Operation This pump was super easy to set-up - out of the box & pumping air within a few minutes! I had need of a pump quickly and this was the only pump available at the small pet store close to my home. I had no idea if it would be any good, and I am very pleased with it.


Performance vs. Expectations I have been completely satisfied with this pump, especially the fact that it is super quiet. It doesn't "move" like some other pumps I have had.


Value for money I think this pump is reasonably priced. If this type of pump is what you need, a good value for the cost.


Customer Support I haven't had need to contact the company.


Liked about it -readily available at most pet stores
-relatively inexpensive
-easy to set-up & use
-BEST - IT'S QUIET!


Didn't like I honestly can't think of anything that I am unhappy about with this pump.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By baboo11
Apr 05, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $30
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Super Quite Pump!

Installation and Operation Simple, just plug and play! Make sure you use a check valve and no maintaince is required!


Performance vs. Expectations Performs actually better than expected. That hasn't happened to me that often. Impressed... It is near totally silent, and the small legs I believe are designed to minimize vibration on the surfact in which it is standing. I do believe there was a lot of thought put behind the design of this product. Well made as well. Not cheap, and very sturdy


Value for money Definately worth the extra few bucks to have a totally quite, sturdier, and more sleek than the cheaper alternatives.


Customer Support Never had too


Liked about it I Like the sleek design, and that it fits under my tank cabinet like a glove. I also like the leg design as it does seem to transfer the energy from vibration before it reaches the surface it's mounted to. Very clever..


Didn't like I didn't like that it didn't come with a check valve. It seems obvious that you will need one to be safe for any application I would see someone using it for. Check please!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By MiiReef
Mar 30, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $30
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

does a great job.

Installation and Operation works well, and performs as promised. easy setup and operation and requires little to no maintainence.


Performance vs. Expectations well it's only an airpump so i expected it to make bubbles and it does a great job.


Value for money this product is priced verywell i have one that is a few years old and works great


Customer Support Haven't had to contact company at all


Liked about it This pump operates very quietly. the rubber legs on the pump are designed and function much better than competitors, the pump has minimal movement when turned on provided it is on a level surface.Takes a lickin and keeps on tickin.


Didn't like seems as though it could be slightly shorter, not a big deal though.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By mshonk2
Feb 09, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $30
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Quiet, Zero Vibration

Installation and Operation Plug and play, takes maybe 30 seconds to get it going


Performance vs. Expectations Performance is good, weak pump. But there are several stronger versions if you are looking to create a lot of bubbles, or a windtunnel


Value for money Cheap, the way I like it. I use this to aerate my water changes while it mixes. Handles 2 x 5 gallon buckets with a splitter no problem


Customer Support Did not contact


Liked about it I like the 0 noise. It means it can run all night with no complaints


Didn't like I don't like that there isn't an in-port so I cannot have a hose going out the window to grab fresh air.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By p3nguin
Jul 27, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $30
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great pump, Worth the money

Installation and Operation Plug it in and attach your airline(s)


Performance vs. Expectations It's quiet (quieter than most). Performance based on the model. I would go for more air than you think you'd need. You can always bleed off any excess air.


Value for money It is cheap, but durable, works perfectly, and quieter than most of the others on the market.


Customer Support Never needed it.


Liked about it Price
Durability
Reliability


Didn't like It doesn' have a rheostat so you have to use a bleeder valve (as with all that don't have a rheostat) to bleed off excess air and avoid back pressure on your diaphragm.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Michael JT
May 26, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $30
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

IS IT ON

Installation and Operation Plug and play...simple set up
You dont even need instructions.


Performance vs. Expectations The best I have ever had..great construction and so quiet.
Even when placed inside wood stand there is no vibration noise at all.
My tanks are in my living room and I am a big believer TANKS SHOULD BE SEEN, NOT HEARD!


Value for money The Best value for the money.


Customer Support No need...and its been running for 6 months


Liked about it GREAT PRICE
VERY POWERFUL
SILENT OPERATION


Didn't like NONE COMES TO MIND


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By 1 SMART TRIGGER
Dec 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $30
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great pump for the money

Installation and Operation Operation is great as well as quiet as a mouse, which i really like about it
i own 2 of these, one on a 55g african cichlid tank and one for a lees skimmer on a 29g saltwater fowlr tank.


Performance vs. Expectations Performs great.


Value for money Great value


Liked about it small and quiet!!!


Didn't like nothing bad to say about this product.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By swnoobie
Oct 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $30
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

pretty good air pump

Installation and Operation I used this a while ago. Easy to find and works well if you need an air pump.


Performance vs. Expectations pumps air and it's pretty quiet. can't ask for better.


Value for money very good value for the money. They are easy to find and cheap.


Customer Support never delt with the company themselves.


Liked about it As stated, it's cheap, quiet, and is a very good pump.


Didn't like Maybe could have been made a little heavier. Tends to vibrate itself around a little on a smooth surface.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By ibanez2k
Oct 15, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $30
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Shhhhhhh

Installation and Operation We use a Whisper pump on our Chiclid tank. The old one was loud and would vibrate all over the place. When I replaced it with a Whisper air pump I couldn't believe how quiet and vibration free it was. Nice pump.


Performance vs. Expectations It performs much better than expected. Very quiet. Plenty of bubbles.


Value for money Excellent value for the money spent.


Liked about it Nice and quiet.
It does not bounce around like some of the older designs.


Didn't like I have no complaints.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
Sep 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $30
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Clean Compact performer.

Installation and Operation Easy to operate plug and go


Performance vs. Expectations It will push a lot of air in any application


Value for money Great price for a quality product


Liked about it I like the design its clean and easy to operate
Rubber feet help with vibration
Doesn't give out with big loads
Long cord


Didn't like Hard to clean the prefilter, if you ever needed to.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fihsboy
Aug 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $30
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

New style air pump

General This is a very nice little air pump for a bubble filter,air stone or air wand . This pump is very quiet and doesn't wander around like other pumps when loaded up with back pressure .It stays right where you put it . The cord is longer so it can be set further away from the tank so it can be hidden


Liked about it Better design ,better feet ,quieter,cool color,much longer cord


Didn't like Cord is still to stiff, air spud is a little short


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By biowheel
Apr 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $30
Compare Prices
at 3 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec394