Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.4 (28)
 Add a review

CaribSea Purple Up Coralline Algae Accelerator 16oz Featured

 
Purple Up 16 oz by Caribsea. Encourages and accelerates the growth of desirable purple and pink coralline algae


Price: $9 to $20 at 6 stores
Searched CaribSea Purple Up Coralline Algae Accelerator 16oz in Reviews
 

 

Coraline in a bottle? Not exactly.. featured

Comments Although this product is suppose to contain coralline in it as well as the trace element required for coralline to grow it's a little misleading. You do not need any additives to grow coralline. Regular water changes provide more then enough trace elements for easily grow coralline. This product is nothing more then a gimmick as with most verts, vites, excells etc.

Simply keep up with regular water changes and in time you will grow coralline.

I see a lot of people that are new to the hobby buying this as I did because that want their rocks to be purple and after adding this they did start to see coralline. But not because of this product. Because of the minerals that were already in their tank from water changes. Save your money for Corals!


Liked about it There really is nothing to like about this product it's a gimmick trying to get people to waste their money on a additive that is not needed.


Didn't like See above please. All this product is, is an overpriced Ca/Alk/Mg additive that only marginally raises trace elements. Save your money for corals and do a water change.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By ckusnierek
May 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Better then expected. I honestly thought is was a featured

Comments I picked this up at the LFS for around $14. You can get it cheaper online but consider the shipping costs as well. If you have a 55 gallon or less aquarium 1 bottle should do the trick if you follow the directions. Well worth the money and really easy to use and the liquid form is a plus for me.

I think the most important thing to remember is that you must already have coralline in the tank!


Liked about it 1. Very easy to use.
2. Simple directions.
3. Does what it says it will do.
4. Has iodine in it so that was one less thing I had to dose. (I still monitored levels)

I don't find this product to be a miracle additive but I feel that it did make a difference in my tank for the last 3 months, especially on the rock that has direct light on it. My hermits and snails now have coralline growing on them and the rock is really coming alive. The sand has it and it is pretty much everywhere now. I started with bare bone rocks with some rubble that had coralline on it as well as some live sand. It will not happen over night but I honestly believe that it made a difference. Other calcium products I have used in the past just did not produce results like this.


Didn't like Only a couple of things I did not like about this product. The residue it leaves on the bottle if you spill it is pretty sticky. The cloudy water did not really bother me because I dosed it at night when the lights are off. I also felt it messed with my pH levels a bit. They got a little crazy at first but settled down, nothing drastic but a noticeable change. The last thing is I wish it came with some kind of dispenser other then the cap. I used a syringe that comes with liquid baby aspirin and that way I felt it was more accurate.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bb0029
Aug 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Nano Supplement

Comments This product will not grow coralline algae, however it will help the levels needed for coralline algae up and stable for coralline to take off on its own. Works great at maintaining levels in a smaller system. I used it in my 29g and it did a good job at keep my calcium and mag stable. Also has other trace elements and iodine which I dont supplement any other way but water changes.


Liked about it Good for maintaining levels in smaller systems.
Does what it says.
Many trace elements


Didn't like Pricey (but not so much so compared to other supplements that do the same thing)
Kind of misleading however I was not gimmicked into thinking it was gonna grow coralline.
Clouds the water for a good hour.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.5

By SeaCow
Feb 23, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Rapid growth increase

Comments My lfs gave me this bottle of coralline accelerator when I told him about my coralline algae growth problems. Soon enough, I dosed Purple Up every week and I saw a rapid growth in coralline algae growth. Plus the bottle contains many other supplements are aren't usually included in others.


Liked about it I loved how the purple up added to the amount of coralline algae in the tank. After a few week, a rapid amount of coralline algae growth started in my tank.
I also liked how the purple up also contained different supplements other than just calcium, but also iodine and other elements.
Lastly the Purpleup was easy to dose and I didn't need to read anything.


