Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.9 (12)
 Add a review

Seachem Prime 500 ml

 
Prime is the complete and concentrated conditioner for both fresh and salt water. Prime removes chlorine, chloramine and ammonia. Ammonia is converted into a safe, non-toxic form that is readily removed by the tank...


Price: $17 to $17 at 1 stores
Searched Seachem Prime 500 ml in Reviews
 

 

Perfect Water Conditioner...Never Let Me Down featured

Comments This stuff is a lifesaver and I drive an extra 30 minutes out of my way to a store I don't even like just to buy it. I can pick up a bottle of prime and it treats 5000 gallons at regular dosage. In addition, I have increased the dosage (up to 5x per instructions on bottle) on numerous occasions when I knew I had water quality issues. IE...when I had not changed water in a while (4 weeks) or if I found a dead fish carcass while cleaning. This is not a replacement for water changes but can help my wife keep my fish alive while I am traveling.


Liked about it Removes: Chlorine, Chloramine, Ammonia
Safe: I Have used it on Freshwater and Saltwater Reef tanks with SPS, LPS and softies without incident.
Inexpensive: TREATS 5000 GALLONS OF WATER FOR UNDER $20


Didn't like I am supposed to mention 3 things I don't like about the product but can only think of two.

It Smells like Sulfur. The smell dissipates momentarily after it is added to your tank but it does stink.
The cap does not always prevent leakage so the bottle must be stored upright.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By mobilebyrd
Oct 25, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $17
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

i love it

Comments yes this product works great it has saved some of my sensitive corals when i would have a spike of ammonia and corals get unhappy i just treat the tank and im done in hours all the corals are happy again it instaly removes ammonia this is well worth a drive or to pay shipping on i have learned to live by this product i would not run a s/w tank without having this on hand i personally drive 45 mins to get a bottle of this and would do it as often as needed its really that good


Liked about it very easy to use and easy instructions. I liked the fact it removes metals,ammonia,chlorine and chloramines
not over priced at all


Didn't like i really cant think of anything i dont like about it


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By big_trucks_1985
Oct 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $17
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

If your using tap water use this.

Comments Although tap water is not suggested for Reef Tanks it is acceptable for Fish only tanks and of course fresh water tanks. Personally I use only RO/DI water in my tank but do alwats have a bottle of this on have in case of emergency. Another unique for this products if for removing chlorine after rinsing rocks and other equipments in bleach. One time I bleached about 100 pounds of live rock and instead of letting it air dry dor week I used this product to remove the chlorine.

If in a emergency you have to use tap water in your reef tank this product will remove all the chlorine, ammonia, and chloramine. not the best alternative but better than straight tap water.


Liked about it It does whats it's suppose to do. It removes Chlorine, Chloramine and ammonia from tap water all of which are toxic to marine life.


Didn't like There really is nothing that I dislike about this product.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $17
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Another MUST HAVE!!

Comments We did not know how much we would need this product once we got an RO/Di filter, but found out the hard way that we definitely need to have some at all times. Apparently one of our fish died and caused a major nitrite/nitrate rise in our tank and all of our fish were being affected. They were all breathing heavy and acting funny. We did a water change with as much water as we had, but that still wasn't enough to get it under control. A LFS (also close friend) told us to does PRIME and follow the 'emergency instructions.' He said he usually recommends only using 3 times the does instead of the 5 times the bottle says, so that is what we did. We give all the credit to PRIME for our other fish surviving the night until we could get more salt and water. And thankfully one of our friends had a full bottle for us to use!


Liked about it Detoxifies Nitrates and Nitrites
Saved our fish!!
Can use when making new water or as an emergency nitrite detoxifier.


Didn't like no complaints!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By andbob25
Apr 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $17
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Very Useful Conditioner

Comments This product is great for detoxifying ammonia,chlorine and chloramine. Which comes in most tapwater. So then it can be easily removed by the tanks bioloical filter. I first used it when I cycled my tank to breakdown ammonia/nitrite and nitrate. I had some left when I learned my RO water was turning bad. I added a capful and it detoxified my topoff water.


Liked about it That it removed the ammonia build up that the Chlorine and Chloramine was causing in my RO water.
Added bonus is that it is supposed promote the natural production and restoration of the slime coat.


Didn't like The sulfur smell even though its not that bad


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Mar 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $17
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

a must have

Comments Prime is the must have product for any reefer.


Liked about it it removes excess iodine if you overdose, and performs wonders during a tank crash


Didn't like nothing this product is excellent


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By hunterfreeman1
Mar 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $17
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

A must have for saltwater and freshwater!!

Comments This product is the only dechlorinator I have used in years. A little bit goes a long way, so the bottle lasts a long time. I have two freshwater tanks, a koi pond and two saltwater tanks, and I buy a bottle,maybe, every six months. It can be used to remove chlorine, but also, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate, in a pinch. It can also be used to inactivate bleach when recharging media sponges after cleaning (example: purigen)


Liked about it -Concentrated formula, low price per dose
-Does not contain nitrates or phosphates


Didn't like -Active ingredient is sodium thiosulfate, so it smells like sulfur.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Alderwald
May 07, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $17
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Must Have

Comments In my opinion this is a must have for all reef tank hobbyist's. In case something bad happens you can use this to try and help out the situation as much as possible. I used this when I was transfering my tank to help with anything that would pop up and let's just say it worked liked it was described because I was able to move everything without any problems! I usually get the meduim size bottle since that will usually last you for a while since its only used as needed. The directions are very simple and its just about impssobile to overdose on this stuff unless you dump the whole bottle in. It even provides a nice slime coat for all fish to increase their health and be able to fight off any diseases.


Liked about it Simple
Cheap
Directions


Didn't like Better measuring method


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By jamesbooth66
Apr 07, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $17
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Another Have to have.

Comments I use this every time I need to acclimate fishes.


Liked about it I have had great results using this product with new fishes
Works in salt or fresh water
Much less stress on fish


Didn't like I wish it didn't have a twist cap


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Seaweed88
Aug 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $17
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

good product

Comments I liked this product because it helped the stress on my fish


Liked about it it works good


Didn't like n.a


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By collin
Jul 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $17
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

A necessity for tap water

Comments Works great in reducing stress for fish. I use it for my betta, pond fish, African dwarf frog, and freshwater tanks. Used to use it in saltwater but now use RO water so not necessary.


Liked about it Works great and lasts for a long time.


Didn't like Does have an extremely HORRIBLE smell after it has been opened. Does not cause any negative effects on the tank though. (which is good!)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By cutietwo
Jul 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $17
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

PRIME

General I use Prime in SW and FW applications. Mostly used in my Koi pond. Provides slime coat and removes chlorine and chloramine from the water.

Good to have for an emergency for a water change or if rapid ammonia/nitrite reduction is needed.


Liked about it Helps to ensures good quality water
A must have if using straight tap water
One 500ml bottle lasts a long time


Didn't like When you open the bottle there is a strong sulfur odor. But, it does not make the water smell.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
Apr 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $17 to $17
Compare Prices
at 1 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec170 spec203