Didn't like PurpleUp doesn't contain any coralline algae. It is said very clearly on the bottle.
You will not get any coralline algae if your parameters are left unchecked.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Silentdea
Mar 23, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

it does what it says

Comments i think with all the other additives out there it is pretty good. It does what it says. Its hard to say if it specifically excelerates coraline growth but it does maintain levels. Adequately priced in comparison to all the other additives. But it is specifically geared towards coraline growth so thats a plus.


Liked about it I like that you can alternate this in place of other calcium doses. I also like that it have trace elements in it.
It seems to do the job with coraline growth. it will maintain your calcium for all your other inverts and i haven't seen any evidence that the trace can be overdosed.



Didn't like Clouds the water for and hour or so. can stain clothes and floor, but comes out in the wash. and the bottle leaks.


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.5

By mshonk2
Feb 01, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Hmmmm yeah dont know about this stuff

Comments I dont know about the value do to the fact I got this product from a friend who told me it would help raise the calcium level in my tank, but if you have to raise calcium a minimal anout the maybe this will work for you, as far as helping coralline grow i dont know BUT I did see a little differnce in some spots on my rock that had some white or bleached spots some purple slowly started to come back in those spots


Liked about it I like the fact that using this dosnt make a dramatic of extreme change in the calcium level


Didn't like Didnt like how cloudy it makes the water when used,didnt like the fact that I put it in my tank for really no reason


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By KCIN
Jan 07, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Total Waste of money

Comments This is a product that makes it money off of newbies. I was like everyone else and yes I bought a bottle of purple up when I put my first tank together. Well that first tank really didn't grow to much coraline algae but when I learned mor about reefkeeping and upgraded tanks wouldn't you know that my coraline grew like crazy. The only difference betwwen the two tanks was the second one I didn't use purple up but I did do my water changes alot more like I'm supposed to. Just don't waste your money on this stuff. Instead do some extra water changes and you will get your purple rocks. Its items like this that make this hobby more confusing for the begginers because they see this and think its like a magic potion for their tanks


Liked about it Nothing to like.


Didn't like To much $ for nothing.
Takes advantage of the new hobbyist.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Dnazta
Nov 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Could be good for a newcomer to the hobby

Comments As others have stated, you do need to have coraline already in the tank for this stuff to work. It basically boosts the trace elements that is needed to get the coraline to grow. However, if you have a reef tank, you are already doing this through dosing. I can see this being helpful to someone just getting into the hobby and hasn't learned about dosing or calcium reactors,kalkwassers, etc. It's not a bad product, just is well not really needed if you know what you are doing


Liked about it This is pretty cheap compared to invidual dosing supplements. Easy to use even for the beginner. On a small tank, a bottle will last a while.


Didn't like Clouds your water. It also throws off your water parameters slightly. There needs to be a dosing cap with it for more accurate measurements.


Overall rating:
 
1.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By br0ken68
Aug 30, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

It does WORK with few Disadvantegs

Comments Purple Up, does work as I have seen increases in coralline on my rocks after one week of use. Price kind of ok for something that does improve coralline growth. However, Don't waste money on it, just focus on adding Ca/Alk/Mg.


Liked about it I only like for encouraging growth of coralline.


Didn't like 1- Not worth the money, weekly water changes will encourage Coralline.
2- Drops Ph for an hour by - 0.30. which it will shock corals.
3- Cannot control dosage of Ca/Alk, as manufacture states 5ml/50gal. which lead to more work on testing Cal and Alk.

why go with that hassle when can purple up your Tank with simple waterchanges


Overall rating:
 
1.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Sami
Aug 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

It does work

Comments This product does help in the growth of coralline, if you already have growth in your tank. It is not a miracle product, so do not expect results overnight. With regular use you will have a very noticeable increase in coralline. After a couple weeks mine is now growing everywhere. It has created much more growth on my lr, but it is also growing on the glass, on snail shells, on the stalk of my frog spawn, power heads, any hard surface. I also dose with a 2 part calcium product, so I cannot be sure if this product is the cause, but my corals have recently been growing quite well. I monitor my water parameters just as I did before using the product.


Liked about it Easy use. Gives results. Cheap.


Didn't like No complaints. This product will make your water cloudy, but placed in a high flow area or in your sump the cloudiness problem is gone. You do need to already have coralline in your tank for this to work, the product contains elements needed for the algae to grow faster....not the algae itself.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Sherilw
Jul 16, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Worked for me...

Comments When I started using Purple Up, my tank had been set up for about 8 months. I had some coralline algea already but not a lot. I used this for about 2 weeks as directed and had a ton of coralline algea appear. It was all over rocks and glass of tank had to be scraped. It is basically a Ca supplement so you need to moniter the Ca levels quite a bit.


Liked about it It is very easy and quick to use. Did not take long to get results.


Didn't like Price is kind of high for basically a Ca supplement. Clouds water for a little while but not a big deal.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By deanp88
Jun 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Save your money and just let the coralline grow by itself

Comments It isn't that this product doesn't do what it says it does, and I am not knocking the quality of the product, it's just that the vast majority of aquarists won't need this product. If you purchase live rock or a rock mounted coral that has coralline on it then it will spread and grow. I've never done anything else than this and all my tanks have had coralline over the years. As far as trace elements needed for it to grow, those are going to present in the salt mix you buy and the additives you put in the tank, especially if you are keeping a reef tank.

If for some reason you are unable to grow coralline or keep it alive, then give this product a try, otherwise, you are probably spending money on something you just don't need. Why not save that cash to put toward that special coral frag you've been eying?


Liked about it 1. Does contain what's needed to grow coralline algae
2. Easy to use no-spill bottle
3. Not overly costly, about average for this type of product


Didn't like 1. Really not necessary for the average aquarist


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By tcamos
May 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Not worth the money

Comments This product is sold as a coralline builder, but honestly doesnt provide the function it advertises. The premise behind the product is to dose calcium and some other essential elements, but in my experience you're much better off simply testing for those values and dosing them individually. The risk of using this product is that you could dose more than is required, and it may be just as easy to maintain proper levels through water changes alone.


Liked about it May help provide some essential element supplementation.


Didn't like Over states it's capabilities, doesnt provide insight into amount of calcium and other element supplementation it provides. Would recommend other products that are more straight forward.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By crvz
May 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Purple Up

Comments Purple up is a good product and does what it says it does but when dosing it you have to be careful and watch your calcium and Dkh levels.


Liked about it it does what it is supposed to do


Didn't like it is more of a calcium and Carbonate dosing than something to increase Coraline. Coraline will grow on its own if you keep your parameters in check


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By hunterfreeman1
Mar 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Its purple up

Comments The product clouds the water for a good amount of time when added. The product works, but only to an extent. Its not a replacement for regular dosing with a 2 part solution/limewater/calcium reactor. But it will raise your calcium and magnesium levels to an extent. The clouding up of my tank was a menace, and the dosing is very very small portions.....for new reefers it can be inticing to just poor this product in (I did a few times) It will sky rocket your calcium and cause a snow storm of precipitate in your tank.


Liked about it Easy to use
Cheap and readily available
Cool looking bottle


Didn't like Not a single dosing solution, you still have to dose other products to keep your water chemistry correct.
Does not contain actual coralline algae, just the ingrediants to make it grow faster. (Coralline must already be present)


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By fihsboy
Dec 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

I would use a Good two part or other regular supplement.

Comments When I first used this stuff I thought it worked as advertised. I used the bottle and then began to two part dose a calcium supplement and I began to have nice coraline algae growth. I believe the two part dosing worked over the purple up.


Liked about it It took a little bit up raised the calcium level I'm not sure if it was the purple up or the two part calcium dosing.


Didn't like I took a year before i had good coraline algae growth. I used one bottle of purple up and then dosed a two part calcium. I think that the two part calcium dosing worked more than the Purple up.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By fchidsey
Nov 09, 2009
 
Last updated: May 29, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

coraline explosion

General This product is absolutely amazing. I had a 20g that i was not getting very good coraline growth with. i used this product for just a couple of days and the coraline took off. with only 1ml needed per 10g this one bottle will go a very long way. especially if you don't have any corals using up the calcium. it will make your water cloudy for about an hour after dosing but theyre isn't any long term adverse reactions that i've seen in using it for nearly 3 months. it doesn't come with a flup top lid and pouring out only 2Ml for my 20g was impossible so i got a syringe to use to measure out the proper dose.


Liked about it coraline growth as advertised, affordable price


Didn't like no flip top lid


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Salty O'Shen
Apr 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Different strokes for different folks

Comments I did a little experiment with this product on a 10 gallon to see if i could quickly get coraline to grow in a newly established tank. It seemed to work but I cant be sure that regular water changes didn't do as much to help.


Liked about it Easy to use and great directions
Inexpensive
makes for a good variable in an experiment:)


Didn't like Difficult to accurately track effectiveness
May be unnecessary (search forums for why)
one more thing to worry about


Overall rating:
 
2.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By gouch
May 28, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

I think it works.

Comments Ive seen a diffrence after 2 days. My tank was poorly lti, and I upgraded my lights in those same 2 days, so I dont really know yet. My lfs uses it in his new display. He runs t5 lights, and has said that coraline growth has really taken off since using it. Ive noticed a huge difference in his, so I started in mine.


Liked about it price, seems to be working


Didn't like nothing yet.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By derailone76@yaho
Nov 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

works as it should

Comments I was pretty skeptical about this when I started using it but it actually works very well. I myself stick to a smaller dosage because it's easy to overdose on calcium but this works quite well I must say.


Liked about it Does what it says it will
Easy to use formula


Didn't like does leave a bit of a residue on the bottle around the lid and clouds the water a bit as others mentioned but that doesn't last long and the end results are good.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Oct 25, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

overly worth the money

Comments this product is very strong, raises calcium like no other


Liked about it you can actually make a paste then brush it on live rock to make coraline algae spread faster


Didn't like purple up must be regulated closley, the ca levels will spike suddenly when using this product be sure to test ca levels alot.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Frank-n-Tank
Oct 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Works for me

Comments I have been using Purple Up for a long time and I do like the results


Liked about it Easy to use
Great results
Affordable


Didn't like Make sure you shake until the ball breaks loose.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Seaweed88
Sep 03, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Premix with water change water!

Comments Either add it to you sump in a high flow area, or premix it in your water change water because it can cloud up your main display with it does not mix thoroughly.


Liked about it Creates the correct balance for optimal coralline growth.


Didn't like I would love to see a published scientific experiment to back up their claims, but for now I'll go on hobbyist's opinions.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By hawaii4485
Aug 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Purple up

Comments I liked this product a lot because I saw a noticeable growth in coralline algae


Liked about it Coralline growth


Didn't like Made my water very cloudy


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By collin
Jul 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

If you want to coraline algae started... here you

General Great product if you want more purple in your tank. I think that it may have helped my SPS grow a bit as well.


Liked about it Really helped my coraline boom. Now that I've got it going I won't need to buy anymore.


Didn't like Made the water cloudy for 1 hour.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jschulzpt
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

CaribSea Purple Up Coralline Algae Accelerator 16o

General Would recommend this to everyone that's wants "purple" rock.


Liked about it I was very skeptical about this at first, but after one week of use, there is Coraline Algae all over the place. Now I can hardly keep up with scraping the glass. Where there was just plain white rock a week ago, it's nice and purple covered rock.


Didn't like Works a little too good.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By wanareef
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

It works

General After using purple up for one week, I have noticed coraline growth. I am already scrapping it off of the back glass. It clouds the water, but it goes away quickly. Just remember to shake the bottle well before using it.

When using this product, you should also be testing Calcium levels. It is very easy to "over-dose" the system.


Liked about it Easy to use
One part additive
Works very quickly


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
Jun 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Purple Up

General Before I used Purple up, I had very little color and then after a couple of weeks of using it, I had coralline EVERYWHERE! I have a hard time keeping up scraping the glass.


Liked about it Really works.


Didn't like Works a little too well.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 15, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $20
Compare Prices
at 6 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec153 spec175 spec204